We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth searching out....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Planet Borneo Lodge
Ranked #15 of 77 Specialty Lodging in Kuching
Hue, Vietnam
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Worth searching out....”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We were recommended this Lodge and weren't disappointed. It was unfortunate that we were the only travellers there for the first three days, however it had its advantages such as peace and quiet. I think a lot of travellers miss this place because its not right in the centre BUT its only 10 minutes walk and because of this its peaceful. There are some wonderful perks including a wonderful sun deck, dipping pool, great breakfast (Bryan cooks a superb loaf) and a washing machine. What more do you want????

Room Tip: The family rooms are lovely even for two. It's great to relax as well as explore and see the loc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jules N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan T, Manager at Planet Borneo Lodge, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you very much for your elaborate review. We hope to have you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
5
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

The staff were most helpful and welcoming to the guests. Place is clean and very comfortable. All the basic amenities needed such as air-con, hot shower, Wifi is readily available. I would definitely return to stay here if i make any future visits to Kuching!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank ivanleewl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nieuwegein
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We immediately felt welcome on arrival with our family.
They were very helpful and answered all our questions, we were even with the car brought to the restaurant because it was raining.
The room was ok and the family room was big enough for our family.
Our kids really enjoyed the small pool and the area around it. We have made ​​frequent use of the large kitchen with everything included. The center of Kuching was in walking distance. If you're looking for a cozy hostel near the city center, this hostel is a must.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Grootscholten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan T, Manager at Planet Borneo Lodge, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Hi Martijin and Elise is was great having your family stay at the lodge. Thank you very much for the wonderful review. Hope to see you guys again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

Has everything you need. Friendly staff, a pleasant environment & clean, usable spaces. The team enjoyed the pool & lounge area & made great use of the cooking facilities. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmadilemma2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

First things first: definitely the hotel with the nicest and frindliest staff I've ever met - no plastered-on smiles! It is a small chilled-out place, with beanbags, tv, computer and kitchen for the guests' comfort. Rooms like hostels but cleaner and nicer than your average hostel fare. Five minutes walk from the city centre and the sights. All the guests got on well with each other too. A place I hope to return to...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fern P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan T, Manager at Planet Borneo Lodge, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you Peter. I was great having you as our guest. We look forward in seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Beautiful and comfortable place to stay. The staff were friendly and has a great hospitality. Places were clean with great surroundings. The kitchen were highly equipped and there is also a barbecue area for people who want to prepare their own meal while staying. Nicely done dipping pool with lovely landscaping. Highly recommended! :D

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ardeles P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2012

A very nice place to stay, in 'the Hills' neighbourhood of Kuching (about a 10 minute walk to the waterfront) and close to shops, Planet Borneo Lodge is more like a home than a hostel. It has friendly & helpful staff, a big living area with a kitchen you can cook in, a good washing machine and clothes-drying area, space for relaxing - including in and around a small pool with jungly surroundings - and a generally gentle, laidback vibe. Thanks Bryan and Joe. Hope to come back one day. Jenny, from Melbourne, Australia.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amazydaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan T, General Manager at Planet Borneo Lodge, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
We are glad you've enjoyed staying at the lodge. Feel free to contact us if you drop by Kuching again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.7 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
0.4 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#6 of 54 in Kuching
1,965 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 54 in Kuching
1,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
12.1 mi away
The Village House
The Village House
#5 of 81 in Kuching
247 reviews
0.7 mi away
Basaga Holiday Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planet Borneo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planet Borneo Lodge

Property: Planet Borneo Lodge
Address: No. 10, Lorong Park, Kuching 93300, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 77 Specialty Lodging in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Planet Borneo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Planet Borneo Lodge, offers a cozy, clean and safe dormitory style accommodation for guests from afar and near and is within walking distance to museums, restaurants, bars, supermarkets, and the city centre. Situated along the famous "Lorong Park" or "Park Lane," a former residential bungalow has been converted into a Lodge, surrounded by tropical gardens. It also boasts a Longhouse Lounge with lovely dip pool surrounded with exotic plants.Planet Borneo Lodge provides free WIFI and round the clock availability of complimentary coffee, tea and drinking water for all their guests.Smoking is strictly prohibited inside the Lodge, Guests however is allowed to smoke outdoors and at the Longhouse Lounge and Dip Pool Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Planet Borneo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planet Borneo Lodge Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing