We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and nice”
Review of Drop In Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Drop In Guesthouse
Ranked #59 of 81 Kuching B&B and Inns
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Cheap and nice”
Reviewed October 26, 2011

There is nothing super special of this guest house but I just like this place! I like the feeling of staying here and the hospitality of the guest house. The staff is great and friendly, she is always helping me on my every request no matter how busy she is during their peak season - Rain Forest. Indeed, there is one thing very special of this guesthouse, which is their eco-friendly room design using recycle materials. It is very creative to me.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freddie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    7
    2
    4
    3
See reviews for
1
5
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Ipoh, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

I love the decoration in this guesthouse because it look like a house....
So, when i stay in this guesthouse got a feeling like i come back to my own house...That's great. Even we need shared the bathroom, but the hospitality in the guesthouse are clean .Besides that, the staff and the owner are very friendly .They give us more info and help for us when we travel in Kuching. I feel happy to know them and i will come back againts if next time i travel in Kuching!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Stayed here for two nights, it's something what i'm looking for. A nice and quiet place to sleep, very nicely decorated and the owener is very friendly and kind enough to drive me around town. Will definitely come back here!

Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Wei Tat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miri
1 review
Reviewed April 6, 2011

For someone that doesn't write much reviews, staying in Drop In has compelled me to write a word or two about the experience that I had while staying there. Located in the Kuching's "Chinatown", it's a guest house with more than meets the eye. It has showed that its a budget place that offers great service and quality, something which its hard to find these days. The staff are ever so helpful to make sure that your stay there is as comfortable as possible.
The surrounding area is truly historical as it integrates the old with the new. Hawker food are easily found with some of the coffeeshops found along the area being as old as i am which proves the test of time amidst the ever so development that the city has seen over the decades.
I guess in short, Drop In is the place to stay, may it be your first time to the city or for a revisit.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NKCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed April 4, 2011

It's a clean and friendly environment to stay and really close the food and shops, we basically save on transportation fee, tot some sightseeing need to organize a van. The street where this hotel located is full of local food and local culture shops to explore. It's convenience and the night life nearby is as well happening.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malingoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2011

For the price, I thought I got a big bang for my buck. It's location was great being close to three main entertainment area in kuching. There was even nightspots to eat close by. The staff was friendly and accommodated me well, even helping me with places to eat. And in all an enjoyable stay

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank clem81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sentosa Island, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2011

Stayed here for the weekend in my first visit to Kuching.
The location is the best thing about this place. Great food and the attraction of Kuching is all within walking distance. There is a coffeshop, or as the locals call it 'kopitiam' down the road that opens till late at night or early morning near the BIG Cat statue that sells this incredible Laksa.
Up the other end of the road, you will pass the CBD then the WaterFront. Take a boat across to see the Fort. All of these are accessible by walking which is good as taxi or public bus is almost non-existence in Kuching.
The room space is just nice for the price I'm paying and the air-conditioning makes it easier since Kuching is relative hot and humid everyday.
There's a living area where you can meet and mingle with the other guests or the staffs. They are quite helpful and friendly, they also helped us planned our trip to Bako National Park.
On the whole, it is good value for money and the location makes it easier to see all the attractions Kuching have to offer within walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moe29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.3 mi away
Woodpecker Lodge
Woodpecker Lodge
#32 of 81 in Kuching
41 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Radioman, Heritage Hostel
0.3 mi away
Borneo Seahare Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Premium Stay Hostel
Premium Stay Hostel
#46 of 81 in Kuching
43 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beds Guesthouse
Beds Guesthouse
#9 of 81 in Kuching
86 reviews
0.1 mi away
Check In Lodge
Check In Lodge
#13 of 77 in Kuching
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drop In Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drop In Guesthouse

Property: Drop In Guesthouse
Address: 209 Jalan Padungan, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Drop In Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's brand new guesthouse,located in Kuching's China Town, Jalan Padungan. Influence of traditional Chinese and local native theme to decorate in and out of this guesthouse. Because we want our guests to able to learn and understand our local culture even by just staying with us. For the convenience of our guests we also sells items such as snacks, lotion, umbrella, shampoo, souvenirs, painting etc at a very reasonable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Drop In Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drop In Guesthouse Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing