We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfull”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Secret Sanctuary Boutique Cottage
Ranked #37 of 83 Kuching B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 8, 2012

This is a real wonderfull place.
We were picked up from the airport by Julia and taken to SSBC on the outskirts of town.
Before we knew it we were sitting with Cyril, his neighbour Edward and some other guests enjoying a few cold beers and a good talk about life, while the kids were playing in the lovely pool or getting their feet cleaned in the fish pond.
The place itself is a surprsing collection of rooms and small buildings they have built themselves and has a very pleasant, relaxed atmosphere. Had diner there twice, both times excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter188575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 44 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2012

Cyril and Julia operate a fantastic guest house/hotel, it's a lovely place to stay and relax. Cyrils certainly is a great chief and cooks up a great dinner.
Would highly recommend if wanting a relaxed place to stay, and friendly service from Cyril, Julia and crew
Thanks guys
Wal, em and boys

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We stayed at this place for four nights and enjoyed every minute. Every corner of the secret sanctuary is decorated with so much love to detail. We had a spacious room with a private shower that had plants all over so you feel like standing in the rain in the middle of a rain forrest. The atmosphere at the secret sanctuary is very special not only because of its aesthetic design but also because of the very friendly hosts Julia and Cyril. The food, especially the sashimi umai and the seafood salad, was amazing.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TinaF757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We live locally so didn't stay overnight. We spent the afternoon/evening of Fathers Day there and had very enjoyable meals, ice cold beer, and really enjoyed Cyril and Julia's company and hospitality.

The meals we had came with a salad and pasta dish to accompany them; very tasty!

The whole property is designed and decorated in a very natural style so you feel like you are a million miles from the city even though you are in reality quite close to the outside world.

Will definitely return soon.

Recommend to singles, couples and families. Great place, Great people!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Found this place on Trip Advisor, thought it was a good idea to get her first since you get picked up on the airport. An exciting jungle vibe strikes you as soon as you get through the door.
The beautiful couple of Cyril & Julia runs this place with love and care, within 5 minutes we had been shown our room & had a refreshing drink in our hands.
As we were travelling with our 1 year old daughter Cyril had arranged a nice room with our own veranda, Moa loved it now she had her own crawling space.
The Secret Sanctuary is like a big family, so friendly and you get treated like a king
(or queen).
Lush gardens, small cosy rooms, beautiful waterfall swimming pool, fish spa, big showers inside & outside.
The food is worth plenty of words, Cyril himself is an excellent cook and did the most of our food, amazingly fresh & really exciting ingredient.
A must is Cyril´s variation of Umai ( Fresh fish salad made with white snapper. )
We also had som really good jungle fern, picked the very same day.
River prawns with a succulent tomatosauce was also among our favorites.
The other thing that makes this restaurang so worth visiting is Cyril´s passionate about good drinks. I havent seen many places in Asia who can offer you this good quality of wines, many good labels and really good priced to.
The service is so friendly you almost forget that you are in a restaurant.
Cyril & his local friends helped us out with all our tours, orangutang, night safari & a visit to Baku national park ( rent a guide ) was among our favorites.
We had an amazing visit, decided to stay all our 6 days of our visit to Kuching.
We are already discussing how we can manage to come back again.
The sooner the better, the most superb place to stay if you like true friends to arrange the best of Sarawak, if you like authentic cooking and have a feel for good drinks.

A place where time stands still.
Thanks to Cyril & Julia who enriched our lives for 6 days in Borneo.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Dondanne79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

The secret sanctuary is made by the wonderful welcome provided by it's owner Cyril and his girlfriend Julia. The place itself is an oasis of calm although our taxi driver found it tricky to find, (I suggest you print off the map provided as it is slightly outside of the town itself). Cyril kindly arranged a few tours we wanted to do and is very keen to ensure his guests get to experience the "real Kuching" and was helpful at providing information on where to go and what to do in Borneo. The accomodation itself was clean and comfortable but is basic and there are lots of places to sit and relax in the communal areas. We were there whilst the place was relatively quiet but I can imagine if full it could feel quite crowded. Finally, Cyril is a fabulous cook and uses extremely fresh ingredients (some from his own fish stocks)

Room Tip: Our main tip would be to make sure you have clear instructions of where to go - print a map as it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank melissa_williams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2011

We stayed at the Secret Sanctuary some time ago. The owners have cleverly diversified it's principally landscaping business to homestay, spa, restaurant and bar businesses.

We were allocated a two-bedroom rather-run-down house at the back. It had a bathroom attached but at times there was no water to wash and flush. The toilet floor was rather slippery and there wasn't a floor rug to dry our feet. So we had to go in and out of the bathroom very carefully after showers. LOL! The lights in the house were too dim to do anything actually. We weren't able to access the internet from our rooms too. The rubbish we collected with recycled bags weren't cleared right to our last day's stay so you can imagine the smell as the days went by.

Everything was pretty much DIY. The sink in the kitchen was choked on the first day; we fixed it ourselves. Actually, I wouldn't call that area a kitchen really - all we could do was to wash there. The aircon in the room also broke down suddenly during our stay but it was'nt fixed either.

We also had to get our supplies of drinking water from the self-service bar. We didnt sleep too well as the bed weren't comfortable - the rooms, sheets and all were rather musky and dusty and beds too hard.

Nonetheless, the food served there was pretty good (but quite pricey though). We enjoyed the lamb chop and a unique raw fish salad. The breakfasts were very simple fares but good enough to start the days with - they consisted of a glass of instant coffee, fried beehoon or noodles and some local fruits. The owners of the cottage, particularly the pretty lady owner was very helpful and friendly. She has a gift of making people feel at ease. We enjoyed the facilities such as the waterfall pool, steambath, sauna and spa. The greens and water features in the premises helped to create a relaxing climate. Which we liked very much.

The other rooms may be better (they looked brighter and better-kept) except that they don't have bathrooms attached. If you don't mind 'kampong-like' holidays, this place is ok. If you're prone to mosquite bites, you've to be prepared.

The place could use a big cleanup and revamp - especially the house at the back. We think that SSBC has the potential to become a huge attraction in this sleepy part of Kuching as it is very near Giant Supermarket and Stutong Market. Travelling to other parts of Kuching is relatively easy from SSBC.

Room Tip: The single rooms, particularly those perching at 2nd level could be better. More privacy and probabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alpharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boutiquehotel460, Owner at The Secret Sanctuary Boutique Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Good news ,
All our rooms are with attached new high pressure shower and toilet .
Plus New Queen and King size bed .
All rooms are non smoking .
Smoking area are located at open area with big fan .
24 hrs honesty Bar .
New garden toilets next to the Bar and Restaurant .
All wood flooring are bare foot area . Clean and easy .Walk like a child .
All tree top rooms are with private sun bath deck .Outside living .
In the midst of building :
Eco friendly pond
Green lawn , healing garden (herbal) and more sun bath lawn .
waterfall frog pond
more palm tree and flower
pepper vine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
3.9 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
3.3 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,720 reviews
14.9 mi away
The Village House
The Village House
#6 of 83 in Kuching
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17 mi away
Permai Rainforest Resort
Permai Rainforest Resort
#11 of 55 in Kuching
496 reviews
16.9 mi away
Damai Puri Resort & Spa
Damai Puri Resort & Spa
#47 of 55 in Kuching
390 reviews
16.7 mi away
Damai Beach Resort
Damai Beach Resort
#15 of 55 in Kuching
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Secret Sanctuary Boutique Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Secret Sanctuary Boutique Cottage

Address: 12 a Jalan Setia Raja 132 Jalan Stutong Indah, Kuching 93350, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Kuching
Price Range: $65 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Secret Sanctuary Boutique Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into The Secret Sanctuary, a haven of peace set in. The place of Oneness. You get in touch with individual who share the similar soulful interest, in awakening consciousness-thing that truly matter are Beauty, Love, inner peace, creativity and joy. Specially designed by the owner for the last ten years, the journey in search of meaning of life. Located 10 mins from airport and 10 mins to the city center. Walking distance 10 minutes to the local market selling jungle produce or take a stroll in the nearby monkey forest where monkey wander freely. The reason why many people choose to stay with us because we are holiday home and living in the midst of heaven. Equipped with waterfall, swimming pool, garden, green house with pitchers plants, fish, spa, steam sauna, infra-red sauna, whirlpool, pool, jacuzzi, sun deck, honesty bar, fruit bar, draught beer & wine air con bar, gastrolounge, restaurant serve wonderful western & local food. Jungle cuisine, fresh live seafood, bbq lamb, seafood, chicken to baked pumpkin. Its central location to the national park around Kuching. Our own driver will arrange your tour around wildlife center or beaches with the comfort of our own car with ice box with drink (beer, wine, soft drink, mineral water, etc) all the time. Special rate for all tour destination.Special SERENDIPITY gastronomic seafood & wine tour to fishing village with beautiful scenery along the way . wildlife,frog tour at mountain side from 7pm to 11pm available . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Secret Sanctuary Boutique Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Secret Sanctuary Boutique Cottage Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing