We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home - great staff!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beds Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beds Guesthouse
Ranked #10 of 82 Kuching B&B and Inns
Sydney
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Home away from home - great staff!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2011

The minute we were picked up from the airport by David we immediately felt so welcome. We stayed in a private double room which was very clean and comfortable, the share shower facilities were also very clean. There is a lovely lounge room downstairs and you have access to a kitchen if you feel like cooking. The rate came with all day complimentary brekkie which you prepare. David and his team were so friendly and helpful and we really felt at home there. Location is about 20 minutes walk from the waterfront but that was fine for us. If you are heading to Bako National Park the bus stop is only 400m away from the guesthouse (David and staff enjoy arguing about the distance). All in all this is a lovely guesthouse and we had such an enjoyable stay of 3 nights, we would certainly go back. If you enjoy your Char Siu Bao the shop about 2 doors down (heading towards the Great Cat) makes the most amazing BBQ Pork buns we have ever had!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jelebean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    28
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
23
22
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2011

I stayed here for four days, spent a week away and then another four days. There is good wifi in the rooms, nice common area/bathrooms and my single room "Water Lily" was quite alright. Towels and bedding were good and the rooms were clean. There is a full kitchen here so if you feel energetic you can cook your own food. Imo and staff are very friendly and accommodating. My only complaint is guests lumbering down the hallway like elephants but the guesthouse can't really control some bad manners. At 50 ringgit this was a steal!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank b_rad40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2011

first we came because it was a low budget guest house but then we stayed 2 weeks as first the staff and one guy called david was very friendly. he gave us so many advices, knows a lot of things about his culture and country, he is not a guide but help in everyday life like a friend. the house is very clean with a big kitchen very well equipped, a washing machine, and a big place to relax with tv dvd and internet. rooms are very clean and for a family it s a great deal as we stayed in a room with 5 beds, own shower and veranda
you won t be disappointed

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maururuee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2011

Friendliest people I've met in Kuching so far. Rooms are spacious and communal bathrooms are well maintained with hot shower. Wide variety of rooms for different needs. Walking distance to Waterfront and plenty of great local food nearby. Yummy Kolok Mee just around the corner.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jv3nus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2011

Beds Guesthouse is the best place we stayed so far on our trip around the world. The staff is incredibly helpfull and knowlegeble with everything! From advice of the price for a taxi around town till the best place to stay in Mulu. The common area is very nice, with free internet/wifi a lot of movies, reading area and a spotless kitchen! The beds and the rooms are great, all the facilities are spotless.It is a bit out of the centre ( 10 minutes walk) but it is worth every step! If you go to Kuching, don't miss this place!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Merijn111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2010

Tastefully decorated guesthouse, it has a cosy 'living room', breakfast nook and also comfy rooms. Varied choice for different traveller's needs from dorms to couple of family rooms. The LOFT or Rafflesia room was amazing with it's own balcony and can fit our family of 5. Friendly staff who are more than accommodating (speaks good English), location is in Kuching's Chinatown with a short walk (15-25mins) to the city's town centre and attractions like the Waterfront and nightlife scene. Public transport runs in front so getting around was easy. Facilities especially showers are clean, kids loved the book corner and games provided. However, it runs 3 storey with no elevator so for those who has difficulties climbing stairs should try and request the lower floors. Breakfast is DIY and complimentary, typical choice i.e. toast, cereal, eggs or instant noodle (must be an asian thing). Breakfast nook is also the guesthouse bar and drinks are sold at reasonable price, include tuaks if anybody wants a taste.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryffa_Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.9 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
0.2 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
0.3 mi away
Borneo Seahare Guesthouse
0.7 mi away
Singgahsana Lodge
Singgahsana Lodge
#2 of 69 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beds Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beds Guesthouse

Property: Beds Guesthouse
Address: 229, Lot 91 | Section 50, jalan padungan, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Beds Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beds Guesthouse, located in the heart of Kuching's very own China Town, is just a 15 minutes walk from the City centre. Nestled in between old historical buildings along Padungan Road, we offer budget travelers a cosy, clean, friendly and hospitable stay in Kuching City. Close to eateries, watering-holes, shopping centres, banks, airline offices, money changers, florist, fruits, sundry shops and city bus routes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Beds Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beds Guesthouse Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing