We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent, but noisy room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marco Polo's Travellers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marco Polo's Travellers
Ranked #3 of 82 Kuching B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent, but noisy room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay here: owners exceptionally friendly, good breakfast, very clean and a nice communal area. Only let down because our room was near the front and got a lot of traffic noise (and, although people weren't at all noisy themselves, the floorboards were quite loud) so had a bit of trouble sleeping. Had shared showers, but these were spotless and never had to wait at all. Location in Chinatown is great, and only a short stroll to the centre! Tried both of the Chinese cafes immediately below and loved them. Mmm...

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 2_Unlimited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcopolo1_12, Owner at Marco Polo's Travellers, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Hello,
Thank you so much for taking your time to write a review. We wish we'd change a room where it's not located by the road . If it's disturbed your sleep,we'd like to apologise for that. As for the floorboards,we wish guests'd walk cautiously & not disturbing others. All in all,we're working our best to solve problems where our guests complaint, hopefully issues like that will be solved.
With sincerity, we want to thank you for staying with us & hope that we'd be able to Welcome you & your spouse again to our guesthouse.
Warmest Regards,
Sam,Jane,Betty & Druv.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    26
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
42
63
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

This place is awesomely clean for a b&b and the host are friendly. It gives you at home feel! A sure to return next. The location is also within walking distance to some great eateries catering for all meals including breakfast, lunch n dinner. Also Bar's are within walking distance. The room plus dorm is fantastically clean n could not spot any dust at any time of the day. The guests are coincidentally friendly. The host (owners) certainly to be praised and friendliness are second to none. Look forward to my next holiday to Marco Polo. Theva

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thevakanthan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcopolo1_12, Owner at Marco Polo's Travellers, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Mr.Theva,
Thank you for staying with us during the music festival. It's a great pleasure to have you here as you're such a simple person but holding an important position in your job. The comment you've written is very up-building to our staff & it inspires us to work even harder than before. Meanwhile,
we're eagerly looking forward to see you in the next year music festival & also to hear from you your great & fantastic journey to other parts of Asia countries.............Wishing you every success in your biz career undertakings,cheers!
Best Regards,
Sam,Jane,Druv & Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

I could only stay 2 nights here, as they were fully booked during the Rainforest Music Festival and I had to move elsewhere. Felt very comfortable and welcome, had a private room which was large, clean and inviting. Mattress a little stiff (could feel the springs), walls a little thin (could hear the snorer very clearly in the next room on my first night), but nothing that would prevent me from going back in the future. I'm not really a breakfast-type guy, but from what I heard and saw the remains of, there were eggs and french toast on the two mornings, bread (which you could toast, have with jam, etc.), fruit, coffee and tea, etc. So you're certainly getting value for your money. There was an outdoor area where you could relax with a beer in the evening and chat to your fellow travelers. Owners were very helpful, always willing to direct you to a place of interest, restaurant, etc. It's a bit away from some waterfront attractions, but you trade a slightly longer walk or a shuttle bus ride for some quiet at night and a relaxed environment. I mean, I stayed at Batu Bata on Carpenter Street, in prime backpacker territory and easy walking distance from things, and had the ding-dong of the 7-11 doorbell right underneath me keep me up for hours. Note also that the owner has responded to many comments on this site, that it a sign of a dedicated owner who cares about what his guests think. I'll take that over a chain hotel with disinterested staff anytime I can.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcopolo1_12, Owner at Marco Polo's Travellers, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Hello Mr.Jonathan M,
Thank you for staying with us during your vacation in Kuching. We appreciated much your sincerity in writing your comments especially on things that we need to look at ie mattress. Recently,we've changed mattresses that need to be upgraded so that our guests will have a comfortable sleep.
Everyday,we're learning from our guests where we need to improve after their opinion. Yes,we enjoyed conversing with your direct approach & hoping that you do come back to drop-by our guesthouse,of course to provide you a better service than before..........Here,we wish you every success in your biz undertakings & take care!
Best Regards,
Sam,Jane, Druv & Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
144 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

fantastic value -highly recommend. very tidy guest house in central location. lots of eating places and supermarket within walking distance. bus stop 1 min walk away.
owners and staff are all lovely and friendly and super trustworthy which is a nice change from many hotels.
rooms are basic but if you just need somewhere to sleep that's all you need. rooms very clean, pillow was bit firm for me but suited my husband fine.
bathrooms are shared so sometimes someone else may have left a mess but there is a good ratio of showers/toilets to guests so always another spare one you can use and then they are cleaned everyday. I never had to wait for a shower.
you also get a simple tasty breakfast, slightly diff each day. always toast and some sort of fruit and something cooked up that morning. be in quick though as cooked food may get all eaten before you get there.
but it's the friendly faces of the AMAZING staff that made this place the best.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank supergibby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcopolo1_12, Owner at Marco Polo's Travellers, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Hello Supergibby,(sis)
Thank you for staying with us & taking your time to write review of us. We appreciated much your encouraging review & it's so heartwarming that someone you've never meet before & yet 'spiritually connected' in one way or another. Yes,We're 'enthusiastic' of your support & joyously looking forward to your next trip to Kuching. Please take care,you & family.

Best Wishes & Warmest Regards,
Sam,Georgette,Druv & Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Guest houses can be a mixed bag so its always a pleasant surprise when you find one that is not only super friendly and welcoming but really clean and tidy. Sam and his helpers took great care of us, provided a great breakfast in the morning and a comfortable bed (air con and suitably dark meaning you could have a nice sleep in). Its also centrally located so its perfect as a base for your stay in Kuching.

Definitely recommend to anyone but book in advance as it fills up fast!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chchjas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcopolo1_12, Owner at Marco Polo's Travellers, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Chchjas,
Thank you for staying with us & taking your precious time to write this review about us. Your stay here is challenging for us as you've stayed in those 'stars' accommodations' Your experiences
will help us to improve where we're weak at. As planned,we'll keep-on upgrading our rooms &
"first impression" so that new & future guests will love to come back to our hostel. So the next
time you drop-by to kuching,rest assured that you'll be comfortably pleased with our lodge.
Yes,we wish to welcome you once again in the near future & please take care always 'in these system of things.'

Warmest Regards,
Sam,Georgette,Betty & Druv.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

This is a place where we first booked for five nights, then suddenly realized one night when we went to bed that we should have checked out that same morning. The days and our stay had been so nice that the days just went by and by. We ended up staying for nine nights.

This is one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in! No doubt. It is a perfectly reasonable price, with high functioning air-condition in the room. The beds are crispy clean and super comfortable, you get a good varied breakfast and the kitchen area is fully equipped for you to cook your own meals if you want to. The shared bathrooms are cleaned every day and have hot and cold showers. They even have laundry service at the hostel and do not hesitate to help you or advise you on day trips, sightseeing and nice places to eat.

The owners are absolutely delightful, they are super interested in their guests, and really want to get to know you and help you in every way they can. They have a map with pins for which country their guests have been from, and are very willing to share their knowledge if that would in any way help you.

They also have two "common rooms" with tv, dvd and computers so that you can easily print booking references, surf the internet, or watch a good movie. It isn't in the middle of the city, but right outside there are vans all the time to take you in to town for only two ringit per person, and it takes about five minutes.

I can't find anything bad to say about this place, it is super super great! Thank you guys for the incredible stay!

Sincerely
Vicki and John from Sweden

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicksy91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcopolo1_12, Owner at Marco Polo's Travellers, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Ms Vickys91,
Thank you so much for your time to write such a wonderful & detailed account of your experiences in our hostel. Your style of writing coupled with good english & sincerity is trully delightful to read.
We enjoyed conversing with you as you're very truthful & full of zeal & we wish you'd stay even longer. Yes, You're such an encouraging & energetic couple that we wish we'd welcome you
for another time. May you've a lovely time back home in your country & please take care always!
Cheers!
Best Regards,
Sam,Jane,Betty,Druv.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We spent 3 nights in this GH. The room is simple but clean. You have towels available when you arrived. The shared bathroom is also clean and the owner take care to keep it clean for everyone.
We also have a great breakfast: cofee, tea, fruits, toast, jam, enough to begin a good day ;-)
Wifi is available in the room.
You also have a living room with TV and Dvd if you want.
Sam and his wife did their best to help you to find good restaurants, the places to go and so on.
The only problem (if you consider its one) is that it is a bit far from the center (far means 7/10 minutes walk...): we didn't consider that has a problem because it allowed us to go in a neighbour we probably never been if our place was not there. You also could find really cheap restaurant on the street.
You really feel at ease there for a good value. Thanks again for Sam and his wife for their welcome!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Insaf B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,423 reviews
0.2 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#7 of 55 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,911 reviews
0.7 mi away
Basaga Holiday Residences
0.0 mi away
Traveller Homestay
Traveller Homestay
#1 of 69 in Kuching
5.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marco Polo's Travellers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo's Travellers

Property: Marco Polo's Travellers
Address: 1st Floor 236 Padungan Road, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marco Polo is strategically located in Kuching city. Nearby Marco Polo's is the famous Kuching waterfront, main bazaar, Gambir Street, India Street, Sarawak museum, tourism information centre, shopping malls, bus services, entertainment outlets, 24 hour restaurant & cafe(across only). Close to Marco Polo are pubs, bars, reflexology centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Marco Polo's Travellers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Polo's Travellers Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing