We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place To Stay, Friendly owner A places like home”
Review of Rom's Homestay

Rom's Homestay
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rom's Homestay
Ranked #57 of 81 Kuching B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Place To Stay, Friendly owner A places like home”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Rom's homestay is absolutely amazing. There is no way you can fault this place! I extended my stay by four nights,Rooms were clean, beds comfortable, air con and fans worked great and I just didn't want to leave. The family are brilliant, they can't help you enough! Breakfast,lunch and dinner was provided, towels, excellent information for visiting local attractions. But most of all they were great fun to hang out with n the evenings.

Room Tip: My choice is Baizura House
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank puteranadim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    3
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
5
Couples
0
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2013

The homestay make u feel like in the garden.
The homestay in orchid garden is just about borneo n related 4 nature.Best xperience ever..tq uncle J n k.rom...,u guy so sweet. The jln2 part is the best since we hv go through the kuching area.,..

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank khairin86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Nice place, very friendly staff. Recently they redone main entrance. Away from the village itself, if you want in here that village atmosphere.Food and drink, such as mothers delicious cuisine at fair prices, easy to move around and see the city of Kuching You should try

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pensel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 4, 2013

we are a group of 9 including my wife,parents and son,daughter in law and grand children from Selangor.We stayed in Rom Homestay for 4 days and 3 nights. We found Kak Rom Homestay such an excellent place to stay in Kuching during the last school holiday in December last year.We stayed at cempaka Baizura and Kenanga Julia Cottage. Kak Rom Homestay is 10 minutes drive to the city center,there are few convenient stores near by.We have stayed in many Homestay in Malaysia but Rom Homestay is above Malaysian's homestay standard.The rooms was clean and surrounded with scented flowers. herbal garden and with fish ponds in front of the patio. Kakrom was a wonderful person. she's so friendly and helpfull. She helped us to arrange transport for tours as well.
we enjoyed eating at Rom's restaurant. Surrounded by beautiful garden.The food was excellent and exotic. I love her fried kerabu rice and sambal belado ikan talapia , All the herbs that she use is from her own garden and talapia fish from the pond in her garden.
We plan to go back to Kuching in the next school holiday and stay at her place again because one of my grand children is studying in UITM Semerahan, near Kuching city.

Room Tip: Cottage Baizura and Julia .We love those rooms. They are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jalalyusoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We booked the Malay kampung house for the ten of us, which include 2 senior citizens, an infant, a toddler and 2 bigger children less than 12 y.old. instead we were given 2 seperate cottages, because the kampung house is not actually for home stay. So why advertised? We were okay at first because I have made full payment but later we found out that toilet seat were broken, toilet door unable to close, at the one bed cottage water was not coming out, I have to walk to other cottage at night if need to use toilet , no basic utilities provided. When we complaint they just said that the lock has been like that for ages. Service was bad, it took them ages to send electric kettle and mugs/cups for the room. At nite they off the lights along the alley, making it very dark and we have to use torchlight. We have to change home stay after 2 days, and they refused to partially refund the amount we have paid. Maintenance was poor, far from Malaysian way of kampung style. If they read this hope they can do major repair, and not to advertised what is not available. Below....below below standard .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilyaish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuching hotels

London
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2011

We (family - 2 adults, 2 children (11, 13) and grandmother) stayed at Rom's Orchid garden for one night. We arrived early and the family were probably not quite ready for us, but we were given a wonderfully refreshing welcome drink of lime juice, then shown to our 'cottage' in the grounds of the home. It had two bedrooms and a bathroom - suited us fine. The room was basic, but that did not bother us, as we were looking for a 'real Malaysian' experience. The 'boss', Rom was a lovely lady, full of character and kindness. She was so eager for us to have a nice time in Kuching, offering us lifts to various places and lots of helpful information. We went to the Sarawak Museum which was quite a distance out from the city and one of her sons drove us there (we did pay, but probably not as expensive as a normal taxi). We also did a cookery course which was very interesting and produced some delicious food (the best we ate in Kuching!). It was probably more of a cookery demonstration, as we did not get 'hands-on' as much as the children would have liked, but this all blended into insignificance afterwards when we ate the tasty food. If we had more time, we would have stayed longer. The house was a five minute drive from the river (north side) from where you could catch a boat across for 2RM to the city centre. The grounds around the house had lots of flowers and Rom was very passionate about her flora. She and her family were extremely lovely and we can honestly say that if you are looking to experience true Malaysian hospitality, you should try this place - fantastic food and warm and friendly hosts. We feel like we made a friend in Rom, and we were only there for one night!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank c_a_l_prior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
1.6 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,541 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#9 of 55 in Kuching
575 reviews
12.6 mi away
Permai Rainforest Resort
Permai Rainforest Resort
#11 of 55 in Kuching
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
1.7 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#6 of 55 in Kuching
1,978 reviews
1.5 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rom's Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rom's Homestay

Property: Rom's Homestay
Address: No. 333A Lorong 5, Jalan | Petra Jaya, Kuching 93050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Rom's Homestay Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing