We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous little gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Batik Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2 of 80 Kuching B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Fabulous hotel in a quiet but central location. Very helpful and friendly staff which pretty much made our entire trip so relaxed and chilled. Free airport transfer, welcoming service, staff arranged for all (!) tours, even customized ones for single passangers and spa trips.
Rooms are spotless and clean, beautifully decorated. Free wifi, water. Ecofriendly, producing their own conditioner, shampoo, shower gel etc. Would definitely recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nyx80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    97
    23
    5
    2
See reviews for
35
166
51
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

This small boutique hotel sits on the very edge of China Town and is perfectly situated. The rooms are well appointed and presented, Water and WiFi are free, there is a bar and resturant down stairs and small courtyard. There is a airport pickup and drop off as long as you book it. The staff are pleasant and helpful, you can book for day trips and there is a local travel agent next door.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadamHooch01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

This is a great little hotel in a perfect location for exploring Kuching. This is for people who want quality facilities but don't like the the big impersonal chain hotels.

The staff made us feel really special from the minute we walked in the door and were very attentive to our needs. Jo-Lynn is a sensation for cutting through the tour guide "fluff" and giving great advice on how to get the most out of your stay.

We're a well-travelled, adventurous couple in our 50s and love this kind of boutique accommodation. A real haven in a busy city.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueBarnard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised by the beautifully designed rooms of Batik Boutique Hotel. Everything was clean and the quality was perfect! Our staying in this hotel was a great experience. De crew was very dedicated, helpful and friendly. Thank you!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauenmee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

What a gem of a place! Small but funkily designed hotel, centrally located in Kuching. Comfortable, clean and well-equipped rooms. Seriously great showers. Friendly, helpful and attentive staff and management. Well-stocked bar. Reasonably-priced restaurant offering a great-tasting selection of local and western food. For those looking for the personal touch - highly recommended.

Room Tip: My room faced the courtyard at the rear of the hotel, and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Thank you for your excellent service. We felt very welcomed & amazingly accommodated. Immaculate & personalised service with attention to detail. We love the welcome drink & cake. Smooth check in& stylish rooms.
All amenities were superb. Breakfast yummy!!! Great walking distance to everything. We stayed with our 1 year old daughter- extremely child friendly staff :)
We didn't realise that airport transfers were provided until we got to the hotel as this was not clear from the website. The taxi from airport doesn't cost much.
We would definitely recommend and stay again if we ever have the chance

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ija_182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

My girlfriend and myself recently spent three nights at the Batik. We booked with them after seeing rave reviews on trip advisor, and I've to say that we were not disappointed indeed! Located at the western end of Chinatown, the hotel is only footsteps away from lots of cheap and good local fare, as well as chic cafes and restaurants. The hotel staff impressed us with great hospitality and acceded to our requests as far as possible. We even had complimentary airport transfers both ways. As for the room, it was big, clean and modernly furnished, and even came with an ipod dock as well. The complimentary coffee and tea were great! This puts many bigger hotels to shame, as this hotel uses good quality tea sachets and ground coffee, complete with a french press! My only complaint was that the mini fridge didn't seem to be working. Nonetheless, still a wonderful experience, and we'll sure be back should we head for Kuching again : )

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cradels3108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.6 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
0.2 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 54 in Kuching
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 54 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#7 of 54 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,932 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#5 of 54 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Batik Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Batik Boutique Hotel

Property: Batik Boutique Hotel
Address: 38 Jalan Padungan, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Batik Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Batik is a lifestyle hotel set in the epicentre of Kuching's hustle and bustle. It caters to the needs of today's discerning business and leisure traveller sprinkled with a certain special touch. With its fifteen stylishly designed well-equipped rooms, unconventional hotel offerings and enthusiastic and ever-so-helpful team of hotel crew, The Batik is Kuching's first hospitality icon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Batik Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Batik Boutique Hotel Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing