We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of The Kebun

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kuching
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Kebun
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed July 26, 2010

We stayed three nights at the Kebun. It's like visiting friends because Adrian and Olivia take so good care of their guests. The farm and the animals are going about with their day-to-day business and we immidiately started to follow the easy going pace. It was a fun and very relaxing place to stay and definately the highlight of our trip to Sarawak. Our son loved helping out with the animals but that but was a lot of fun for me and my girlfriend too. We all wished we had stayed longer.

Andreas, Denmark

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andreasboor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    24
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
90
59
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Angelholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2010

During our recent visit to Sarawak we decided to do something different "to experience a homestay" and we opted for the Kebun.
We stayed for 4 nights and that was the most memrable part of our 3 week stay in Malaysia.
On arrival in Kuching we were met by Adrian (the wonderful and jovial host) and driven to the Kebun.-our little tropical paradise for the next couple of days.
Olivia the equally enchanting hostess showed us around the farm.

We stayed in Olivia´s bungalow and it was just perfect.
It was equipped with just about everything you can think of from sun-hats to instant noodles (just in case one should get hungry in the middle of the night)
The fridge was also fully stocked with milk, jam, wildhoney etc, etc but my favourite was the 2 bottles of "Tuak" (rice wine) and sugar cane wine.

Meals were included in the very reasonable rates and at every meal Adrian (master chef)
surprised us with delicious Malaysian specialities like dumplings and noodles for breakfast to curried chicken and fried prawns for dinner coupled with fresh fruit from the farm.
At tea-time we were treated to curry puffs, fried bananas, prawn fritters and a heavenly dessert called "sago-pudding". Weight watchers beware !!

There are numerous places to visit around this area and Adrian (driver/friend/tourguide)
drove us to Sematan (a colourful coastal vallage) Telok Melano ( a beautiful fishing village) The Fairy Caves, Gunung Grading National Park (where one can see the Rafflesia flower) and the village market at Serikin (near to the Indonesian border)

"Tranquility, peaceful, Chill out, Delicious home cooked food, Genuine hospitality, Meandering rivers, Fresh water streams, National Parks, Nature Reserves, Wildlife Rehabilition, Fruits, Plants, Herbs, wonderful host and hostess etc, etc
" sounds appeling ? then the Kebun is the place for you.

A big "Thank You" to Adrian and Olivia for making our stay a most pleasant and memorable one.

Tony and Marianne Dawson with family
Sweden

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tony_dawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2010

Tucked away in a corner, adjacent to the Kubah National Park, the farm wasn’t as we had expected it to be. Being so close to the jungle and having been cut back from old abandonment and undergrowth, we could tell that there had been a lot of work put into this farm to ensure that the place doesn’t get reclaimed by the jungle again. The farm is coming along splendidly. Its animals are comfortable and happy being spread out in enclosures so that they have enough space to roam, A medicinal/herb garden had been earlier planted showing a great variety of local and introduced plants, A vegetable plot had been cleared recently and been planted with greens. We even helped with the weeding and planting of new plots whilst we were there.

What was surprising was that we had expected it to have a distinct farm odour what with rearing goats, chickens and ducks amongst others but it was not to be! The area was clean and scentless. After some probing, Adrian, the owner of The Kebun, finally relented and let us in on his little secrets as to how he kept his farm so neat - simple yet effective and totally chemical free too!

It was easy to walk around on our own as the paths were well laid out and somehow always led us back to the dining area in the main building where there was always tea and coffee available.

The bungalows were also clean and well thought out. There is a kitchen equipped with the necessary for cooking meals etc , there’s satellite tv and other amenities to make our stay as comfortable as possible minus air conditioning which is not required as it gets quite chilly during the night. We didn’t need to cook our own meals though as the stay also included our breakfast and dinner of which Olivia and Adrian shared the cooking chores. We chipped in with the dish washing duty as well although not necessary. We also had some time to visit The Matang Wildlife Centre (a wildlife rehabilitation centre) just 10 minutes up the road, The Kubah National Park and also a fishing village at Telaga Air where we bought a few freshly caught fish from the fishermen and of which Olivia graciously cooked for our dinner. There are day trips to Satang Island too and to the mangrove plains, of which Adrian can arrange for guests but unfortunately we were short of time.

But that only means that there will be more to plan for the next time we visit. Thank you Olivia and Adrian for making our stay so comfortable!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mayakl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ooty, India
1 review
Reviewed June 27, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights in Adrian’s Bungalow. We found everyone to be very friendly and felt very comfortable. We really loved the bungalow which was very well equipped like a real home and had many thoughtful extras for guests. Nice touch. Much better than a boring clinical like hotel look and feel.

The place is spotlessly clean and the location is perfect to just kick back and relax in the verandah or hammock reading. Neat basic rooms are comfortable clean and colorful. From the bungalow you can look right down to the private jetty or walk down to it and enjoy the view. Lots of birds to see in the early morning and late evenings.

The owner is very friendly and made us feel very welcome. He helps out with sightseeing arrangements and directions which were rather easy as we had rented the 4WD which also came equipped with a Garmin navigation device. Nearby attractions were very easy to get to and were done with day trips. Best to visit these attractions in the earlier part of the morning or later in the afternoon as it can get very hot unless you are deep in the forest where it is cool even in midday. If you opt for a river cruise then make sure you take up their offer for those huge grass hats. It can get very sunny in the boat.

The meals that were served came mostly from ingredients from the farm’s organic gardens. They also served snacks in between like fried banana and sago pudding. Yummy! There is coffee and tea anytime in the bungalow and also cordial drinks like homemade lime juice. If you are not used to boiled drinking water then there is a shop nearby to pop in for mineral water.

We would happily have extended our stay if we could have. Don't just stay in Kuching - make the 40 minute trip and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salilsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seria, Brunei Darussalam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2010

We had a very pleasant 2 day stay at Kebun farmstay. The owner, Adrian, was very helpful and showed us around the farm, drove us to the various national parks so we could hike there. He arranged our travels to Telok Melano fishing village in between national park visits and brought us to the starting point of teh boat ride. His prices were very reasonable. Great to see someone with passion and vision for setting up an eco-friendly farmstay and travellers operation.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PeterEngbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hengelo, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2010

We traveled for 6 weeks in Malaysia and the stay at the Kebun was a splendid, very warm and a very nice stay. We wanted to have a touch of nature and that is what we got. The kindness of the owners which evolved in the food, perfect accomodation, trip advice and the sounds of nature, made this stay one the the nicest stays in the country.
If you want some privacy we can recommend the stay at Adrians bungalow. Don't be afraid of all the nature sounds and activities around the bungalow. Various squirrels, geckos etc. and not forgetting the farmsounds of the chicken, geese, goats etc.
The Kebun is perfectly situated for daytrips to all the national parks (Semenggoh, Bako, Kubah etc).
We hope that your experience will be as unforgetable as ours.
Thank you Adrian, Olivia and staff

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karin_van_Os
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2010

Following 6 nights at the Pullman and a night at Bako NP our family of 3 moved to the Kebun homestay for 4 nights in April. The Kebun was a great point of difference to our holiday experience in Sarawak. The owner Adrian, his wife and farmhands ensured we were comfortable and had time for privacy and 'down time' along with site seeing and adventure.

The homestay was nothing like we expected. The farm itself is beautifully maintained and compliments the surrounding area: a 'must' for nature lovers who like to meander along carefully maintained walks amidst the lush countryside. We stayed in Olivia's Bungalow which overlooks a fresh water creek that flows out to the river on which the property is based. Lovely for paddling on hot days. The bungalow itself is gorgeous; very clean and self contained with two airconditioned bedrooms, a kitchen, bathroom, lounge room, front and rear balconies. The furniture is quaint and lovely with fresh bedlinen and quilted fabric on the beds.

Our 7 year old daughter couldn't be dragged away from the animals or the owners themselves. Geese, goats, turkeys and ducks are all cared for lovingly along with the lovely property and guests who happen upon this idyllic homestay. Food was included in the homestay price and it was excellent and abundant. The owner took us on several trips including dropping us off at Semantan for a trip to Talang Satang for snorkelling and turtle watching. The homestay is approx 5 minutes from Kubah National Park and in a lovely part of the world.

The Kebun is a gem; the personal touch offered by the owners, knowledge of the area and easy going, amiable personalities makes it a different experience to regular hotel stays and other lodgings offered by national parks and eco lodges. It was one of the best experiences of our 5 week holiday in Borneo.

We would recommend this hotel to families with children, honeymooners, younger and older people, backpackers and those wishing to enjoy a bit of boutique luxury in the jungle. Hard to beat.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DeeElle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
14.3 mi away
Damai Beach Resort
Damai Beach Resort
#19 of 54 in Kuching
698 reviews
14.2 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
14.9 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 54 in Kuching
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 54 in Kuching
1,510 reviews
14.1 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#5 of 54 in Kuching
142 reviews
14.8 mi away
Permai Rainforest Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kebun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kebun

Property: The Kebun
Address: 20 - 25 Jalan Kampungtabuan Melayu | Jalan Hidupan Liar, Kuching 93050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 77 Specialty Lodging in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kebun was started 12 years ago as our plan for a retirement home in Sarawak, East Malaysia. Adrian’s Bungalow was put up after being disassembled from the movie set of The Sleeping Dictionery. Olivia’s was only put up only two years later when it was taken out of storage which was also disassembled from the same movie set. The farmstay side of the business only started in April 2010 after much encouragement from friends.The Kebun is not just accommodation, it is an experience. If you would like to get a taste for the basics of a simple lifestyle in a beautiful tropical setting, which is of fresh gardens of organic herbs & vegetables, picking your own tropical fruits, dining on fresh farm raised livestock, fishing for your own freshwater fish & simple accommodation with little impact to the environment, or even to help out with feeding all of the animals at the end of the day’s activities and again in the morning, then your are up for a unique Sarawakian adventure at The Kebun. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Kebun Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing