We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely decorated and clean hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
ThreeHouse Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 82 Kuching B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2012

First impression, it's very nice and up to my expectation. The owner is also very nice and friendly, so as their staffs.
However there's some miscommunication between them and hostelworld.com that caused me to have to pay extra RM10 when I arrived which is not cool as they could've told me as soon as they received my booking but they didn't and act like it's not a big deal. I felt cheated because of this.

Other than that, the place IS as nice as what other reviewers has said and it's exactly like what they've captured in their cameras..except that they didn't include that the hostel has a laundry service, and they also fold your laundry for just RM8 per load. They also has a very big refrigerator where you can store your food inside!

The location, near to Carpenter St. is very strategic, where you can find decent coffee shops for breakfast, lunch and dinner. It's also walking distance to the museum, waterfront, well Kuching town is quite small and everything is reachable from this hostel.

The downside about this place is the dorm room is not air conditioned eventhough the reception area are, and there's no drying area if you want to do your own laundry.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tenuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bindi238, Owner at ThreeHouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Hi, i am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay here. Thank you very much for the kind words.

I remember this case very well with the booking and since then i have taken the decision of only allowing direct bookings during the yearly Rainforest World Music Festival period.

Welcome back again!

-Bindi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
There are newer reviews for ThreeHouse Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

116 - 122 of 190 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2012

Spotless accommodation run by an energetic and enthusiastic team who welcomed our family. There is a new outdoor roof area and the chilling out room is very comfortable. The laundry service was great. Wonderful location, but there is currently a karaoke bar across the road. Highly recommended by my family as the best place they stayed and we stayed in some very nice hotels, indeed.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katisit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Great spot, centrally located. Central, spotlessly clean, free wifi. Great kitchen facilities and a cosy common room. Felt more like a guesthouse than a hostel. Relaxed and quiet - not a party hostel which is perfect for me, so you can get some sleep; still, no problem to hang out and have a few beers. Lovely common room and a very chilled out and pleasant place. The owner was really cool, friendly and helpful. I stayed in the dorms which were nice and clean, clean, clean! Breakfast is basic but fine, and there's free tea, coffee, and filtered water. Great value for money, attracts a really good crowd, and I loved watching the predatory fish in the reception area eat his prey. I'd be back in a heartbeat. Pete

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SweetPete58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

I stayed here last summer with three other friends travelling from uni in the U.K and have to say this was the best place we stayed in all our travels.

The rooms are very clean, tidy and tastefully decorated. We stayed in the dorm room which was a really good price (20RM) for the area. It's in Chinatown and is really handy for cheap cafes and craft shops. A free breakfast of toast with jam and coffee is provided. There is also a really nice lounge area upstairs for chilling out, meeting other people or just relaxing. Wifi is useful and the laundry service was brilliant and good value too.

Also the owner Bindi is amazing! She is really lovely and willing to make your stay special. She is also a wealth of knowledge of the local area - and can tell you how to get the bus to Semengogh, how to get to Baku, what places are good to eat, how to move on etc. The owners let us leave our bags there when we went to Baku National Park which was really helpful and saved a lot of effort.

Overall if your're in Kuching this is the place to stay!
(Alex,Max,Andrea and Ellie)

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

The wall are so thin you can't sleep without hearing what is happening in the next room or in the kitchen.
If you let your bags there while going couple days to bako, the staff might empty them, washing your stuff without asking and then giving you back with stains and stinky.

Good place to watch a movie and relax!
Ricky is helpfull and nice.
The dorm is cheap and more quiet than the room that are 3 times the price and VERY NOISY!

Room Tip: Good for people who wants to chat and not sleep.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shawarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bindi238, Owner at ThreeHouse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2012

Dear Sir,

I cant recall accommodating anyone from Sibu so i am afraid i can't point out on what the problem was in this certain case. I apologize that you had a negative impression of your stay.

I know i had the same people staying here during this period of time from a week to two weeks whereof our guests decided to extend their stay on daily basis (day by day) or two at the time. So if you had a bad experience you could have chosen to stay at another hostel or hotel instead of extending it while you were in Kuching. You could have also confronted me or the staff about your experience so we could have had the chance to sort it out at spot. If we had washed your clothes, shouldn't they then have been clean and not "stinky" as referring to your words of choice?

We've been having full-house for a long period of time and the guests has got along well socializing and doing activities together and this is the way it might be from time to time. Some times we can be full but have people who prefer to stay more to themselves in their rooms. We accommodate guests from 2-80 years old, so it can vary a lot. Maybe your preferences is more suitable for staying at a hotel.

I am pleased to hear that you like our staff and the relaxed movie watching. I want to thank you for staying with us and taking your time to write a review. And you are welcome to stay with us again.

Sincerely,
Bindi
Co-Owner & Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

This B&B is staffed by great, friendly, and super helpful people. The location is great and right by the river. Laundry and wifi are great. The only downside is that the walls can be a bit thin if you have neighbors on the louder side

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrBunnsBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

This place is great to stay a few days in Kuching. The common area's, especially the TV room is great. The entire place is being kept spotless by Ricky, who shares stories at night. The toilets and showers are a bit small but decent, you can cook your own food, and the breakfast is ok.
The only negative point is that the dormitories have no windows as they are placed in the middle of the building, where the common areas are to the front and back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HvanHuis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.8 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
1,000 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
0.4 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#6 of 55 in Kuching
2,012 reviews
0.5 mi away
Imperial Riverbank Hotel
Imperial Riverbank Hotel
#9 of 55 in Kuching
40 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#4 of 55 in Kuching
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ThreeHouse Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ThreeHouse Bed & Breakfast

Address: 51 Upper, Kuching 93000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Kuching
Price Range: $11 - $11 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the roots of your journey grow from here. In the heart of old China Town you will find Threehouse Bed & Breakfast. The area breathes of history with its buildings and many shops that has been run by families for generations. With its location you have the walking distance to all the attractions in town such as the museums, the Main Bazaar with all its handicraft, antiques and souvenirs, the waterfront with its beautiful view, temples and what not... And you don't need to walk hungry; just around the corner you find many coffee shops and food stalls along the main Carpenter Street. At Threehouse we hope to make your stay with us relaxed and comfortable in a friendly atmosphere and become a memorable part of your holiday. We are one Scandinavian and a group of native Ibans wishing you welcome to the Threehouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your ThreeHouse Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
ThreeHouse Bed & Breakfast Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing