We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some of the best times of my visit to Kuching was at Threehouse!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
ThreeHouse Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 84 Kuching B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2012

My first impression of the place when I first stepped throught its doors was how warm and welcomed I was made to feel by Bindi and Rickey who were there to greet me. Bindi clearly put in alot of hard work to make Threehouse as beautiful and comfortable as she could.

The dorm beds were comfortable enough, room and bathrooms were clean. Excellent location, some of the best foods were just around the corner! Although it was situated very centrally (in Chinatown), Threehouse managed to nestle itself in a quiet little corner away from traffic and bustle. Perfect if you need that sliver of peace at the end of your day like me!

Rickey and Bindi were always on their toes and feet, catering to the needs of the guests, but they still bothered to spare some time in the evenings to share a chat and giggle with me :) Convenient and affordable laundry service, free use of the kitchen and common room for videos and books.

I decided to return to Kuching even before I left, and there is no argument where I will be staying at ;)

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaime Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

130 - 136 of 191 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2012

Friendly and helpfull owner and stuff. Nice clean room, best value for money.
Laundry service at an affordable price, much appreciated!!
Free tea, coffee, toast and jams.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Romagnolo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

I love this place.
I went there with 3 other friends and stayed in the 6-bed dormitory for only RM18.90.
it was super pleasant. highly recommended.
Bindi, the owner is sweet and passionate about her "baby" (Threehouse) and Rickie was helpful and funny too!

Was thankful that we stayed here, even for only a day. it was very relaxing for us.
The toilet, shower room, kitchen, common area was very comfortable.
they even offer laundry service.
The WiFi service was also good.

Breakfast was toast with coffee or tea. Simple but lovely.

Room Tip: for those who are travelling to meet people from around the world, try the dormitory rooms, although...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sabahrefugi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

My bf and I,was actually looking for another hostel lodge,but since the taxi had alighted us infront of this lodge.We decided to have a little walk around before actually taking a good look inside.To our suprise we decided upon which room we wanted after having a short tour of all the rooms (most of the occupants had checked out) with some recommendations by the owner Miss Bindi.She made us felt so welcome.One of the nights during our stay there were some other travellers who were a bit loud and effected our sleep.Upon seeing us coming down for another smoke before trying to sleep again,she asked if the noise was a bother and that she would talk to them.Which she did and all was peaceful again! Where can you get such service? both she and Ricky had made our trip not only enjoyable but worth it,they really know their stuff and are so helpful.

Room Tip: probably best to avoid the room above the kitchen,and beside the lounge/tv room on the second floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scorpionessence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Oh I love this place. Great atmosphere and Bindi and Ricky are so nice. Simple but cosy room (we had the private double on top with the inclined roof). Clean. Nice kitchen. Close to good places to eat (really, close to everything in Kuching). Nice film room with a flat screen, quite large DVD collection and AC. Very relaxing.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Urdjuret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We, a group of students on holiday, stayed for 3 nights in this hostel and we really enjoyed it. Bindi, the owner, is very helpful, you can ask her everything (places to visit, nightlife, doing laundry for you, etc.). The rooms and the whole building are clean. Only downside is the poor breakfast (only toast and butter/jam) but value for money is in perfect harmony. Located right in Chinatown of Kuching, Threehouse is the perfect base for trips to the town and the attraction around Kuching (5 mins walk to major bus station). Definitely would come back again!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swissboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2011

We stayed here for 6 nights in August and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our private double was clean and comfortable and the shared toilet and shower were also clean although they were essentially in the kitchen area. We had a free ‘DIY’ breakfast of tea and toast. The guesthouse was in an ideal location in Chinatown; only a couple of minutes walk from the waterfront, tourist information, museums and restaurants. There was a very laid back atmosphere at the guesthouse and friendly hosts. We were able to loan a laptop and also get laundry done here. Only criticism is that we were there for 6 nights and our room wasn’t cleaned, or the bin emptied so we had a growing pile of rubbish by the end of the week.

Tip: At the end of Carpenter Street there was a restaurant called Borneo Delights that we went to a few times that did very nice food at a backpacker price. Also we visited the Semenggoh Orangutan centre via public bus which was painless and considerably cheaper than the tours we saw advertised.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.8 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
1,009 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
0.9 mi away
Marco Polo Travellers
Marco Polo Travellers
#4 of 84 in Kuching
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Nanga Damai Homestay
Nanga Damai Homestay
#3 of 84 in Kuching
153 reviews
1.2 mi away
Basaga Holiday Residences
0.2 mi away
Singgahsana Lodge
Singgahsana Lodge
#2 of 81 in Kuching
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ThreeHouse Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ThreeHouse Bed & Breakfast

Address: 51 Upper, Kuching 93000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Kuching
Price Range: $11 - $15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the roots of your journey grow from here. In the heart of old China Town you will find Threehouse Bed & Breakfast. The area breathes of history with its buildings and many shops that has been run by families for generations. With its location you have the walking distance to all the attractions in town such as the museums, the Main Bazaar with all its handicraft, antiques and souvenirs, the waterfront with its beautiful view, temples and what not... And you don't need to walk hungry; just around the corner you find many coffee shops and food stalls along the main Carpenter Street. At Threehouse we hope to make your stay with us relaxed and comfortable in a friendly atmosphere and become a memorable part of your holiday. We are one Scandinavian and a group of native Ibans wishing you welcome to the Threehouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your ThreeHouse Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
ThreeHouse Bed & Breakfast Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing