We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best stays in Southeast Asia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
ThreeHouse Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 81 Kuching B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2011

This was a fantastic hostel. We couldn't have asked for a better host - Bindi was helpful in advising us on what to look out for in Borneo, bus schedules, other transportation, and good eats (it helped that she was Swedish). Comfortable beds and nice, clean facilities including an air con common room packed with movies. Made our stay in Kuching one of the highlights of our trip.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anneka_rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
There are newer reviews for ThreeHouse Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

141 - 147 of 190 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2011

I stayed 1 night in a double room and then moved to the dorm which was a lots cheaper but not as comfortable. The double room was lovely. I was lucky in the dorm as I got the top bunk right under the one and only fan but I'm sure some off the bother beds will be a bit on the warm side!

Bindi, the Swedish owner is very friendly and helpful and obviously knows what back packers are looking for as thr communal spaces are great. Having a TV lounge with A/C to relax in while the rain is pouring outside was great. Having laundry facilities was a bonus too. Bathrooms were OK, nothing special but clean and adequate, what you would expect really.

Be warned that it took the taxi driver ages to find it, its on a tiny street with not much of a sign.

Room Tip: If you have the cash get a private room.
  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claramon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2011

My husband and I stayed here a few weeks ago and found Bindi, the owner, very welcoming. We stayed here 4 nights altogether. It was great to return there after Bako Park and Annah Rais longhouse so that we could have a proper wash and get our clothes cleaned!

There are no en-suite rooms, but there was never a queue for the ultra clean toilets and showers so there was no problem!

If I ever went to Kuching again I would use this accommodation.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meleth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2011

What else can I say: awesome place. Best value for money when staying in Kuching. Just had my 4th stay here and will be coming back.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monstermaggot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2011

Such a lovely little guesthouse located in the chinese quarter of Kuching, with a number of rooms catering for different travelers. Bindi (the delightfull owner) helped us wonderfully in booking over email before arriving (no deposit required - very helpfull), instantly welcoming us into her 'home' and giving us invaluable advise on where to go, what to see and where to eat. We were always welcomed us back each evening with a beaming smile.
Rooms and communal areas are tastefully decorated with a cozy lounge area, kitchen and bathrooms available to all guests. The whole place is exceptionally clean. Only downers were the walls were a little thin and the pillows a little uncomfortable but overall a very, very pleasant stay. We'll be back there again if we're ever in Kuching.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clairecim675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2011

Lovely place to stay. The owner is really nice and helpful. Hostel is done out in a deep red buddist theme and is really clean. Breakfast is included. Great location. WOuld definately stay here again and would recommend to anyone. Only slight negative is that the walls are very thin so you can hear your neighbours in the next room but this was not a problem and did not keep us awake. Excellent value for money. Bit tricky to find at first - round the corner from the Mr D's hostel

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NinJaTExperience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2011

We only stayed there for two nights and would have loved to stay longer! The owner of the hostel is really sweet and helpful, the rooms are beautifully decorated, there is even a common lounge with books and a TV and a kitchen where you can do your own cooking which is so rare in Asian hostels!!

We had our washing done there and it smelt gorgeous, for the rest of our trip we would think back to it and wish we would find a laundrette like that again! :)

It was also very good value for money, only 50 MYR for a double room with shared (clean) toilets!

We really loved this place!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandS2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.8 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
999 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
0.4 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#6 of 55 in Kuching
2,008 reviews
0.5 mi away
Imperial Riverbank Hotel
Imperial Riverbank Hotel
#7 of 55 in Kuching
40 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#4 of 55 in Kuching
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ThreeHouse Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ThreeHouse Bed & Breakfast

Address: 51 Upper, Kuching 93000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Kuching
Price Range: $10 - $11 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the roots of your journey grow from here. In the heart of old China Town you will find Threehouse Bed & Breakfast. The area breathes of history with its buildings and many shops that has been run by families for generations. With its location you have the walking distance to all the attractions in town such as the museums, the Main Bazaar with all its handicraft, antiques and souvenirs, the waterfront with its beautiful view, temples and what not... And you don't need to walk hungry; just around the corner you find many coffee shops and food stalls along the main Carpenter Street. At Threehouse we hope to make your stay with us relaxed and comfortable in a friendly atmosphere and become a memorable part of your holiday. We are one Scandinavian and a group of native Ibans wishing you welcome to the Threehouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your ThreeHouse Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
ThreeHouse Bed & Breakfast Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing