We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel at buget rate.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Furama Lodging House
Ranked #47 of 83 Kuching B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

100% recommended anyone travel to Kuching, rooms are big enough for my family of 4. Very clean toilet shower, strong hot cold water, comwith Flat LCD TV, airconditioning. Compartment for apparels n luggages, a minimalized setup, feel like living at home. Hotel staff are friendly n very helpful. Almost everything are within nearby Furama Lodging House, western foods, bar, cafe, combi store, bank, post. 2 minutes walk nearby Kuching waterfront esplanade, located centre of the City. Next door are backpacker lodges, after viewing, prefered Furama Lodging House, every rooms are airy with windows. Tourist informations are plenty at hotel counter.
Recommended-anyone who are travelling to Kuching, stay at Furama Lodging House, you cant get wrong, the only right is Cheap n comfort. Stay they for 7 days.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
3  Thank alexander s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (16)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 16 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2013

We moved to this hotel after a few nights at Nomad Borneo Hostel next door. We went with the upgraded room for RM100, about $32. The room was spacious and clean and the bed was comfortable. There were places to lay out or hang up our things. The aircon worked great as did the wifi and there was a flat screen TV with an English-language movie channel. The bathroom was a good size with strong water pressure. The staff (a family, I believe) were friendly and helpful. The location was good, less than two blocks to the waterfront and a short walk in either direction to shops and restaurants. The only downside to this place was Gawing, a club located across the street and down a few doors. They played loud music with a throbbing bass several nights of the week, from around 11 p.m. to as late as 2 a.m. After the first night we were generally able to sleep through it but it took some getting used to. Even at that, we stayed two weeks.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chixcurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We ended up staying at Furama when the guesthouse that we had intended to go to next door was full. The rooms have had some wear and tear but were very clean and had air con and a small tv (with no English channels) We had originally only planned to stay for 2 nights but extended our stay for 5. The hotel is very close to the waterfront, mall,post office, bus station and banks and many restaurants. They also have free coffee, tea and drinking water available 24hours a day.The staff definitely made our stay. They were extremely friendly and helpful. The offered to clean our room and replace our towels every day. We asked if we could keep some food in the fridge and it wasn't a problem at all. They shared cookies with us and offered to arrange a taxi for us when we left and any tours we might need. The service alone would make me recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a place with a convenient location.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 01Kelly01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stayed here for two nights. Staff were friendly and helpful although only one of them actually knows how to speak in English. They should also let the travellers pay using credit card as not all would carry cash around.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Borneonikieta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Rooms are simple but comfortable, everything works perfectly (air-con, hot shower), and the staff is very helpful. It is located in the centre of the city, close to everything you need (restaurants, points of interest). Good quality/price ratio. They clean rooms only if you ask.

Room Tip: "Deluxe" rooms are a little more expensive than "Normal" ones, but they worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MauroBrisino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

My wife and I made a very last minute decision to go to the annual Rainforest World Music Festival not far from Kuching city centre. It was a surprise to me that we were able to find a room at all just a week before the festival.

I had expected the hotel to be run down and dilapidated but I could not be more wrong. The place is clean and the staff are very warm and friendly. What the place feels like is not of a hotel but a typical Asian family home that happen to have lots of rooms and their rates reflect it.

And if my wife was not with me I think I would have told the lady boss that she is one of the most beautiful woman I've ever met, because she is (ok give me discounts next time yea?).

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank macplastik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2010

~~ Cheap - RM90 Net (Lodging Type)!!
~~ Clean
~~ Comfortable
~~ Very good location. There are a lot of food stalls and tourism places nearby.
~~ Good Service
~~ The staffs are very kind n friendly.
~~ The rooms are big,
~~ TV got lot of channels
~~ The design is nice n classic.
~~ Opposite the Lodging house has famous bar n western restaurants.
~~ Right site of the Furama has a lot of local famous food stalls.
~~ Besides, 5 min walk can take a boat (RM1) to cross the river to have fantastic food.

Overall 9 points out of 10 *** (9/10)

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank comaksim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,720 reviews
13.9 mi away
Damai Puri Resort & Spa
Damai Puri Resort & Spa
#47 of 55 in Kuching
390 reviews
13.6 mi away
Damai Beach Resort
Damai Beach Resort
#15 of 55 in Kuching
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
Riverside Majestic Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kuching
548 reviews
13.9 mi away
Permai Rainforest Resort
Permai Rainforest Resort
#11 of 55 in Kuching
496 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#8 of 55 in Kuching
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Furama Lodging House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furama Lodging House

Address: No. 4, Lorong Green Hill 7, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Kuching
Price Range: $16 - $22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Furama Lodging House 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA and Orbitz so you can book your Furama Lodging House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furama Lodging House Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing