We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in Downtown Kuching”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Margherita Hotel
Ranked #8 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Reviewed July 28, 2014

This is a great hotel in down town Kuching's waterfront area, with peaceful river view across to north shore. For the price it charges, it is also great value for money.

The rooms are spacious, fixtures are old but in working order; aircon is powerful and will be nicer if it can be controlled. Best is still the water front view.

Staffs are generally very helpful and flexible.

Buffet breakfast offers adequate variety and test is superb.

You can walk down the streets to the old shops where many different types of souvenirs can be found.

Will be my future hotel in Kuching.

Room Tip: Ask for river views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank baksun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Dear baksun

Thank you for your review and for staying with us at the Grand Margherita Hotel. We are please that you have had a great stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again!

Do not hesitate to book directly with us the next time around and take advantage of our Best Price Guarantee which comes with added perks.Should you have any enquiries, do not hesitate to contact us at pr@centraloffice.my and we will be most happy to assist.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (643)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

302 - 308 of 643 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2014

This hotel is highly recommended for location, value for money and good service. The hotel is by the river giving you a nice river view and it is very near to Top Spot Seafood Food Court. It is right in the town centre very near to all major attractions in the city and only about 15-20 min drive from the airport. We chose to stay in the renovated block. The room is very clean, the bed very comfortable and the toilet bowl has attached bidet. The breakfast has enough selections to choose from although the general quality is not that considered great.

Room Tip: Go for the new renovated wing - for a room with modern look and design
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1john316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Dear 1john316

Thank you for your review and for staying with us at the Grand Margherita Hotel. It is always good to know when our guests have had a comfortable stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Do not hesitate to book directly with us to enjoy our Best Price Guarantee. Should you have any enquiries, do not hesitate to contact us at pr@centraloffice.my and we will be most happy to assist.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a great spot, close to a number of food options and right on the river, which is great if you are located on the river side of the hotel as far as the view is concerned. We were in the recently renovated wing of the hotel and whilst it was comfortable enough, it was let down by the fact that it needed a good clean. The windows and mirrors were all smudged, the bathroom was a little dirty and there were dried noodles on the wall haha!

The pool was nice but had limited hours of opening and the breakfast was OK but really busy so ran out of items.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Crax81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Hi Crax81

Thank you for taking your time to write us a review and for staying with us at the Grand Margherita Hotel. We have shared your feedback with our team, and we would like to apologise for a less than perfect stay.

We hope you will stay with us again and we look forward to welcoming you back. Do book directly with us the next time around to enjoy our Best Price Guarantee. Should you have any enquiries, do not hesitate to write to us at pr@centraloffice.my . We will be most happy to assist.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Started with not getting picked up at the airport which was supposed to have been arranged. Short trip, hotel charged $65 Ringit and taxi was only $26 Ringit. Had "Club" room which was supposed to be Club check in. Wasn't the case, check in with everyone else. Get the "Im new" button person checking us in, advise no car waiting, get a smile and sorry. Takes awhile to check in then get the hand point to where the elevator is. Club already closed at 8:30PM. Room very run down and in need of make over, some hairs in the bathroom and probably the hardest mattress I've ever slept on. Tried to call room service, phone just rings nobody picks up. Call front desk, nobody picks up, finally after 3 tres calling get phone picked up at front desk. Tell me they will have Room service call me back. 15 minutes later Room service calls me back, rude and obviously we interrupted something. Tell me they only have 3 local dishes to choose from. Menus doesn't reflect this. Say thanks but no thanks. Check mini bar which is supposed to be complimentary, 2 bottles of water only. Frustrated we just go to bed. Breakfast supposed to be in the Club, not on the days we are there because of Ramandan which doesn't make much sense to Hotel guests staying there. Skip Breakfast both days because restaurant crazy and food looks poor. Go out for the day and come back for club snacks and drinks at 5PM. Not much selection, but we are the only ones there. Lady at Club is excellent, her name is Reno and only saving grace on this trip. The Club is very hot inside and no way to adjust the temperature. She is very outgoing and friendly and enjoyed interacting with her very much. She is wasted at the Club, we were the only ones there on a Saturday night. Long story short, we should have stayed at the Pullman at less per night. They need some work at this property.

Room Tip: Stay at the Pullman
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Nicholas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

A mix feeling when check in. Photos looks really nice but was given a shanty room with dirty carpet, smelly room and broken bathroom. Apparently they have 2 wings, Sadong Wing is the newly renovated building with sparkling rooms and Serapi Wing the shanty corner. Two very different conditions render this hotel with a 5 star rating at one end but 2 star at the other. I asked for an upgarde to Sadong Wing and paid an additional RM53/nite.

Be sure to ask for higher floor. We stayed in 2nd floor and the loud music from the ground floor bar keeps us awake until 1 am. Food in the restaurant is quite good, make sure to try Sarawak Laksa. Swimming pool need a revamp and quite different from the nice photo shown on internet - I attach here a real scene for your judgement. Also the pool area looks a bit messy. All in all not a 4 stars hotel unless Serapi Wing and the pool areas were given a face lift.

Sampan (ferry) to cross the river over to the Malay village cost 50 cents per trip per person.

Room Tip: Avoid the shanty old Serapi Wing. Higher floor (at least 4th) to stay away from bar lounge music unt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank mnmcsls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Dear mnmcsls

Thank you for your review and for staying with us the Grand Margherita Hotel. We could not agree more on the Sarawak Laksa available at the Orchid Garden coffee house. It is simple delicious.

We have shared your feedback with our team. Nonetheless, we hope to welcome you back again to our refreshed rooms.

Do book directly with us the next time around to enjoy our Best Price Guarantee and should you have any enquiries, do not hesitate to write to us at pr@centraloffice.my . We will be most happy to assist.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights. A very central location right on the river, beautiful river and sunset views. the room was a good size, bathroom older style bath over shower, room was clean, comfortable and non smoking. wifi worked well. There was a really good choice of breakfast each morning, and friendly waiting staff. The front office staff were really friendly and very helpful. Would stay here agai.

Room Tip: River view rooms have lovely views, but some are noisy with the mosque across the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Dear jotravels72

Thank you for your review and for staying with us at the Grand Margherita Hotel! We are happy that you have had a comfortable stay with free, wifi connectivity throughout our hotel.

Do book directly with us the next time around to enjoy our Best Price Guarantee and should you have any enquiries, do not hesitate to write to us at pr@centraloffice.my . We will be most happy to assist.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed in room 437 for 6 nights with a room facing the river. The view was great, but unfortunately we were right across the river from a mosque, which we had the chanting going on for hours at night, and the early prayers waking us up at 4.30 am, so keep that in mind if your looking for some peace and quiet.

We were placed in the older part of the hotel, where the rooms need an overhaul especially the carpet, which is very stained. I started to wonder what I had got us into as we were walking down the hallway to our room, as the carpet is filthy. The room is a decent size, but it isn't anything fancy and could be cleaner. One good thing is that it has good reading light, which many hotels don't. Also, the air-con worked well, and was adjustable in the room, so important in the tropics.

Breakfast was same, just different day. I ended up going for the cereal and fresh cooked eggs, as a lot of the other food was often cold, when it should have been hot. There was a friendly guy at breakfast that I found would make a cappuccino if you asked, nice change compared to the other coffee.

We didn't use the pool or the gym as we were out a lot, and there isn't a lot shade around the poo, so not making it that inviting to us. The pictures on the web site make the pool area look much bigger than it actually is.

Overall the hotel is on the "grubby" looking side, it needs some major maintenance done and a good clean.

We found the staff to be very friendly, helpful and obliging.

The bus stop to Bako National Park is just up the road from the hotel, past the 7-11 store, Bus no. 1, on the hour every hour for 3.5 MYR.

Room Tip: Ask to be placed in the newer part of the hotel, as the old part needs a major refurbishment, and tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank carolynthb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Dear carolynthb

Thank you for your review and for staying with us at the Grand Margherita Hotel. We believe no feedback is a bad feedback and have shared your feedback with the team.

When planning another trip to Kuching, do book directly with us the next time around to enjoy our Best Price Guarantee. Should you have any enquiries, do not hesitate to write to us at pr@centraloffice.my . We will be most happy to assist.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,734 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
Riverside Majestic Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kuching
554 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#6 of 55 in Kuching
2,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
1,015 reviews
0.1 mi away
Imperial Riverbank Hotel
Imperial Riverbank Hotel
#7 of 55 in Kuching
55 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#5 of 55 in Kuching
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Margherita Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Margherita Hotel

Address: Jalan Tunku Abdul Rahman | P.O. Box 2362, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
Price Range: $36 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Margherita Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the city's business, entertainment and shopping district, the hotel offers free WiFi and is 20 minutes drive from the Kuching International Airport. Grand Margherita Hotel is adjacent to the Sarawak Plaza Shopping Complex and the Sarawak Economic Development Corporation Building. Its sister hotel, the Riverside Majestic, is located just across the road. With tourist attractions such as the Kuching Waterfront, Chinese Museum, Tua Pek Kong Chinese Temple, Fort Margherita and Main Bazaar nearby, Grand Margherita Hotel certainly has the best location in the city for business or leisure. Grand Margherita Hotel is classified as Green Hotel by the Ministry of Tourism and Culture Malaysia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Margherita Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Margherita Hotel Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing