We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh! What a Pity.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Margherita Hotel
Ranked #10 of 54 Hotels in Kuching
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Oh! What a Pity.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

I have visited Kuching three times now and each time stayed at this property.
In 1999 and 2004 this hotel was once the charming Holiday Inn and with it's sister hotel at Damai Beach these graceful hotels made visiting Sarawack worthwhile. But alas no more.
The Grand Margherita is certainly far from grand.. She is tired, shabby and worn.
The front entrance is grubby and unwelcoming, the elevators dirty and stained.
The pool area is now outdated, unattended, with no poolside service at all, pool towels are worn through and smelt of petrol. The breakfast room was unbearably noisy, granted it was school holidays but surely there is some way to control the badly behaved children who ran around the buffett area touching every food item and then throwing it back into food warmers.
Not only is this behaviour most unhygienic but off putting to paying guests. It seems the hotel allows non guests to pay and eat breakfast thus overwhelming the staff with seating arrangements..surprisingly the outdoor area which could accommodate many was not utelized at all. It was a shame as the hotel chefs had prepared a wonderful breakfast for it to be spoiled in this way. We stayed in the Executive Suites..Once again shabby fittings, very grey and stained sheets, dirty interior windows, tea and coffee hit and miss, empty mini bar, grubby bathroom. My compliments to the staff who went out of their way to appease us when on arrival our room was not ready and after a long flight had to wait 2 hours ( even though booking was made and paid for months ahead of time.) So to Reno and Zahena and Mr JF Kennedy thank you. It is a pity that Management has let you down. This establishment is in desperate need off someone who understands the hospitality industry with the guest comfort in mind other than just mere proftis. Stay here if you want 2-3 star it is not a 4 star property any longer.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Martin B

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review us. We would like to apologise for our shortcomings and have shared your review with our team and to Mr JF Kennedy, Reno and Zaleha.

Do not hesitate to book directly with us to enjoy our Best Price Guarantee when planning your next visit to Kuching. If we can be of assistance in any way, do send us an email at pr@centraloffice.my and we will be most happy to assist.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    225
    127
    46
    33
See reviews for
132
143
36
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

Nearly 15 years ago I had an enjoyable stay at this hotel when it was a good average quality venue for tourists, maybe 3+ and called the Holiday Inn ; now renamed the Grand Margarita it was disappointing to see how it has deteriorated in décor, comfort and service.
When myself and (male) companion arrived around 3 in the afternoon out room was not ready and we refused the room offered instead as it only had one king-size bed. Reluctantly as we are not young and were tired, we had little choice but to accept a temporary room while we waited for our 'Executive Upgrade' (which was given as we were staying more than three nights). Some hours later we found to our disappointment that the 'executive' room was quite small, very shabby with chipped woodwork and paintwork and had a cramped, grubby, old-fashioned bathroom.
It was also very noisy early in the morning from 6:30 onwards due to there being a number of doors nearby and through which the staff would BASH! BASH! BASH! their big service trolleys through the damaged (I wonder why?) swing doors and all the time be talking and laughing (with no consideration to the 'executive' people in the rooms. This problem however was overcome but only after I was able to get an understanding with a man on Reception called Loid who saw to it that the appalling noise in the morning stopped totally and was obliging in other ways such as organising a taxi for us when our paid transfer did not arrive. I would like to express my thanks to Loid.
Another I would single out for thanks was the Manager of the dining or breakfast room by the name of Mr. John Kennedy ; he was invariably polite and organised hot milk and coffee every morning that had been impossible to get before. When Mr. Kennedy was not on duty for two days, things were not as good.
Breakfast was crowded and very noisy with the sound of chairs being scraped and undisciplined, indulged children being allowed to misbehave seemingly without check. It is understandable why Malaysia is said to be the most overweight country in Asia as the greed and degree of obesity particularly amongst children and the young is quite disturbing. 15 years ago there were few families staying there but of those who did, all were refined, quiet and slim. It appeared that it was not just hotel guests for whom breakfast was being served but people were coming in from outside for a huge breakfast which did not add to the tone of the place and was nothing like the atmosphere that we remembered when it was the Holiday Inn.
Breakfast on the two weekend mornings was particularly unpleasant - in fact utter bedlam. For those in the 'executive class' there, oddly enough, was a room on the 5th Floor which was a dining/lounge. Breakfast was available but with a limited choice and only warm coffee but it was blissfully quiet. At 5 pm every afternoon there was 'cocktails' and a selection of food available. The 'cocktails' were limited to a choice of one: rather ordinary Argentine white wine but it was drinkable.
Deserving of special mention were the two women in charge as they were exceptionally polite and friendly and we enjoyed many conversations with them. Reno did the morning shift and Zeleha was on duty for the afternoon. Both of them I commend to the management.

C.L.Selby, Tasmania

Room Tip: Never accept one on the road side and always on the river. But you would be better staying in a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clselby6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear clselby6

Thank you for taking your time to let us know how we can always improve. We apologise for the unpleasantries, and have shared your feedback with the team and with Loid, John Kennedy, Reno and Zeleha.

We look forward to serving you and welcoming you back in the near future. Should you have any special requests, do not hesitate to book directly with us the next time around and enjoy our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, do send us an email at pr@centraloffice.my and we will be most happy to assist.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuching hotels

Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

We decided to stay here for our WONCA Conference held at Borneo Kuching Convention Centre. No regrets. The staff were so helpful, warm and friendly. Shops were within walking distance. Cheap stuff. We rented a car, a Malaysian MYVI for RM100 per day. Driving is so easy in Kuching, no traffic jams and easy to park. Kuching people are really NICE.
The food was cheap, tasty and wide choices. Breakfast was excellent. Will return.

Room Tip: Choose a RIVER VIEW room, higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsBoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Mrs Boe

Thank you for your review and recommendation. We're very happy that you and your loved one have had a great time staying with us during the WONCA Conference and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Do not hesitate to book directly with us to enjoy our Best Price Guarantee when planning your next visit to Kuching. If we can be of assistance in any way, do send us an email at pr@centraloffice.my and we will be most happy to assist.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

I got upgraded happily to a larger suite room as I wanted no smoking and a river view. Improtantly no smoking proved to indeed be that. If you get the river view expect the call to prayer at dawn to wake you for the first few nights.
The staff were helpful bringing pillow choice; opening the locked windows so i could have fresh air. Great firm king sized bed. Wifi worked well.
Breakfast.. the western one is not great but if you expand your horizons the noodles were lovely.
Yes the carpet was dated and is is ineed of replacing. I was in the unrenovated part - more wood and more authentic than the generic modern hotel style of the renovated section. I preferred authentic and I dont care if a carpet is worn.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear KarenCan

Thank you for your review and recommendation! We're delighted that you have had a pleasant stay with us and preferred the rooms in the Sadong Wing.

Do book directly with us to enjoy our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, do send us an email at pr@centraloffice.my and we will be most happy to assist.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for two nights and then returned three days later for a further two nights. The first room was at the front of the hotel and faced the road. The traffic noise was very noisy all night. We were woken up several times during the night. The room was a descent size and clean but the decor was very tired. On the second visit I asked for a room at the back of the hotel. This room had a great view over the river. It too was clean and appeared slightly larger than the first room. The food in the restaurant was of good a standard. The bar prices were quite high compared to other bars, restaurants in the area. Overall a nice hotel but please put double glazing in the front bedroom!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the hotel with a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Graham1309

Thank you for your review and recommendation! It has been a pleasure having you and your loved one staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Do book directly with us to enjoy our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, do send us an email at pr@centraloffice.my and we will be most happy to assist.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Johor, Malaysia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Stayed here for a business trip with a friend. Booked a deluxe but got bumped up to executive suite due to over booking.(hmm...but hey, no complains there). Room was spacious with living room and study desk, Dining table for 3. King size beds with plenty of pillows..i especially love the choices for 'Firm' or 'soft' pillow.. really considerate i would think. Amazingly comfortable bed... and seeing how accommodating that is after a long day of conference, i want to compliment the hotel.. adequate amenities and large closet. In room iron and board..(yay!) Great scenery of the riverside and the colorful neon lights from the river cruise became an interesting site every evening...

The only complaint i have is the rather narrow shower. Can't move an elbow without brushing against the wall or curtain.. hot water was inconsistent but good flow... and there were signs of decay over ceiling and around the faucet. Perhaps management could do a little upgrading..

i also love the fact that it's location is practically walking distance away from everything u need. A mall attached to ground floor, plenty of eateries nearby with a 24H KFC and Mcd just around the corner. ATM a plenty around. A simple stroll down the riverside walkway will lead you straight into town where u can pick your knick knacks. Wanna look for those much talk-a-bout kek lapis? A mere 50 cents fee will get u a ride on the boat taking u across the river in 3 minutes to the famous kek lapis outlets or u can just get them in town...

But i enjoyed my stay.. it was a warm and elegant welcome for a good 3 nights. Very conveniently located and great hospitality. Wouldn't mind coming again the next time round...

Room Tip: Rooms facing the riverside have an excellent night view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karlz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Karlz A

Thank you for your review and recommendation. It's good to know that we've been able to make your conference stay in Kuching relaxing and enjoyable.

When planning your next Kuching getaway, do book directly with us to enjoy our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, do send us an email at pr@centraloffice.my and we will be most happy to assist.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

Room for improvements:
The staff at the reception counter was courteous but took quite some time to check me in. My room was clean and spacious but the interior was a bit boring. Unfortunately, you cannot call the house keeping directly, but you need to call reception counter to place your request. Hence, it took awhile for me to get the prayer mat, which wasn't placed in my room in the first place.

The strengths:
They served good and delicious breakfast and the F&B staff replenished the food efficiently.
The location is very strategic and gives a nice view of Sarawak riverbank and waterfront.
The rooms have been recently refurbished.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arenaKu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear arenaKu

Thank you for your review and recommendation. We're happy that you and your family have had a pleasant stay with us and we apologise for the delay in delivering the prayer mat.

Do not hesitate to book directly with us to enjoy our Best Price Guarantee when planning your next visit to Kuching. If we can be of assistance in any way, do send us an email at pr@centraloffice.my and we will be most happy to assist.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.1 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 54 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,459 reviews
0.3 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 54 in Kuching
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#7 of 54 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,932 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#5 of 54 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Margherita Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Margherita Hotel

Property: Grand Margherita Hotel
Address: Jalan Tunku Abdul Rahman | P.O. Box 2362, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Margherita Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the city's business, entertainment and shopping district, the hotel offers free WiFi and is 20 minutes drive from the Kuching International Airport. Grand Margherita Hotel is adjacent to the Sarawak Plaza Shopping Complex and the Sarawak Economic Development Corporation Building. Its sister hotel, the Riverside Majestic, is located just across the road. With tourist attractions such as the Kuching Waterfront, Chinese Museum, Tua Pek Kong Chinese Temple, Fort Margherita and Main Bazaar nearby, Grand Margherita Hotel certainly has the best location in the city for business or leisure. Grand Margherita Hotel is classified as Green Hotel by the Ministry of Tourism and Culture Malaysia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Margherita Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Margherita Hotel Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing