We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Margherita Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$69
$40
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$61
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Abell Hotel(Kuching)
$34
$27
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
$65
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$51
$43
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$34
$29
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$54
$44
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$68
$32
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
$82
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kuching Waterfront Lodge(Kuching)(Great Value!)
$27
$25
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (657)
Filter reviews
657 results
Traveler rating
141
279
150
49
38
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
141
279
150
49
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverholiday innsarawak plazarenovated roomcat statuewalking distancetun jugahthe executive loungetop spotwater frontcoffee housea river view roomhotel is situatedlaksa sarawakstrategic locationnon smokingseafood
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
362 - 367 of 657 reviews
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We arrived very late at night and were quickly checked in - but then left on our own to take our own bags to our room. It seemed that the room had not been completed in terms of cleaning as there was a dirty towel in the bathroom, a dirty bottle near the bed and the pillow cases were not clean. Next morning, breakfast was very good, with great service - but we were given a survey to fill out and of course the breakfast scored well. Not so for the rest of our stay, during which the breakfast service was really lacking and I always seemed to be last served at the egg counter - locals seemingly served before me. Our room safe was locked when we arrived and it took 3 phone calls and 2 visits to reception before someone came to our room. We booked a cab through the travel counter for our early morning flight - cab didn't show.
All this was disappointing as we have stayed in 2012 and the hotel was very good then. The location is great, the pool is great, just didn't quite get the service this time.
The location is fantastic,

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DEB0077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear DEB0077

Thank you for taking your time to let us know how we can improve. We would like to apologise for a disappointing stay - rooms, egg station, room safe - and we'll make it up to you the next time around.

Rest assured, your invaluable feedback has been shared with the team for service improvement.

We hope that you will stay with us again and to ensure you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, do send us an email at pr@centraloffice.my and we would be most happy to assist.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Location
20 minutes from the airport
Located in the central of attraction in Kuching
Surrounded by major hotels and shopping malls.
By the waterfront.
Easy access from all over kuching.
Restaurants can be found within walking distance which open till late night. In fact, there are 24 hours KFC, McDs and also 7eleven 2 minutes walk from the hotel.

Facilities
Sufficient for a good rest and holiday in Kuching.
Swimming pool at the lobby/ Ground floor. So not that privacy but most suitable for kids.
Breakfast taste was not to my liking but was okay.
Travel agency at the lobby.
Taxis are on standby in front of the hotel till late night.

Service
Check in & out process was reasonably fast

Room
Basic room amenities but without toothbrush
Minimum tv channels
Bed was not that soft, not to my liking.
Working desk, sofa available.

Sleeping Quality
Not optimal but was okay.

Overall experience
Satisfying

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nazzerooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear nazzerooney

Thank you for your review and recommendation!

We are pleased that you have had a comfortable and satisfying stay with us while on business and have shared your invaluable feedback with the team.

To ensure you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know. Alternatively, do send us an email at pr@centraloffice.my and we would be most happy to assist.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Checked in last week, the bell counter staffs not very friendly, not even a single smiling face, it seen like we own them a millions dollars or had a bad mood.
I felt embarrassed recommended to my friend from UK. However, the receptionist are very friendly and helpful.
The room very good and clean (because brand new, after renovation)
Breakfast extremely busy, but the staffs are helpful and friendly not like the bell counter staffs, every morning or day never greeting the guest.
Next to the river easy access to the river side and walk along the riverfront.

Room Tip: Good location
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucas9620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Dear Lucas9620

Thank you for taking your time to let us know how we can improve. We apologise for the unfriendliness experienced at the bell counter and have shared your feedback with the team for improvement.

We hope that you and your friend will stay with us again. To ensure you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, do send us an email at pr@centraloffice.my and we would be most happy to assist and we'll make it up to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Grand Margherita for 7 nights in November as part of a great deal with Air Asia. For us the accommodation was perfect. The hotel is on the waterfront (we asked for a water view room) and convenient to many of the inner city places of interest plus very close to some of the best eating places in Kuching, Top Spot and Chong Choon. River taxis and road taxes take you to the door.

Sure our room was a little tired, but it was clean and had everything we needed. We enjoyed the pool at the end of most days, usually had breakfast there (included in the rates for us) and used the gym as well. We arranged tours at the in house booking service. The foyer and reception are lovely.

No doubt I would consider staying there again if I ever returned to Kuching.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room. Some of the more expensive rooms may have been refurbished
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussieAl_61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Dear aussieAl_61

Thank you for your review and recommendation! We are most honored to be able to provide a great base for you and your family in exploring Kuching.

We have shared your invaluable feedback with our team for service and product improvement.

To ensure you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know. Alternatively, do send us an email at pr@centraloffice.my and we would be most happy to assist.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Having frequently stayed in this hotel when it was then the Holiday Inn, I decided to give this place a try on my recent vacation to Kuching. But sad to say, nothing seemed reminiscent of the Holiday Inn days and one could tell even at the point of stepping into the lobby.

The Front Office could do better starting from check-in courtesies and to basic customer service. It was rather shocking to be asked to pay RM25 for internet use (available only at the Business Centre) when all I wanted was to check on some flight details (which wouldn't have taken more than five minutes). The contention was free wi-fi being available in all rooms, but lest we forget, not all guests travel with laptops . If smaller hotels are able to cater to this, why can't some kind of facility be provided for guest convenience at some corner of the lobby?

Breakfast was quite an unpleasant affair with haphazard food arrangement. Imagine picking your cheese next to the juice station and having to walk across to the other end of the room for bread and pastries. Coffee/tea dispensers are behind counters making self service very inconvenient. Western section had limited choices, while Asian choices seem scattered all over. The second day at breakfast was total chaos having to contend with a tour group and their noise level. Food may be plenty, but quality and taste, on the whole, need to be further improved upon.

The first night in a room facing the river (a view supposed to be a bonus) turned out to be a sleepless one due to some pump or compressor whirring away throughout the night from somewhere below the window. And this room, in the old wing, definitely needs a lot of work to ensure guest comfort. The second night, following a change to a room in the new wing, was an improvement.

The plus to this hotel is its location of being directly at the water front and situated in the midst of shops and malls.

Will I ever return to this hotel again? That is something to be thought about!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TkLim07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Dear TkLim07

Thank you for taking your time to let us know how we can improve. A Tourist Information Kiosk is provided in the corner of our Lobby for guests to surf the internet and plan their holidays for free. You need not have to pay the RM 25 and we apologise for not listening to your needs and offering an effective solution. We will arrange for full reimbursement of the RM25. Kindly email us your stay details at pr@centraloffice.my

We have shared your invaluable feedback with the team for service improvement. As for the old wing, it is our pleasure to share with you that a renovation plan is in place for 2014!

To ensure you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know. Alternatively, do send us an email at pr@centraloffice.my and we would be most happy to assist.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews