We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The bed is comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Margherita Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Margherita Hotel
Ranked #10 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The bed is comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed in a twin bed room, the super single bed is very comfortable and can fix up to two person. The washroom is clean and not smelly. The location is good, there are fast food, restaurant, book shop, lounge nearby the hotel. Worth to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank helen311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear helen311,

Thank you for your review and recommendation.

We are pleased that you have had a comfortable stay with us, and we look forward to having you and your friends back again.

To ensure you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know when planning your next visit to Kuching, perhaps for the World Rainforest Music Festival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    221
    127
    46
    32
See reviews for
130
139
34
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
164 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

So sad , so bad , and no one cares.
This hotel despite being one of the oldest in Kuching always had some thing that no other hotel could replicate.
New name and now best to stay some where else.
Any where is better. I have stayed here for 20 years plus and will never again. Staff changes are one thing but attitude change is another and all I can suggest is look else where in a wonderful city that now has so many other options.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oziemuncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Oziemuncher

Thank you for taking your time to let us know how we can always improve.

We apologise for a less-than-perfect stay while on business. Rest assured, your invaluable feedback has been shared with the relevant departments and management for service improvement.

We hope you will stay with us again on your next trip to Kuching perhaps for the Rainforest World Festival, and we'll make it up to you. To ensure that you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee.

If we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know when planning your next visit to Kuching.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuching hotels

Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

I've been staying in Grand Margherita on last Saturday ( 13 April til 14 April) , only 1 night stay. I supposed to give a treat for my parents who is on their anniversary , unfortunately they have given me the old room, deluxe twin, room 637. The lights is malfunction, suddenly its off, the shower is haywire til I called the maintenance to fix it. The aircon controller, box fall off, When i press the tv button, the light went off.... seriously the room is fallen apart.

I feel being fooled because what i saw from the website is a new room picture. its kinds of a disappointment to me.. in addition i cannot used the wireless even the login and password has been given by the reception.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SNWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear SNWS

Thank you for taking your time to let us know how we can always improve.

We apologise for a less-than-perfect stay experienced by your family. Rest assured, your invaluable feedback has been shared with the relevant departments and management for service improvement.

We hope you will stay with us again on your next trip to Kuching perhaps for the Rainforest World Festival, and we'll make it up to you. To ensure that you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee.

If we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know when planning your next visit to Kuching.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We arrived and were given a room on the 5th floor, overlooking a busy road. As we had chosen this hotel because it was on the river we asked to move. We were promptly given a room on 3rd floor. That night we went to bed early as we had an early start and were kept awake by the worst karaoke ever! There is an open air 'platform' on the opposite bank of the river where desperate people go to make otheres suffer with their wailing! The microphones are at full volume. It went on until 10.45pm - not that late but we were tired and in need of sleep! It started again the following evening at 4.30pm so we asked to move again! Back to the road side - trust me it was preferable! Apparently it is on every night and lasts as long as there are 'customers'! This experience spoiled our 'view' of the hotel! It is in a good spot - we enjoyed walking along the river, not too far to get to the centre. Rooms were ok - maybe not as clean as we would have liked. Towels old and grey! The biggest asset this hotel has is it's staff who were all friendly and helpful. I would not choose this hotel again.

Room Tip: Take earplugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Julie C

Thank you for taking your time to let us know how we can always improve.

We apologise for a less-than-perfect stay, and rest assured, your invaluable feedback has been shared with the relevant departments and management for service improvement.

We hope you will stay with us again on your next trip to Kuching perhaps for the World Rainforest Music Festival, and we'll make it up to you. To ensure that you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee.

If we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know when planning your next visit to Kuching.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Grand Margerita hotel is situated in the best central place - at waterfront. Esplanade along it is nice and safe for night stroll. BUT hotel is very old. It was renovated just partially. Public places like lobby, restaraunt, swimming pool, gym were renewed. But corridors and rooms are filthy, smelly and worn out. Carpets everywhere are really dirty. Breakfasts were good. Another problem - Nobody supervises the children behavior at the pool, so they make a mess there. After I watched washing hair with shampoo and cleaning shoes at the pool, I stopped visiting it. Initially we were rather disappointed with this hotel, but after 2 days we became so excited with amasing national parks, Kuching city and hospitality of malaysian people, that we became pleased with this hotel as well. Nevertheless, next time I would suggest some of neibour hotel like Pullman or Hilton, which are near by.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria_Delhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Maria_Delhi

Thank you for taking your time to let us know how we can always improve.

We apologise for a less-than-perfect experience and would like to reassure you that your invaluable feedback has been shared with the relevant departments for continuous service improvement.

We hope you will stay with us again on your next trip to Kuching, perhaps for the World Rainforest Music Festival, and we'll make it up to you. To ensure that you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee.

If we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know when planning your next visit to Kuching.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Spent three nights here for a short anniversary trip. Had no time to plan and adventure off to some foreign land. So, why not checking in somewhere really close to home? (20 mins drive). The hotel is simple, nothing too fancy but essentially it feels very ethnic. Given it's location in Sarawak, the hotel embraces a lot of local identity in its deco. Kudos to that. But, like what I said, never judge me in my crocs... Was put in an executive suite , thus had access to the executive lounge. The first time I entered the lounge, without my corporate-ish yuppie husband, the receptionist literally stared at me in disbelief. (What the heck is this crocs loving woman doing here)... She was unfriendly and questioned where I was from, which room and the name of the guest . Normal circumstances its either just the room number or no question asked. I felt like I was being interrogated by my fellow locals. I was indeed dismayed plus the food served was bad and staled! As soon as my husband entered, her treatment changed in a blink of an eye... Sad because I did like the hotel but due to one rotten apple, it tainted my experience of having a local holiday. I had never received such treatment abroad even when I'm in my crocs or any cheap looking flip flops. such discrimination just had to happen in my own backyard! Gentle reminder: A nice affordable place but to be treated like a queen in the executive lounge, dress Poshly!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Radinsri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Radinsri

Thank you for taking your time to let us know how we can always improve.

Rest assured, your invaluable feedback has been shared with the relevant departments for service improvement, and we apologise for a less-than-perfect experience.

We hope you will stay with us again on your next trip to Kuching, and we'll make it up to you. To ensure that you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee.

If we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know when planning your next visit to Kuching.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised with this hotel and was told it was newly renovated when I stayed. The rooms are clean, spacious and nicely decorated. The lobby was rather odd though, as it's not located at the main entrance and you will need to turn right and walk for about 50m to reach the main lobby. The only thing to point out was that the air-con was crazily cold at night and depending on individuals this may and may not be a plus point.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Calvin Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Calvin Y

Thank you for your review and recommendation.

We are pleased that you have had a great stay with us, and we look forward to having you back again.

Rest assured, we have shared your feedback with our team for continuous service improvement.

To ensure you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know when planning your next visit to Kuching, perhaps for the World Rainforest Music Festival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.1 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
0.3 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#7 of 55 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,909 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#5 of 55 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Margherita Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Margherita Hotel

Property: Grand Margherita Hotel
Address: Jalan Tunku Abdul Rahman | P.O. Box 2362, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Margherita Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the city's business, entertainment and shopping district, the hotel offers free WiFi and is 20 minutes drive from the Kuching International Airport. Grand Margherita Hotel is adjacent to the Sarawak Plaza Shopping Complex and the Sarawak Economic Development Corporation Building. Its sister hotel, the Riverside Majestic, is located just across the road. With tourist attractions such as the Kuching Waterfront, Chinese Museum, Tua Pek Kong Chinese Temple, Fort Margherita and Main Bazaar nearby, Grand Margherita Hotel certainly has the best location in the city for business or leisure. Grand Margherita Hotel is classified as Green Hotel by the Ministry of Tourism and Culture Malaysia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Grand Margherita Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Margherita Hotel Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing