We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Margherita Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$47
$46
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$53
$40
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
$63
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
$54
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$39
$31
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Basaga Holiday Residences(Kuching)(Great Value!)
$28
$20
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Kuching(Kuching)
$59
$51
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$97
$70
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$35
$32
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (660)
Filter reviews
660 results
Traveler rating
142
281
150
49
38
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
142
281
150
49
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverholiday innsarawak plazarenovated roomcat statuewalking distancetun jugahthe executive loungetop spotwater frontcoffee housea river view roomhotel is situatedlaksa sarawakstrategic locationnon smokingseafood
Filter
Updating list...
451 - 456 of 660 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I have been here when its name is Holiday Inn.
Now has change to New Name.
Service a bit downgrade, complaint to Manager and he received the comment with good reaction, hope they can improve more.

Recommend to stay if want clean and affordable price which similar class of hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and recommendation and we look forward to having you stay with us again.

Rest assured, your invaluable feedback has been shared with the team for service improvement.

To ensure that you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know when planning your next visit to Kuching.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I stayed here form 3 nights and it was just average. However, the breakfast was good and the location of this hotels is convenient. Shopping malls are just 2 to 3 minutes walk. The staff are just average and some could not speak fluent english. The pool is small with so many people using it,.

Room Tip: You may wanna include breakfast when booking as not many places for breakfast around the hotel.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iskhandar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to let us know how we can always improve.

Rest assured, your invaluable feedback has been shared with the relevant departments for service improvement.

We are pleased that you have had a pleasant stay and look forward to having you back again.

To ensure that you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know when planning your next visit to Kuching.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We are regular in spending our weekends in the local hotels in Kuching. So far we rated Grand Margherita as the most 'friendlier' hotel in town. Their service staff are helpful and courteous. We want to especially say a 'big thank you' to the ladies at the 5th Floor executive floor. They are a bunch of very committed staff and serve us with their cheerful smiles.

Room Tip: Pay a little bit more for comfort and sevice for a room on the executive floor( 5th Floor).
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CityFolks777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and recommendation and we have forwarded your compliments to the 'ladies on the 5th floor executive floor'.

We are pleased that you had enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to having you stay with us again.

To ensure that you continue to get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee.

If we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know when planning your next visit to Kuching.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Stayed there in June for 2 nights. The building is an old building (perhaps 30+ years) which used to house Holiday Inn. But management was changed and they did renovations to the rooms only (I stayed in the building where the reception was and was not sure about the other building's room).

Check-in was smooth. Thought we asked for a higher floor and none smoking but we were put on the 1st floor (which is a NO NO NO NO NO NO as we found out that the lounge/bar was just right below the room and for light sleepers, you'll be in for a sleepless nights as music was banging out L.O.U.D that the rooms feels like shaking!). So we asked for a change of room which they changed immediately (but was very inconvenience for us since we have young children with us).

We were put in a higher floor at 5th floor (which seems to be the same style of room but strangely with better amenities like toothbrush and etc.).

Room size we ok. Around 30+ square meter and can fit a family of 2 adults and 2 children. Clean and comfortable. We had river facing room. Location wise was ok as well. Walking distance to shopping malls and hawker food center and places of interest.

Breakfast is surprisingly quite good with many choices (4 star here).

Overall, I would rate it as around 3 star and would recommend to friends.

Room Tip: Get the higher room!!
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeaShellsManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to let us know how we can always improve and we apologise for the inconveniences caused.

Rest assured, your invaluable feedback has been shared with the relevant departments for service improvement.

We are pleased that you and your family have enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having you back again.

To ensure that you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know when planning your next visit to Kuching.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

I did get a special rate (about $70 USD a night includiing a fab buffet breakfast, so maybe that's why I'm so enthusiastic!) but The Grand Margherita was truly grand for this visitor. It is truly centrally located - it 'starts' the river boardwalk. I had a pleasant and spacious room with a glorious river view. Staff were attentive and helpful. Everything in the room worked fine - and even already eating breakfast at the hotel, I often popped in for dinner - the chefs are excellent. Plus a swimming pool, an on-site spa that was also very good. Helpful front desk for ANYTHING you needed. Who could ask for more? (Well, it's not a boutique-y hotel - I think it used to be a Holiday Inn and definitely looks like one. But with all the other positives, who cares?)

Room Tip: river view
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ConnieDalian_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and recommendation. We are pleased that you had enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you stay with us again.

To ensure that you continue to get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee.

If we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know when planning your next visit to Kuching.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews