We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Margherita Kuching”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Margherita Hotel
Ranked #9 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
auckland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Grand Margherita Kuching”
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Good value for money and the service was excellent.Staff tried their best to help you.Buffet Breakfast was excellent.Will return again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slateman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfreedaNawawi, Marketing & Communications Officer at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2011
Dear Slateman,

Thank you for your comment on your recent stay with us.
We are truly delighted that you had enjoyed each interaction that you had with our staff and we are certainly glad that you loved our breakfast selections.
It is our pleasure to be a part of your trip and we hope that we would still be your choice the next time you come to our humble city of Kuching.

Till next time,
Afreeda Nawawi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    244
    134
    46
    33
See reviews for
141
158
39
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Stayed in a Twin Room at Room 417 from 28 Sep to 30 Sep 11 with a colleague visiting our Kuching's branch office. Room is ok except woken up middle of sleep during the 2 nights when the temperature gets higher as the hotel's air-conditioners are temporarily switched off during the night.

Checked-out after a hearty breakfast (very good spread) after the 2nd night, unfortunately left behind my handphone charger at the bedside table in the room. Called the hotel and thankfully the housekeeping had the item with them. Had to trouble my branch colleague to pick it up for me before rushing to the airport. However, after collecting the charger, then it occurred to me that I had also left my Reader's Digest magazine on the same table! If only the housekeeping had returned it together with the charger without me having to ask for it. Maybe they thought that the magazine is to be discarded. Not even halfway through it and it's the brand new Oct issue! Sigh! Anyway, at least I got my charger back. Thanks.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felicia2011_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfreedaNawawi, Marketing & Communications Officer at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
Dear Felicia2011_11

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed the room and the breakfast spread.

The air conditioning interruption was due to our improvement efforts on the hotel's chiller unit. Rest assure that we have taken into considerations all aspects to ensure that the interruptions remains at most minimal.

We are certainly delighted that you're satisfied with our staff's hospitality. We hope to see you again next time!

Take care,

Afreeda Nawawi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Stayed at this hotel from Sept 15 to Sept 18, 2011 for 3 nights, Superior Twin room with riverview.

The motto of Grand Margherita Hotel is "Try Us, You'll Love It", really, the hotel did not disappointed us!!

The hotel is situated in the heart of the city and is the only hotel located at the riverfront with great view. Adjacent to it is Sarawak Plaza Shopping Complex and the sister hotel, Riverside Majestic Hotel is just across the road with shopping mall and cineplex.

The room is cosy, clean and comfortable. Breakfast has a great selection for Western and Asian foods. Staff are friendly and efficient too.

"Try Grand Margherita Hotel, You'll Love It"....

Love it.....we will come back again.

Room Tip: Ask for Superior room with riverview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mylittlesue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfreedaNawawi, Marketing & Communications Officer at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2011
Dear mylittlesue,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on your stay with us.
We are delighted that you truly enjoy the mesmerizing river view from your hotel room and our breakfast selections.

May I also add that apart from Sarawak Plaza Shopping Complex, there's also Tun Jugah Shopping Mall & Riverside Shopping Complex just across the road and also multiple convenience/sundry shops around.

Anyway, we are truly glad to be a part of your wonderful trip here. Thanks again for your comments. We look forward to have you stay with us again on your next trip to Kuching, Sarawak.

Until next time,
Afreeda Nawawi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

i have stayed for a week for business purpose. the front desk was friendly, the room is smelly so i asked to change the room. the breakfast is very much the same everyday.. location is perfect, just next to mall and near to waterfront

Room Tip: ask for room that does not connected.. no sound proof
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yaya1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcom_office, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2011
Dear yaya1988,

Thank you for taking time to write a review on your recent stay with Grand Margherita.

We are glad to be the preferred hotel for your business trip to Kuching. On your comments about the room, we would usually advise guests that are sensitive to the smell of cigarette to choose a room on non-smoking floor. Do indicate this the next time you're staying with us so our reservation can allocate a non-smoking room for you.

As for the breakfast spread, changes are made on rotation on the different sections of the buffet daily. I do hope you get to try the varieties of local desserts on rotation daily apart from the ala minute dishes at the live cooking station.

We are located close to not just one but 4 shopping complexes with one just adjacent to the hotel. Apart from that, we are also within walking distance from many tourist attractions including the Kuching Waterfront, Tua Pek Kong temple as well as Main Bazaar. In fact, the Sarawak Regatta is actually ongoing as I write this review and is one of the grand events that you're able to witness right from your hotel room (river fronting rooms) and it happens annually in September.

That said, thanks again for your comments. We look forward to have you stay with us again on your next trip to Kuching, Sarawak.

Best Regards,
Eileen Chong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

First thing i would like to warn future traveller is Grand Margherita Hotel severely LACK of parking. As me & my wife driving from Miri to Kuching, we were tired already so decided to try Grand Margherita Hotel.

It took me 5 turn then can get parking. Very hassle. Second thing that us dont like is the smell of the cigarette smoke encompass the whole hotel. Im not a smoker so this really put me off. The room also left alot to be desired....ragged furniture, again the smell of smoke & so on.

At least the only thing i like about this hotel is the staff is helpful & keen on assisting the guest. The food not bad also. The last thing i can say is i HOPE margherita improve all the flaw i mention above if not the "4 Star Class" might as well become 3 instead.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sebastian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcom_office, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2011
Dear Sebastian C,

First and foremost, thank you for taking time to write a review about Grand Margherita.

We understand your frustration on the difficulty in locating a parking spot on the day that you checked in. It could be one of those days when we have a grand event going on at the hotel where parking spots are snatched up fast. Alternately, parking is also available at the Sarawak Plaza Shopping Complex just a stone's throw away.

For guest who are sensitive to the smell of cigarette smoke, we would recommend taking up a room at our non-smoking floor instead. For our lobby, to ensure a wonderful first impression, we have already installed a centralized air-freshener which periodically emits a wonderful aroma that is pleasant but not overpowering.

We are truly delighted that you had enjoyed each interactiosn that you had with our staff. it is our pleasure to be part of your trip to Kuching and we hope that for your next trip staying with us, you would have an even more enjoyable time. By the way, do ask our restaurant captain to recommend some of the chef's specialty (on your next trip). For coffee house, we are well known for some of the local delicacies such as the Hainanese Chicken Rice as well as the Oxtail Curry, etc.

Take care and see you soon

Eileen Chong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuching hotels

Gold Coast, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Grand Margharita was in the best location.Fabulous hotel,great views of river,breakfast was big selection of western and Asian food.Rooms modern with a good bathroom.We ate most other meals around town.The best eating spot only open at night was Top Spot the most amazing selection of fresh seafood, pick your seafood and they cook to your requirements-we were in foodie heaven paradise,and the cost of Mudcrab would make any Aussie envious.Kuching was the most Magical place so clean and the selection of shopping was fabulous.It was trulely a great holiday destination-and those mighty Orangutangs that was the sole reason for our visit to Kuching

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank otanghunters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcom_office, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2011
Dear otanghunters,

Thanks for your feedback on your recent stay with us. Glad you enjoyed not only the wonderful river view ( hope you managed to catch the sunset too!) but also the breakfast spread. Our Executive Chef Ricky Kong is the one to thank for continuously enhancing the selections for the breakfast and with the recent add of local 'kuih muih' (cakes & pastries), the spread just got much better. Hope you got to try the noodles and 'laksa' as well as nothing beats a piping hot soupy noodle dish on a cold morning.

As a fellow food enthusiast, I would also like to recommend that you try some of our chef's specials in the hotel the next time you're here.. Those items are so good that even us hoteliers cannot seem to get tired of having so often.

Anyway, glad you enjoyed your Kuching experience and we are truly glad to be a part of your wonderful trip here.

See you soon.

Eileen Chong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Formerly the Kuching Holiday Inn, this hotel is now the Grand Margherita. After its revamp, the result is a modern property with a bright lobby and contemporary furniture. The river view room has comfy beds, flat screen tv, fridge, wardrobe, desk, armchair, side table and large bathroom with shower and bathtub, wash basin and toilet bowl. We found it ideal and suitable for a relaxing stay over three nights.
The buffet breakfast offers a wide spread of hot and cold dishes including local and western items such as Sarawak lakes, dim sum, roti chanai, nasi lemak, porridge with condiments, eggs cooked to order, sausages, breads, Danish pastry, cereals, fresh fruit, yogurt,
The location is behind Sarawak Plaza, a shopping mall. Opposite is the Tun Jugah Centre, another mall. Food outlets and shops are all nearby. Shopping for gifts and souvenirs is good at Main Bazaar about 5 minutes walk away.

Room Tip: The river front room is worth paying extra for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pkfong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcom_office, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2011
Dear pkfong,

Thanks for your feedback about your recent stay at Grand Margherita!

I couldn't agree more to your comments but I would just like to add that due to your spellcheck, it should be Sarawak Laksa (instead of Sarawak Lakes) and yes, that is one dish best served ala minute, which is why we insist on having it as part of our show kitchen offerings for breakfast. We hope you got to try the Sarawak Kek Lapis as well.

May I also add that apart from Sarawak Plaza Shopping Complex and Tun Jugah Shopping Mall, there's also Riverside Shopping Complex just across the road and also multiple convenience/sundry shops around. For those who are in a rush and could not make it to Main Bazaar to pickup souvenirs, the bookstore just next to the hotel's main entrance offers a selection of souvenirs as well.

By the way, should your next trip falls during the Sarawak Regatta season, an annual boat race that attracts thousands from near and far, the riverview room would offer the most exclusive view of the race.

Once again, thanks for taking time to post a review on your stay with us. Hope to see you soon.

Eileen Chong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.1 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,539 reviews
0.3 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#6 of 55 in Kuching
1,977 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
0.6 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#4 of 55 in Kuching
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Margherita Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Margherita Hotel

Property: Grand Margherita Hotel
Address: Jalan Tunku Abdul Rahman | P.O. Box 2362, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Margherita Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the city's business, entertainment and shopping district, the hotel offers free WiFi and is 20 minutes drive from the Kuching International Airport. Grand Margherita Hotel is adjacent to the Sarawak Plaza Shopping Complex and the Sarawak Economic Development Corporation Building. Its sister hotel, the Riverside Majestic, is located just across the road. With tourist attractions such as the Kuching Waterfront, Chinese Museum, Tua Pek Kong Chinese Temple, Fort Margherita and Main Bazaar nearby, Grand Margherita Hotel certainly has the best location in the city for business or leisure. Grand Margherita Hotel is classified as Green Hotel by the Ministry of Tourism and Culture Malaysia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Margherita Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Margherita Hotel Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing