We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel, so very close to being a really good hotel”
Review of Pullman Kuching

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pullman Kuching
Ranked #6 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A good hotel, so very close to being a really good hotel”
Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

My comments echo many of those below so, in summary :
Upgrade to the club floor - it's really worth it. Food is plentiful, if monotonous, with some curious options on offer - roast beef with pepper sauce at breakfast??
Views are spectacular and the lounge is more than spacious. Ask for a room on level 22 - I had one on 23 and there were some disturbing 'tardis-like' noises (think Dr. Who) caused by, I assume, plant equipment on the roof.
Club floor staff friendly but stingy; you will have to chase up that second cup of coffee in the morning, and the second (and third) glass of wine at cocktails.
Wifi free on the club floors, fast and consistent.
Nowhere near enough international TV options.
A/C tricky to set, and reset, and reset. Access cards problematic.
I had an issue at the Spa, which was dealt with professionally and with no-fuss, but I'd recommend skipping it, it is not particularly special. Gym is quite good.
Cat City Holidays, located in the lobby, arranged a couple of great day tours.
I'm not the resort type, so if I do come back to Kuching, I'd probably stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Dalbhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanKuching, Manager at Pullman Kuching, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Dalbhat,

Thank you for your comments on Pullman Kuching and we really appreciate your kind words about the view from our Hotel, the WiFi services and a wide spread of food served at our restaurant.

My sincere apologies on the noises that came from the ceiling of your room. We shall look into the matter pertaining the noise in the room and to rectify it before releasing the room for other guests to stay in.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Pullman Kuching on your next visit to Kuching, Sarawak.

Thank you and have a wonderful day.
With warm regards,
Borhan Bin Salleh
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,954 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    715
    765
    311
    100
    63
See reviews for
440
607
175
435
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Busselton WA
Level Contributor
197 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

There was a lot to like here..the Club Room was big, clean with a massive bathroom..all with superb views over an ever changing Kuching skyline. Bed, amenities were great, fresh fluffy towels...no DVD...but overall pretty damn good. One day they just forgot to "makeup" our room...all very apologetic. It was just lacking in spirit.
The Club...setting was wonderful, Near as be damned to 360 degree views from the spacious lounge.area, great seating open plan, wide variety of food, tasty...but, something was wrong. Big bar area, but, most came tepid from an esky!! Really!!! What...can't afford a fridge???
Minimal staffing, which meant long drink delays and they watched and subsequently allowed unsupervised kids in the Lounge to "man handle" the food, which sent me into orbit!! The parents involved didn't seem to mind until confronted...then were affronted. Teach your kid to use the tongs...it really isn't too much to ask.
Set above a very underwhelming Shopping Centre...barely 1/3 full...but, logistically for us was good walking distance to restaurants, the Kuching Waterfront and Chinatown area.
Maybe I am picky...but the whole set up had the capacity to WOW, but delivered a ho hum...sadly. I couldn't give it an average, and I would like to stay here again...as there was a lot to like in theory.

Room Tip: Club Rooms are worth the $$
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanKuching, Manager at Pullman Kuching, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear GaryD,

Thank you for your comments on your previous stay with us at Pullman Kuching. Your comments is very important to us as it would give us a clearer picture of what and how to improve our services for our guests.

Rest assure that we will look into the matter pertaining our staffing at the Club Floor, as well as the housekeeping issue, whereby our maids forgotten to make-up your room during one of the days of your stay.

We hope you would come back to Kuching and stay with us again in the future, and we hope that your next visit to Pullman Kuching would be better than your previous one.

Thank you.
With warm regards,
Borhan Bin Salleh
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Stay in this hotel for a night, price is about the same as neighbor Hilton but is newer. Wi-Fi is fast and room is big. Staff are friendly, had breakfast at the lounge instead of the ground floor as I like the quiet enviroment but ground floor have more selection.

Room Tip: If budget allow choose the executive room, high floor big room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maqius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanKuching, Manager at Pullman Kuching, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear maqius,

Thank you very much for your amazing review on Pullman Kuching. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we really hope you would stay with us again on your next visit to Kuching, Sarawak.

Once again, thank you and have a great day.
With warm regards,
Borhan Bin Salleh
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We had booked a deluxe room. The interior is nice, and in particular the bathroom is very large, with separate bathtub and shower. Even though we were on one of the lowest floors, our view was great.

The location is very good, on a small hill, just a short walk to the riverfront. A couple of convenience stores and grocery shops are also nearby. In fact, the hotel sits on top of a mall with a number of shops and restaurants inside.

The pool is alright (there's a children's area too), but the water is very cold (even the jaccuzzi!), so it's only useful for vigorous swimming. Unfortunately the area completely lacks resort style, it feels more like an indoor pool because it is surrounded by walls.

The breakfast buffet is huge, with a large selection from different cuisines. The only minor criticism is that almost all the items are the same every day, with hardly any variation. Waiters were always quick to bring us a baby chair.

Reception and service was friendly, but sometimes a bit slow to respond to requests.

The elevators are a the most annoying part of the hotel - you're supposed to slide your room card before you can press a button, but the reader doesn't work half the time, so we were often riding the elevators up and down before we finally managed to select our floor...

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SW-TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanKuching, Manager at Pullman Kuching, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear SW-TA,

Thank you for your wonderful review and please accept my sincere apologies for some of the shortcomings that you experienced during your stay. We are currently in the process of rectifying our elevator system to see if the problem rests in the card reader or the magnatic strip on the key card itself. Rest assure that we are doing our level best to rectify this issue.

Nonetheless, i have forwarded your comments concerning to our Jaccuzzi pool being too cold to our engineering crew to have a look at it, as well as to our friendly Chef to change the varieties for the breakfast spread at our Puzzle Restaurant.

We really hope you would visit us again at Pullman Kuching and we look forward to serving you again soon.

Thank you and have a great day.
With warm regards,
Borhan Bin Salleh
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somewhere
Level Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Only 2 business hotels in town that i felt deserve recognition in this city. Expensive but comfortable. Suited for business crowd and not big groups as it may upset the quietness of the place. Not as swanky as hilton but front line staff are accommodating. I love the facilities as they are adequate after a long tiring day. I must comment that the handsome guy at the reception on evening shift is witty and the supervisor at the cafe has good customer service skill. It is a welcoming hotel with a nice comfy room.better if it has a spa scent.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank cadallaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanKuching, Manager at Pullman Kuching, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear cadallaca,

Thank you for the wonderful review on Pullman Kuching and we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I will definitely pass on your kind praises to our Front Office personnel as well as the supervisor at our Cafe.

We hope you would come and visit us again at Pullman Kuching.

Thank you and have a wonderful day.
With warm regards,
Borhan Bin Salleh
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a couple of nights after a rainforest visit.
As we had read previous reviews we upgraded as recommended to the executive floor. It really is worth it, cocktail hour was very pleasant watching the sun go down over the city.
Our room was very spacious with lots of amenities, you can tell they are geared up for business travellers rather than tourists.
We used the pool a lot, plenty of towels & places to sit, worth it even in the warm rain under cover.
We ate at 'Top Spot' twice, the food is so fresh, you can choose the size or number of fish and we found the staff very helpful advising us on vegetables and methods of cooking. The beer, bought & paid for separately is deliciously cold. You can look down on the restaurant from the 22nd floor of the hotel.
We also tried to book a massage at the hotel with their special offer but there were no spaces, however there is a place called Mirage just down the road that is excellent, a body polish & massage for two lasting well over two hours was 180MR each. They were very professional.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Heathernurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanKuching, Manager at Pullman Kuching, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Heathernurse,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Pullman Kuching.

At Pullman, we strive hard to ensure the satisfaction of every guest and your review is very important to us.

We sincerely hope you would come back to stay with us again and looking forward to serving you again soon.

Best regards,
Borhan Bin Salleh
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,485 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
0.2 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#5 of 55 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.4 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kuching
3.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Kuching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Kuching

Property: Pullman Kuching
Address: No. 1A Jalan Mathies, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kuching
#3 Business Hotel in Kuching
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
#3 Family Hotel in Kuching
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Kuching 5*
Number of rooms: 389
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing tall in the heart of Kuching City on top of Mathies Hill, Pullman Kuching offers luxury 5-star comfort with contemporary features and a stunning panoramic view of the Sarawak River. An essential address for get-togethers with outstanding facilities right in the city's golden triangle, the cosmopolitan and stylish Pullman Kuching has been welcoming international guests with its astounding hospitality since its inception in 2010. The hotel is adjacent to a two storey city life-style shopping centre "Hills Shopping Mall" and within walking distance to commercial centre and city attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Pullman Kuching reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Kuching Hotel Kuching
Pullman Kuching Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing