We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, but a real lack of character.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pullman Kuching

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pullman Kuching
Ranked #6 of 54 Hotels in Kuching
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, but a real lack of character.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

Nice enough place to stay. Rooms are nice, clean, large and comfortable. Had to pay for Wi-fi, not really impressed with this, especially seeing that we could hardly log on and when we did, we got thrown off again. Told reception: interest value NIL, "oh we are changing the system". thought about roller skating in the lobby, so much room and tiles. Would have been nice to have an area for sitting and waiting for you tour guide instead of going to the side of the hotel. Food at breakfast was ordinary and cold. Why can't any hotel get it right and give you hot food, it is so difficult to invent something that keeps food hot. It really bothers me. Food at the Cafe very ordinary, again informed reception when we were leaving, well they did ask, agian reaction NIL.
Hotel good to stay at due to location and comfort and yes would stay again, but with all the wonderful cafes, especially Top Stop, (on top of the car park) and Brookes cafe on the water front I would not worry about food quality as they were great. Cafe No 25 you were the best!
They are building across the road, and no mention of this when we signed in. the works can be heard 15 floors up by the way.

Room Tip: the higher the better, veiws were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 883kathye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanKuching, Manager at Pullman Kuching, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear 883kathye,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Pullman Kuching. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Pullman, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Borhan Bin Salleh
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    704
    758
    309
    98
    62
See reviews for
436
600
171
428
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Putrajaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

Since 2011, Pullman has been my only choice when staying in Kuching, Sarawak. Location is perfect in many sense. From 13th floor and above, the view of this hotel on either side regardless of room category, will not disappoint you. My most recent stay was during the New Year holidays. The overall hotel premises still live up to its high benchmark, the deluxe room still immaculately maintained with its modern settings. I continue to enjoy the pool and fitness facilities. Breakfast spread offered better and tastier choices. A particular concierge addresses me by my name. That's how personal things have evolved between Pullman Kuching and me over the years. But like they said, taking things for granted is the mother of all screw-ups. I have noticed the lowered standards of the reception services beginning 2013, with mostly new faces at the counter. Familiar personnel that provided excellent welcoming services presumably have moved on for the better. Still, this decline in reception standards is well-compensated by many other aspects of the hotel service. I finally paid the price of living on the past comforting experience of Pullman Kuching, when during the most recent stay, I was not able to make claims on the hotel bill. For reasons best known to the hotel management, the bill was provided on a plain piece of paper with absolutely no indication that it came from Pullman. I have since called reception 3 times, requesting the re-issuing of the bill with the Pullman letterhead, which was always the case previously. This must have been a very difficult task for the hotel, as I have yet to receive it via my email despite the assurance given by the same male voice who answered the calls. Despite this 'small matter', this recent episode leaves me the impression that the present management renders the need of a guest as insignificant once he/she checks out. Perhaps its time to venture something new on my next travel to Kuching. I would still recommend this hotel to those travelling to Kuching, with a friendly reminder to not take the professionalisme of the reception services for granted.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank DendangPerantau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanKuching, Manager at Pullman Kuching, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear DendangPerantau,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Pullman Kuching. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Pullman, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Borhan Bin Salleh
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

The rooms here are nice and spacious and well appointed. Good pool area for a city hotel and great gym. Considering the hotel is still fairly new, it's not ageing well and will be in need of a little care and maintenance. The service quality of the staff is variable and in some cases poor, reflecting poor training and customer service (on the whole as a couple people were great). If I was staying at a local run hotel this would be OK, but not from an international standard hotel. The staff in the restaurant were really bad in particular in comparison to the front desk that were generally good. Rooms had great views

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Margie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanKuching, Manager at Pullman Kuching, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear Margie F,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Pullman Kuching.

At Pullman, we strive hard to ensure the satisfaction of every guest and your review is very important to us.

We sincerely hope you would come back to stay with us again and looking forward to serving you again soon.

Best regards,
Borhan Bin Salleh
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

New hotel, new facility, located right downtown Kuching. The service staff are friendly and being able to access the executive lounge with all the amenities there is great! Will definitely stay there again.



  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank ffnfong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanKuching, Manager at Pullman Kuching, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear ffnfong,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Pullman Kuching.

At Pullman, we strive hard to ensure the satisfaction of every guest and your review is very important to us.

We sincerely hope you would come back to stay with us again and looking forward to serving you again soon.

Best regards,
Borhan Bin Salleh
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timbuktu, Mali
Level Contributor
67 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

Had an excellent 4 nights at the Pullman Kuching over New Year.

The hotel towers over the city so the views are spectacular from the higher floors. Refurbished only a year or so ago, the common areas and rooms are very fresh and modern, especially compared to the dated and somewhat-stuffy Hilton. The rooms are large by any standard and with large windows they feel light and airy. Huge beds (not as comfortable as Marriotts but not far off), good lighting, separate bath right against the window overlooking the river, sofa and work desk.

Location is ideal - on a hill just a few minutes walk from the river and in between the lively restaurant/bar district and the quieter riverside promenade.

As a platinum member I was given executive lounge access and I'd echo the comments about choosing the breakfast in the main restaurant over the lounge - the selection in the main restaurant is excellent with many choices to satisfy all tastes, and they also have a laksa and omellete chef. The exec lounge on the top floor is one of the largest I've seen and includes a business centre with a few PCs and printers. The evening lounge cocktails were worth attending, although the alcohol selection wasn't self-service and was slightly more limited than many others, most likely because alcohol isn't quite as central to Malaysian culture as it is in Western countries. The selection of hot and cold food was very good and again the views from the top floor as night descends were worth seeing.

Service was not quite as polished as 5-stars but the staff were genuinely helpful and keen to do their best to make your stay memorable, again something I think comes with Sarawak culture. Often in executive lounges you feel that staff are required to feign an interest in the guests, but not here. I was very impressed that a faulty air conditioner in my room at 11pm on New Years Eve was fixed within 20 minutes despite the strain the staff were under in coping with the huge influx of people for the countdown parties.

Overall this hotel is outstanding value given it's the top brand in the Accor chain. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Kuching.

Room Tip: Higher floors facing the Astana have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Up1ntheair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanKuching, Manager at Pullman Kuching, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear Up1ntheair,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Pullman Kuching.

At Pullman, we strive hard to ensure the satisfaction of every guest and your review is very important to us.

We sincerely hope you would come back to stay with us again and looking forward to serving you again soon.

Best regards,
Borhan Bin Salleh
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JB
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

We were at Pullman Kuching attending a wedding dinner, hence decided to stay for a few nights. We were greeted by friendly staff at the reception counter which made checking-in a breeze, the room was fine with a pretty good, unobstructed view. As the times we stayed there were peak period for the hotel (crossing over New Year's Day), problems started the next day. First it was the key card, during our stay, we had to change our key cards 5 times, imagine a successful access to the lift, only to find yourself stuck in front of your room unable to get in, we even encountered a queue at the reception, all in need for new key cards. We were only told at the 5th times that their key cards are super sensitive & cannot be placed near any mobile phones. As this is a family event, our other family members & relatives started arriving at the hotel, two were stucked at the reception for over an hour as their names could not be found. We gave the duty manager the name & contact numbers of the travel agents where reservations were made & paid for from overseas, yet we faced repeated questionings on where, how & when were reservations made. She should have taken the initiatives to contact the overseas agents for further clarifications but instead, wasted times asking for our verifications over & over again. Thirdly, another relative checked in the hotel only to find the room reeked heavily of cigarettes smell (smoking floor), the hotel promised another room in an hour yet it took repeated calls after two hours to finally get it. Our observations showed us that the hotel has problem handling large crowds and there are a lacking of manpower during super peak periods, e.g. the plates were pilling up on the guests' tables during breakfast times, we empathized with the servers as they were scrambling to clean the tables while the front desk kept sending in guests for breakfast when tables aren't even ready. I hope the management team will do something about the above, including the key card system, instead of having your team of staff apologizing repeatedly to the guests everyday. This is a lovely hotel with good strategic location, we really hope our next experience at the Pullman will be a different one.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparks009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanKuching, Manager at Pullman Kuching, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear Sparks009,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Pullman Kuching. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Pullman, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Borhan Bin Salleh
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 54 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,456 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
0.2 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#5 of 54 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.4 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 54 in Kuching
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#10 of 54 in Kuching
3.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Kuching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Kuching

Property: Pullman Kuching
Address: No. 1A Jalan Mathies, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kuching
#3 Family Hotel in Kuching
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
#3 Business Hotel in Kuching
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Kuching 5*
Number of rooms: 389
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing tall in the heart of Kuching City on top of Mathies Hill, Pullman Kuching offers luxury 5-star comfort with contemporary features and a stunning panoramic view of the Sarawak River. An essential address for get-togethers with outstanding facilities right in the city's golden triangle, the cosmopolitan and stylish Pullman Kuching has been welcoming international guests with its astounding hospitality since its inception in 2010. The hotel is adjacent to a two storey city life-style shopping centre "Hills Shopping Mall" and within walking distance to commercial centre and city attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, ACCOR, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pullman Kuching reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Kuching Hotel Kuching
Pullman Kuching Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing