We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible service”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Pullman Kuching

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pullman Kuching
Ranked #6 of 54 Hotels in Kuching
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Terrible service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

I am really upset of how Pullman Kuching is treating their customers. The previous trip I stayed here, everything is alright. This time, terrible.

First, we called Housekeeping few times to get extra towel but nobody answer. Waited for a few minutes and then try to call again but to no avail. We had to call the reception to get towels. This is ridiculous. You should have somebody staying in for Housekeeping purposes.

Second, when we entered the car park, pressed the button on the ticket machine and no ticket was issued. Tried to get help by pressing the intercom but guess what? Nobody answer. Honked a few times but nobody turned up. Regretfully, we had to reverse all the way up and headed to the grand entrance and get the attention of the reception. They called the carpark management to get this sorted out and we were requested to again head to the carpark. We did the same thing, pressed the button, no ticket and nobody answered the intercom. I felt stupid. For such a prestigious hotel, with this kind of service. After honking few times, then security turned up. I thought security was supposed to be on watch 24 hours.

I hope Pullman Kuching do something about their services to customers. If this is to continue, I don't think I'll be coming back again to Pullman. This experience surely tarnished Pullman's credibility and name, at least to me and my family.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arilr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanKuching, General Manager at Pullman Kuching, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Arilr, Warmest Greetings from Pullman Kuching! I would like to thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are rest assured to review and notify the shortfall for future improvements. I’m looking forward to welcoming you back to Pullman Kuching.

Should you need any further enquiries, do drop an email to me at eric.tan@accor.com.

Best wishes to you!

Regards, Eric Tan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    704
    758
    309
    98
    62
See reviews for
436
600
171
428
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

I booked it for a family 5 day stay after reading excellent reviews, but really guys this is a disappointing experience, mostly because the hotel staff absolutely lack attention to detail. We got a superior room but it was dusty in the corners and under the bed, the sofa was dirty and the shampoo bottles were half full, there is no wifi in the rooms, the fridge not working, not enough towels. Its the little things that make all the difference, especially when you have a small child and tend to spend more time in the hotel room. The breakfast isn't great either, the coffee is of low quality, limited selection of fresh and healthy choices. Plates are dirty, service slow. On the positive side, staff at reception is friendly, the hotel is new and spacious, the swimming pool is of a good size. Hotel location is convenient. Its a good stay for a couple of days if you have a full itinerary and do not need to use the hotel extensively. The hotel hosts a good tour operator called Catcity holidays. The cocktails are pretty good, hubby says they help you forget about the room..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vic2riaVV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanKuching, General Manager at Pullman Kuching, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Vic2riaW, Warmest Greetings from Pullman Kuching! I would like to thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We rest assured to review and notify the shortfall for future improvements. I’m looking forward to welcoming you back to Pullman Kuching.

Should you need any further enquiries, do drop an email to me at eric.tan@accor.com.

Best wishes to you!

Regards, Eric Tan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

I stay 2 nights in this Pullman. seems recently Pullman brand expanded quite a bit in Asia. this will be my 3rd Pullman after 2 in Jakarta.
The hotel is spacious, including the room. it happen that we got the big room with big wall window with good view. love it. including a bath tub with a view. just make sure nobody watching you take a shower. fortunately the next building is quite far a part and not exactly opposite us.
Location is good, part of that, because Kuching downtown also not very big, so it easy to navigate by walking. I believe this is the most prominent hotel in Kuching currently as Hilton has been down and under maintenance for sometime.
we went to Kuching for World Music festival and seems many visitor also stay in this hotel.
adjacent to the hotel, there is a shopping mall, but not recomended. not much to see or shop. also expensive for Kuching standard. even the flip flop is much more ex than other places.
Lobby, spacious and so big, i am wondering what they can do with the spaces to make it better uitlized. concierge and reception, exceptionally good.
Food : so so. do not try the cafe in the lobby area. horrible food. and the cakes also, including the coffee. i think the hotel need to relook the quality.
housekeeping : excellent, a different choice of pillow is available to choose and they deliver exactly to the point. thanks.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank limwiehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanKuching, General Manager at Pullman Kuching, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear limweihan, Warmest Greetings from Pullman Kuching! I would like to thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We will review the shortfall for future improvements.

Should you need any further enquiries, do drop an email to me at eric.tan@accor.com.

Best wishes to you!

Regards, Eric Tan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

I would say this is just a 4 star hotel but with the 5 star pricing. I booked a Deluxe room in Pullman Kuching because of the Rainforest Music Festival. The location is awesome, walkable around the city. The room meet our expectation, spacious, amenities all provided but unfortunately no wifi in the room (only at lobby) which I give a negative point on this. Service in the restaurant was bad, i ordered a fish but wrongly served me a chicken. That was maybe a careless mistake which i'm ok with it but less than 2 minutes they served me a mushroom soup which i didnt ordered. I couldnt understand why they can make the mistake twice with only 2 tables occupied(included our table) in the restaurant. However, i will try stay in Hilton on my next visit and compare again as the price almost the same.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovediving123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanKuching, General Manager at Pullman Kuching, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear ilovediving123, Warmest Greetings from Pullman Kuching! I would like to thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We will review the shortfall for future improvements.

Should you need any further enquiries, do drop an email to me at eric.tan@accor.com.

Best wishes to you!

Regards, Eric Tan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

The Pullman deserves the generally good reviews it gets here. The rooms are well appointed and maintained, the staff attentive, and the facilities & food very good. The hotel's location is perfect, a short walk to the waterfront and restaurants. A tour office in the lobby helps with trips to the nearby tourist attractions.

I was in Kuching on business and made good use of the Pullman's business facilities, whilst my wife enjoyed the spa and pool. We will definitely stay at the Pullman again when we're next in town.

Room Tip: Both sides of the hotel enjoy river views, check for deals on the Executive Floors. Well worth the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglishmanAbroad63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanKuching, General Manager at Pullman Kuching, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear EnglishAbroad63, Warmest Greetings from Pullman Kuching! I would like thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I’m looking forward to welcoming you back to Pullman Kuching.

Should you need any further enquiries, do drop an email to me at eric.tan@accor.com.

Best wishes to you!

Regards, Eric Tan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

This was my second time at The Pullman Kuching, as I absolutely loved my first stay there 2 years ago.
Not only is the location good, but everything about the hotel is simply outstanding. The impeccable service, the luxurious room with it's gorgeous bathroom; the pool, gym and spa, and the inhouse bar and restaurants made my stay there tremendously enjoyable.
Will I return? Most definitely!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mimi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanKuching, General Manager at Pullman Kuching, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Mimi K, Warmest Greetings from Pullman Kuching! I would like thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I’m looking forward to welcoming you back to Pullman Kuching.

Should you need any further enquiries, do drop an email to me at eric.tan@accor.com.

Best wishes to you!

Regards, Eric Tan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Everything about the property is beyond perfection. You don't need to travel outside of the hotel for anything and you shouldn't because nothing else will really compare. This place is incredible. The room was luxurious. Heard no noise from outside. The staff was beyond excellent. We recommend this place and fully enjoyed our experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clairmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanKuching, General Manager at Pullman Kuching, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear clairmar, Warmest Greetings from Pullman Kuching! I would like thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I’m looking forward to welcoming you back to Pullman Kuching.

Should you need any further enquiries, do drop an email to me at eric.tan@accor.com.

Best wishes to you!

Regards, Eric Tan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 54 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,456 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
0.2 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#5 of 54 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.4 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 54 in Kuching
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#10 of 54 in Kuching
3.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Kuching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Kuching

Property: Pullman Kuching
Address: No. 1A Jalan Mathies, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kuching
#3 Family Hotel in Kuching
#3 Business Hotel in Kuching
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Kuching 5*
Number of rooms: 389
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing tall in the heart of Kuching City on top of Mathies Hill, Pullman Kuching offers luxury 5-star comfort with contemporary features and a stunning panoramic view of the Sarawak River. An essential address for get-togethers with outstanding facilities right in the city's golden triangle, the cosmopolitan and stylish Pullman Kuching has been welcoming international guests with its astounding hospitality since its inception in 2010. The hotel is adjacent to a two storey city life-style shopping centre "Hills Shopping Mall" and within walking distance to commercial centre and city attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pullman Kuching reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Kuching Hotel Kuching
Pullman Kuching Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing