We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location, great rooms and great service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pullman Kuching

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pullman Kuching
Ranked #7 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“great location, great rooms and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at the Pullman.
Lots of options for eating, a cocktail bar (don't order anything too fancy - they don't know how to mix them well) and a lovely pool area. My only criticism about that was that I'd wished the pool was open later in the evening for those hot nights.
I found hotels in Borneo to have a consistent standard of cleanliness that by Western standards wouldn't be acceptable (e.g., hair still in the shower, floors not vaccuumed). The Pullman was the *one* exception I found - cleanliness was top notch.
Beds were superbly comfortable and soft sheets, and they give you options for different sorts of pillows.
Keypad safe in the room.
My friend and I were upgraded to a family room and it was massive!
Excellent views from the higher floors looking down on the river and waterfront (depending on which room you get).
The travel agent in the hotel was great - got us what we needed.
Located really close to the waterfront and the Bazaar, but bear in mind it's a downhill walk to get there, and an uphill walk to get back!
Excellent buffet breakfast - lots of options for vegetarians and people from many different cultures.
There's a decent vegetarian Chinese restaurant literally just around the corner (ask reception staff for directions).
There's also a Chinese restaurant on site that has a great variety of vegetarian options - I thought it was a little over priced for the size and quality but worth a try.
Shopping Centre (lietrally) downstairs has ATMs and a lot of American label shops. Overpriced for Kuching, but cheaper than Australian prices.
DOWNSIDE - the wifi is only available in the lobby (as with every other hotel we stayed in in Borneo) but you have to get a new code every 12-24 hours from reception, which is really annoying.

Room Tip: If possible, ask for a view of the waterfront or river - it's fabulous at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KickingTheBucketList
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanKuching, General Manager at Pullman Kuching, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Valued Customer, Warmest Greetings from Pullman Kuching! I thank you for your feedbacks regarding your recent stay with us. Rest assured that we will review the shortfall for future improvements. I’m looking forward to welcoming you back to Pullman Kuching.

Should you need any further enquiries, do drop an email to me at eric.tan@accor.com.

Best wishes to you!

Regards, Eric Tan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,912 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    698
    748
    307
    98
    61
See reviews for
432
594
170
423
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

1 night stay in Superior Room during Christmas, the room is clean and tidy, toilet is big with bath tub. I even saw a yoga mat and dumbbells inside the cupboard, surprised! Receptionist greet us with smile from far away, unfortunately slow check-in due to unfamiliar procedure. Free parking in basement with strict security as you need to scan the room key card to access each floor. Maybe they should keep maintain the scanner frequently because we found difficulties during the scanning. Overall, I have a good sleep and I will come back again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mabeltws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanKuching, General Manager at Pullman Kuching, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Valued Customer, Warmest Greetings from Pullman Kuching! I thank you for your feedbacks regarding your recent stay with us. I’m looking forward to welcoming you back to Pullman Kuching.

Should you need any further enquiries, do drop an email to me at eric.tan@accor.com.

Best wishes to you!

Regards, Eric Tan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

I am the first time stay in Pullman Kuching, but I am very disapointed with reception service as I need to stand near 10 minutes to wait for my turn to check-in and staff do not have any 'sorry' or even welcome......No smile and no any chat....Just give the room key card to me without any words....This is not Accor service and I hate to make any complain with the staff in the lobby! Also, he just write seven numbers on my room key card holder and without say anything. After I enter the room, I suddently remember I shouyld ask the internet password..... So I get back to the reception and ask again (need another 5 minutes lining up) and the staff said 'I have already give it to you which is on the key card holder'......What the XXXX!!! I am not the worm inside your body, how can I know what you means if you do not tell me,,,,,CRAZY

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank derektin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanKuching, General Manager at Pullman Kuching, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Valued Customer, Warmest Greetings from Pullman Kuching! I thank you for your feedbacks regarding your recent stay with us. Rest assured that we will review the shortfall for future improvements.

Should you need any further enquiries, do drop an email to me at eric.tan@accor.com.

Best wishes to you!

Regards, Eric Tan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

We got a good rate on line through the hotel for five nights in Kuching--it was a package of sorts although I had to specifically ask (twice) for the spa voucher promised as part of the "Fly Me to Paris" voucher--I have no idea if there actually was a "Fly Me to Paris" contest--not that it matters-- as the desk staff seemed to have no idea what package I was talking about even though I purchased it through the hotel website. The room is huge and nicely equipped--especially for those traveling on business. For a family, the large space was nice--we loved the walk in closet/dressing area attached to the spacious bathroom. The sofa/coffee table also made the room feel a little more homey. My daughter loved the big pool and the little playground area. (I felt a little sorry for people who booked events in the banquet rooms on the second floor--pool goers walk through the reception area in dripping swimwear--a little awkward I imagine especially for the predominantly Muslim customer base.) The river view from our room on the 13th floor was wonderful. The place is not sound proof and it is easy to hear other guests in their rooms even with the door closed--especially if there is loud talking or crying children. We had dinner once at Puzzle--very nice--and my daughter kept asking to go back each night. We probably would have if a children's menu had been available. The chocolate croissants at the breakfast buffet were scrumptious. A cafe on the first floor had expansive hours, good sandwiches, and a wide selection of cookies:) The mall beneath the hotel had several good value restaurants (Full House was a particular hit with our family.) Housekeeping was always very helpful--although we had to ask daily for amenities for the three (not two) guests in the room--our daughter needs her own towel and drinking glass. We also had a problem with the A/C control in our room that every attempt was made to solve not quite successfully. All in all, a good experience and good value, but I couldn't help but feel the place was just a touch better suited to business travellers or travellers without children.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mamanabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanKuching, General Manager at Pullman Kuching, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Valued Customer, Warmest Greetings from Pullman Kuching! I thank you for your feedbacks regarding your recent stay with us. I’m looking forward to welcoming you back to Pullman Kuching.

Should you need any further enquiries, do drop an email to me at eric.tan@accor.com.

Best wishes to you!

Regards, Eric Tan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gold Coast
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

We have stayed at The Pullman Kuching the last 2 nights and cannot fault one thing about it! We have a beautiful Deluxe Room on Club Level (2107). The staff are fabulous. We met Susannah when we checked in (very smoothly I must add) and have been greeted and helped many times by the beautiful staff in "The Peak" Club Lounge (we have mainly been looked after by Ratna, who is very friendly, cheery and helpful). I would also like to thank Mr Tan (General Manager) for his correspondence prior to our trip here to The Pullman. Our room cannot be faulted. It is very comfortable and has tasteful decor and furnishings. The complimentary toiletries are very classy and we even received a turndown service on our first night. The Pullman is within a very easy walking distance of the Kuching Waterfront, and the views across the city and river from our 21st floor room are breathtaking. Last night we were treated to fireworks all across the city for New Years Eve - it was breathtaking. Sadly, we are leaving The Pullman today, but if we are lucky enough to travel to Kuching again, The Pullman would be our number one choice (without hesitation!) Cheers, Kim and Ken :-)

Room Tip: Club Level Rooms are worth paying the little extra for. The treatment we received at The Peak Execut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KKGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanKuching, General Manager at Pullman Kuching, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Valued Customer, Warmest Greetings from Pullman Kuching! I thank you for your feedbacks regarding your recent stay with us. I’m looking forward to welcoming you back to Pullman Kuching.

Should you need any further enquiries, do drop an email to me at eric.tan@accor.com.

Best wishes to you!

Regards, Eric Tan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACT
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

We picked this hotel for a rather afordable price (for a five star accommodation). And we did not regret our choice. We spent 5 nights at Pullman Kuching in October and we are very happy with our experience. If we are to visit Kuchin again, we'll look at Pullman first.
Reception has a skillfull staff - check-in and check-out took just several minutes. Any questions we had during our stay were addressed immediately. The staff on the floor had not probably have enough training for a five star hotel, but they readily corrected their mistakes.
The hotel has a gym and a swimming pool. We didn't use the gym as we spent a lot of time in caves, in a national park, and at the cultural village. The swimming pool was really helpful for relaxation after our trips. There is also a wellness centre offering a great massage.
The room was of a good size and offered a great view of Kuching from the 17th floor.
Pullman has a really nice Chinese restaurant Nu Er Hong. We went there twice for dinner and once for lunch, as we really enjoyed quality of food.
There are also a restaurant with international cuisine, Puzzle, a coffee shop, Chat, and a bar, DeJaVue. We didn't like much Puzzle (went there once for breakfast), and preferred Cafe Chat for breakfast and coffee. DeJaVu was not bad as well.
On the ground floor there is a small shopping mall, which apparently does not operate to its full capacity. However, it got a number of cafes, and fast foods that offer quite nice food.
And don't miss the stalls just around the corner - Top Spot Food Court, a great place to eat seafood and some local treats.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YuriKAct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanKuching, General Manager at Pullman Kuching, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Valued Customer, Warmest Greetings from Pullman Kuching! I thank you for your feedbacks regarding your recent stay with us. I'm looking forward to welcoming you back to Pullman Kuching.

Should you need any further enquiries, do drop an email to me at eric.tan@accor.com.

Best wishes to you!

Regards, Eric Tan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,423 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
0.2 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#5 of 55 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.4 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
4.5 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
1.4 mi away
Citadines Uplands Kuching
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Kuching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Kuching

Property: Pullman Kuching
Address: No. 1A Jalan Mathies, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kuching
#3 Family Hotel in Kuching
#3 Business Hotel in Kuching
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Kuching 5*
Number of rooms: 389
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing tall in the heart of Kuching City on top of Mathies Hill, Pullman Kuching offers luxury 5-star comfort with contemporary features and a stunning panoramic view of the Sarawak River. An essential address for get-togethers with outstanding facilities right in the city's golden triangle, the cosmopolitan and stylish Pullman Kuching has been welcoming international guests with its astounding hospitality since its inception in 2010. The hotel is adjacent to a two storey city life-style shopping centre "Hills Shopping Mall" and within walking distance to commercial centre and city attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Booking.com, Prestigia and Jetsetter so you can book your Pullman Kuching reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Kuching Hotel Kuching
Pullman Kuching Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing