We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent, mostly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pullman Kuching

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pullman Kuching
Ranked #7 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Excellent, mostly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

Two nights for business in February 2012. Beautiful rooms, large, comfortable bed, clean and new (2 years old). Large bathroom, separate bath and excellent shower. Toiletries provided, satellite TV, pay for use internet [why not free???] in rooms, but free wifi in lobby. Excellent breakfast, with large range.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Applecool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,912 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    698
    748
    307
    98
    61
See reviews for
432
594
170
423
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

Stayed here for 5 days. Was on a group vacation with families. Overall was impressed with the cleanliness of hotel except for one incident where i found a cockroach creeping out of the bed linen. As it was a little dim, i flicked it away from my 7 month daughter who was on the bed with me. Felt disgusted, i called concierge. She was trying to be helpful but i guess she lack the experience. She wanted the cleaning lady to come to the room and chase/spray the bug out instead of immediately changing our room. In the end, i got a new room and was happy ever since. Even when they are sucking up to the westerners, which i don't mind at all. Last but not least, the breakfast in the hotel was really good but expensive.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WanRazak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

I stayed at this property for 2 nights at rm280++ per night. On luxury, design, function and location alone, I would give this property 5 stars. The rooms have stunning views of mount santubong(for deluxe room-superior room have city view).the deluxe room was really big and even have living area.(approx56sqm)

the bed is one of the biggest that ive ever seen,it was really huge,fluffy and i really enjoy lay at my bed..the workstation is large with tidy electric socket and offer nice ergonomic chair.they use fully laminated timber for floor finishes in room and fully marble at bathroom.

the bathroom was awesome with large bathtub with a view!but there is some unpleasant smell in the bathroom and i cannot figure it out of where it came from.The Associate Front Desk and staff were incredibly helpful.

Other features of this hotel I really appreciated were the diverse and tasty breakfast buffet and it's location in the center of kuching city and attached with brand new shopping mall,the hills. When i go back to kuching, i will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: always ask for highfloor to get better view and i prefer deluxe room for it size and view,dont hesit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aismanggo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

A hotel that is keeping up to the reputation of the Pullman tradition. Stayed there for 5 nights with the family at the executive floor. Great view on the 28th floor - rooms,bed & bathroom - no complains. Executive lounge, wonderful cocktails served with a big smile. Conveniently located within a short walk to the Esplanade (Main Bazaar - great shopping) and the popular "Top Spot Food Court". 5-10 min drive to the Spring Mall. Breakfast - many choices with many authentic local dishes.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank khoeho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanKuching, General Manager at Pullman Kuching, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Dear Valued Customer, Warmest Greetings from Pullman Kuching! I thank you for your feedbacks regarding your recent stay with us. I look forward to welcoming you back to Pullman Kuching. Best wishes to you! Regards, Eric Tan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

This is our first trip to Pullman Kuching. It was quite a pleasant one. Rooms as other reviewers have mentioned ,are quite spacious & comfy. Enough space to move around. The best thing about this hotel is the positive energy it gives.You feel good upon entering the hotel. It is not the design or layout but probably the location of the hotel.
Breakfast was good with varieties. If you are a non- veg, you are in for a treat of local Sarawak cuisine. There was no fresh fruit juice counter though. Salad bar was good.

Short walking distance to city center where you can get around quite a bit. Hill Shopping Mall is adjacent to the mall.There are very limited shops there although i heard it has been there for almost 2 years. Don't forget to visit the smaller shops on the first floor at the corner for a good bargain.The most fantastic restaurant that i highly recommend is the "KIMBAY" located on the ground floor of the mall. Food is inexpensive, service is good, & the taste is out of the world. You must try it at least once if you happenned to be staying at the Pullman. They serve local dishes, Cantonese cuisine, Hong Kong Tim Sum & desserts - they are all 'Halal'. I had lots of good stir-fried 'kangkong' there as it is not available here in India.

I must thank Mr Rasdi B Rani , the Outlet / Banquet Manager for his help & ensuring that i get my vegetarian meal daily. He was always courteous, carries a smile & being an ex- employee of Hilton for donkey years, i am not surprised to see his professionalism at its best!
Thank you Rasdi. On the other note, many of the staff needed some intensive training on hospitality.

1.Front Desk-Don't expect them to smile.They just do their duty ; nothing personal. So dont expect a warm welcome.

2.Kindly change your shower caps to better quality ones, it does not fit AT ALL , too loose.. it only fits a bold man.! am not kidding here.

3. No power socket beside bed.Makes it difficult to do computer work on your bed.

4. The Spa - I chose this hotel due to the Spa facilities. Unfortunately, there was not enough manning during our stay & the wet section was messy after a large group of members left..There was not emergency buttion in the sauna room. I am not sure if the hotel is aware of this. This is very dangerous in case of emergency & there was no attendant in that area too.Water temperature in the jacuzzi was too low. I spoke to the Spa receptonist & Duty Manager twice. I hope on the above will be rectified soon.

All in all, it was a good stay...we were refreshed, we left feeling better than when we checked in.

Room Tip: City view is good enough. No need for a higher floor, 8-10 floors give good view too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MelissaIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

Location is great, view is simply magnificent. On top of that, this hotel is rather new, less than 2 years. Very spacious room and bathroom with a bathtub by the window.
We opted for the executive room which gives access to the club lounge but apart from the view, don't expect too much where food is concern. They serve cheap food with no variation or creativity. There's also no tea time in the afternoon which is a norm with all the club lounges .Afterall, isn't that what we are paying extra for ? Poor internet ,slow to log in.
no wifi in the room. Apart from that it was a great time in Kucing.

Room Tip: Higher floor with odd no.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank popeyenolive8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanKuching, General Manager at Pullman Kuching, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Dear Valued Customer, Warmest Greetings from Pullman Kuching! I thank you for your feedbacks regarding your recent stay with us. Rest assured that we will review the shortfall for future improvements. Best wishes to you! Regards, Eric Tan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

Checked myself into a Deluxe Room for 3 nights. The room is clean, spacious & much bigger than my expectation. The bathroom size is even impressive, almost similar to the size of a single room in Japan. Was provided with welcome-fruits and welcome-cookies on the first day. The view from the room is awesome too, on day with good weather, you could dip yourself into the bathtub and enjoy the nice sunset view (for room with odd number)!
Also, they provide a range of pillow selection that you could request, which I really appreciate that. I sleep well with particular pillow only.
Located in the city center, walking distance to most of the tourist spots, cinema, supermarket. A new shopping mall is attached to the hotel, but with limited shops, though plenty of foods available too. Tried the KimbayHill restaurant and they foods served was actually not bad.

Internet: Free wifi @lobby only, but you need to get the access code from reception, and each access code last for 1 hour only, though unlimited-ly supply, but still quite troublesome to log in every hour. For those without laptop of online gadget, 2 computes were provided at the lobby, where u can use it for free, but to access internet, u need the one-hour-access-code too. No wifi in room, only wired internet, but chargeable at very high rate.

Pros:
1. Clean, big, new. I like this hotel because it is still very NEW.
2. Sauna & steam room, Jacuzzi, gym, pool for free.
3. everything.

Cons: Almost everything is in perfect condition, but I am trying to be 'extra' to list down the cons.
1. No free internet in room.
2. Not much activity for kids. The lobby is big, probably good to create some kid corner, or even just put in a pool table.
3. The hot shower is hard to adjust, it is not consistent. To get around, you need to let the hot water run in bathtub (I know it is wasting), then go on with ur shower.

Room Tip: Pay slightly more for deluxe room, ask for odd number room on higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_freak_mas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
0.2 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#5 of 55 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.4 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
1.4 mi away
Citadines Uplands Kuching
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Kuching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Kuching

Property: Pullman Kuching
Address: No. 1A Jalan Mathies, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kuching
#3 Business Hotel in Kuching
#3 Family Hotel in Kuching
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Kuching 5*
Number of rooms: 389
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing tall in the heart of Kuching City on top of Mathies Hill, Pullman Kuching offers luxury 5-star comfort with contemporary features and a stunning panoramic view of the Sarawak River. An essential address for get-togethers with outstanding facilities right in the city's golden triangle, the cosmopolitan and stylish Pullman Kuching has been welcoming international guests with its astounding hospitality since its inception in 2010. The hotel is adjacent to a two storey city life-style shopping centre "Hills Shopping Mall" and within walking distance to commercial centre and city attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Prestigia, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Pullman Kuching reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Kuching Hotel Kuching
Pullman Kuching Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing