We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pullman Kuching

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pullman Kuching
Ranked #7 of 54 Hotels in Kuching
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2011

I stayed two nights in the Pullman Kuching in early July 2011. Had a fantastic stay there and would definitely go back in the future. Room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Bed was big and soft enabling a good night sleep and getting up fresh the next day. Though near the main road it is quite quiet. The lobby was grand and very inviting indeed, perhaps it's still new. You can walk to the town centre nearby (10-15 min) and enjoy your shopping at the bazaar and stalls down the road. A popular noodle stall can be found tucked away in this row of shops selling anything from local handicrafts to tidbits, fabrics, shawls, etc. Look for the colorful hand bags, purses and hats weaved from mengkuang. They make excellent souvenirs for friends and colleagues.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher level. More airy and cooling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellinMan0052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    705
    758
    309
    98
    62
See reviews for
436
600
171
429
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2011

Excellent facilities
Excellent rooms from design, facilities and comfortable bed (yes, very comfy)
Within walking distance to riverside
Excellent service...staffs are attentive and polite..CONSISTENTLY.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FahmiRedza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed at this hotel during our company trip for YA2011. We are happy about this hotel as it is well maintained and it is still pretty new. And the security is impressed as you only can access to your own room floor and the public area. This complimented by a big lobby hall where you can relax and view the whole hall without hidden partition or cornering.

This Hotel is strategically located at center of Kuching town. Just walking distance to waterfront and carpenter street (a shop streets where you can find the local delights "Kolo mee" and "laksa" here, and of course shopping). At night, there is nothing much you can do at Kuching, so you can still do shopping as this hotel is connected with a shopping mall, and outside the shopping mall are the cafe and pubs. To name a few of restaurants outside the shopping mall are Station one (local franchise of restaurant with live bands ), delifrance (bread and coffee), full house (mainly popular of its western food with a lovely korean interior deco), Old Town (Malaysia style coffee franchise shop).

Just one little unhappy thing happen is that the hotel request us to pay RM10.00 for each laundry bag we took home. It was not written chargeable though when take the bag and never have other hotels charge on this item i mean it is very rare here. Luckily our tour leader from Boustead reflects our disappointment and they refund the money to us.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WinnieNg77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanKuching, General Manager at Pullman Kuching, responded to this review, December 5, 2011
Dear Valued Customer, Warmest Greetings from Pullman Kuching! I thank you for your feedbacks regarding your recent stay with us. I look forward to welcoming you back to Pullman Kuching. Best wishes to you! Regards, Eric Tan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
131 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

Stayed at the Pullman for 2 nights. The hotel is brand new, situated on top of a mall (still half empty apparently) and basically in the center of Kuching.
Big lobby with free wifi internet. It's annoying because the access codes are only valid for 1 or 2 hours so you keep asking for a new one... Weird concept. No Wifi in the rooms though, only wired access... for a fee.
Check-in was smooth, helpful staff. The room was surprisingly nice, airy and huge! I might have had an upgrade... the bathroom was very big too. There is a safe of course and also a bathrobe, an exercise mat and two small dumbells, if you ever felt like doing some exercises in your room.
The spa/sauna area was nice too, brand new and super clean. Pool area is also very enjoyable with good pool side service.
I used their travel agent, which is situated in the lobby. Went to a reserve to look at orang utans. A few hours trip that you can squeeze in the morning for example.
The breakfast buffet was ok, nothing extraordinary. Dinner in the same restaurant was good too.
I'd stay there again if I come back to Kuching.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enelym1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2011

I loved my stay at this hotel during my short trip to Sarawak Malaysia. The hotel is in a great location, has excellent facilities, and the staff definitely has the welcoming attitude that people of Sarawak are known for.

I especially enjoyed the spa facilities (jacuzzi, steam room, sauna, pool), and the very very well designed rooms, with the spacious bathroom even in the superior rooms (cheapest rate rooms). Staff were very attentive and fulfilled requests within minutes, which is amazing for such a large hotel with so many rooms.

My room was even thoughtfully decorated with roses and kissing towel swans as I initially booked the room for a couples trip with my partner, who unfortunately cancelled her trip last minute. Even though she could not be there in person, she still appreciated it from the photos I've shown her. Thanks to staff of the hotel!

Now there were a few slightly annoying little things that I didn't like, but they in no way ruined my stay at this hotel. I just list them because I love going into unnecessary details in all of my reviews. Please read on for the details.

Firstly and most importantly, I find the air-conditioning in the hotel lobby and public areas far too cold. Sure it's nice coming off the streets after a hot sweaty day outside into a nice cool environment, but I'd rate the temperature at the hotel more closely to a meat locker in the kitchen. I think if the hotel turned up the temperature slightly by a few degrees, it'd not only be better for the environment, as it wouldn't consume as much power keeping the place cool, I doubt most people would even notice the difference. I even contemplated taking a jacket with me for the "trip" between my room and the outside the hotel because I was afraid I'd catch a cold from the sudden changes in temperature going in and out of the hotel.

Secondly, I find the safety covers on the wall power sockets at the workbenches impossible to work with, as they would not release properly when using a non-Malaysian (UK) plug despite it being a "universal fit" type. And there's no way you can use any 2-prong plugs in the socket as the safety cover requires the 3rd earth prong to release the lock. It's a nice safety feature so kids don't electrocute themselves sticking knives into the socket, but perhaps they could see to install a different type instead, or put an universal adaptor in every room so I wouldn't have to call maintenance every time I want to plug my charger in.

And lastly, I am very annoyed at the extortionate exchange rate offered by the hotel, and forced onto A-Club members that wishes to use their reward vouchers. While I realise this is decided and set by the management of Accor, based on their "multi-currency “Multidevises” database for currency and financial information at Natixis bank, a company with 1,955,268,310.40 Euros capital and headquarters at 30 avenue Pierre Mendes France, in Paris, France, 75013", it still doesn't excuse the fact that the rate offered is more than 20% less than the bank rate!! I was shocked when they calculated my 60USD voucher to be worth only 144MYR according to "the rate on the board". Oh well...

Room Tip: Lower floors have less elevator waiting time during "peak hours", but you can just leave e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csg001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2011

This hotel has very spacious rooms, very stylishly furbished, each one comes with a huge window front that has nice views. The rooms have coffee making facilities and very comfortable beds. The pool is large and good for swimming. To the centre of Kuching it's a 10 mins walk. The service in the hotel is very good and reliable. The hotel has it's own tour operator in the lobby hall who can organize exciting good-value day tours to the Sarawak Cultural Centre, Orang-Utan Rehabilitation Centre, Bidayuh Longhouses and National Parks.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheftrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2011

I picked up a cheap room here online, and wow, big room, big bed, two showers. A choice of six different types of pillow, amazing view. In fact I can't fault the room at all...except. No wifi in room that really needs to change.
Ordered room service, purely as research you understand, and that was very good too, usually these things are half cold at best but no it was warm and very tasty. I don't know what usual rates are here but if you see a special offer by all means grab it.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank driver x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 54 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
0.2 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#5 of 54 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.4 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 54 in Kuching
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#10 of 54 in Kuching
3.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Kuching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Kuching

Property: Pullman Kuching
Address: No. 1A Jalan Mathies, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kuching
#3 Family Hotel in Kuching
#3 Business Hotel in Kuching
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Kuching 5*
Number of rooms: 389
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing tall in the heart of Kuching City on top of Mathies Hill, Pullman Kuching offers luxury 5-star comfort with contemporary features and a stunning panoramic view of the Sarawak River. An essential address for get-togethers with outstanding facilities right in the city's golden triangle, the cosmopolitan and stylish Pullman Kuching has been welcoming international guests with its astounding hospitality since its inception in 2010. The hotel is adjacent to a two storey city life-style shopping centre "Hills Shopping Mall" and within walking distance to commercial centre and city attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pullman Kuching reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Kuching Hotel Kuching
Pullman Kuching Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing