We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“modern clean and very comfortable and great value for money”
Review of Pullman Kuching

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pullman Kuching
Ranked #6 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Reviewed September 5, 2011

The Pullman is within walking distance to the city centre and located at the top of a small hill - we didn't find this a problem but I can see that it might be an issue for some people with mobility issues.

There is a small shopping mall below with approx 6-7 food outlets which have Kopi or coffee / Sushi restaurant / Thai / bar - beers are much much cheaper than in the hotel
it also has a bookshop, bodyshop, and small corner store (for anything you might have forgotten or for stocking up with snacks)

+ the king sized beds were very comfortable
+ rooms were large and very very clean (cleaning staff do an excellent job)
+ huge bathroom with seperate bath
+adjustable air conditioning
+non smoking rooms
+ salt water swimming pool after a hot day sightseeing
+ the cocktails from the bar in the lobby (especially the chocolate martini)
+ free internet (NOTE it is only wireless in the lobby - you will have to get a login and password from the reception which will allow you a half hour access at a time)

- the hotel buffet breakfast sadly didn't match the rest of the stay - full buffet breakfast - the range was comprehensive but sadly the standard of cooked food was poor.
- room fridge did not work

We found the cheapest rates directly from the hotel website

Room Tip: cheapest rates direct from hotel website includes breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LT08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,039)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,611 - 1,617 of 2,039 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2011

While some aspects of this hotel are great, for example the rooms, the view, the location and the breakfast (except if you get it delivered to the room) there are also some very disappointing features. For example order food beside the pool and expect to wait nearly an hour. The "complimentary" wifi constantly logs you out and new codes are required from the front desk every hour - very frustrating! The bar drinks are more expensive than London! And the the absolutely worst feature is that the in house Chinese restaurant serves Shark Fin soup!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheBucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Singapore, Singapore
1
Reviewed September 5, 2011

It is comparative clean after my stay in Sibu. The hotel lobby is a little too sparcely decorated and needs a bit of attention to make it more grand. The satays and spring rolls that we had were below average though. It is a between 3- to 4-star for me.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanKuching, General Manager at Pullman Kuching, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2011

Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you for your comment regarding your stay with us here in Pullman Kuching. Please accept our apology if your experience did not meet your expectation. Please note that your comments motivate us to do better and any concerns will be dully addressed. We look forward to welcoming you back to Pullman Kuching in the future.

Best wishes to you!

Regards,
Eric Tan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

I stayed in Pullman for 5 days. It was an excellent new hotel and really 5 star. The room was very nice and spacious with huge bathroom. The location is very good, although is on the hill (this is nice for the view but tiring after walking), and close to the main attractions. It is very clean, with very helpful and polite staff. My only objection is the card-key in the elevator that is very inconvenient, especially for old people, and the wi-fi code which changes every two hours.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coskarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

I have been there for afew days and must say that the hotel is very good. Staff are very very kind and ready to fulfill any wish.Hotel is a few minutes walk from the riverside and from all main attractions.Also you can reach in a fewminutes the TOPSPOT, that is a place with a lot of seafood restaurants.Restaurant very good and breakfast very nice. Internet available at no cost. Even the travel agency in the lobby is very good and very frinedly.Its guides are very very good and speak perfect english. Only... I asked TWICE for a wake up call, and TWICE they did not wake us up.The first time we were late for a group tour, and were ashamed. the second time, there were no excuses.The hOtel manager Mr EFFENDI was very sorry and apologized. Did not charge us fro breakfast.On the whole, a very ncie hotel where I would stay again.Kuching is a must.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank astraitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights after a flight from 14 hours from the Netherlands. Hotel is trendy, brand new and clean. Perfect stay after a long flight away from home. Room is spacious and had a perfect sleep. Breakfast is also very good (European and Asian food). Only one 'but' and that is that the hotel is charmless: the lobby, pool and restaurants are too 'cool'. We think that is the reason that no one is sitting at the pool bar or lobby bar for example.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NataschaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

This is a great hotel. Upon arrival at the hotel I was upgraded to a deluxe room and was amazed when I saw it. The room was very spacious and comfortable and it was really nice to have a sofa too, but the main thing that you notice straight away is the view. I was on the 13th floor and had amazing views of the city and the river from my bedroom and my bathroom. This is the only hotel I have ever stayed in where there is a full picture window next to the bath and after a day's sightseeing it was lovely to soak in the bath and watch the city!

Amenities wise the room had everything I wanted and more (including dumbells) and all of the toiletries you need. It was also nice to be provided with drinking water (2 bottles per day). Everything was spotlessly clean and well maintained. The pool area was also very nice but there are not many sun loungers available and it does get quite busy late afternoon when people return from their sightseeing trips.

My only criticism of the hotel is that there is a lack of atmosphere in the public areas, especially the bar which is just a raised area in the middle of the very large lobby. Also, the live music which was advertised in the hotel did not seem to be happening but there are plenty of bars and restaurants nearby with live music. I would definitely recommend trying the 'Top Spot' food court for fantastic seafood.

The hotel is also in a very good location for seeing the sights of Kuching. The waterfront area is about 5 minutes walk away and from there you can take a small ferry boat across to the villages on the other side of the river and all of the things to see in the city are within easy walking distance. I would definitely stay in the Pullman again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JIOkinawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,669 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#7 of 55 in Kuching
627 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#5 of 55 in Kuching
204 reviews
0.4 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Kuching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Kuching

Address: No. 1A Jalan Mathies, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kuching
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
#3 Business Hotel in Kuching
#3 Family Hotel in Kuching
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kuching
Price Range: $42 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Kuching 5*
Number of rooms: 389
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing tall in the heart of Kuching City on top of Mathies Hill, Pullman Kuching offers luxury 5-star comfort with contemporary features and a stunning panoramic view of the Sarawak River. An essential address for get-togethers with outstanding facilities right in the city's golden triangle, the cosmopolitan and stylish Pullman Kuching has been welcoming international guests with its astounding hospitality since its inception in 2010. The hotel is adjacent to a two storey city life-style shopping centre "Hills Shopping Mall" and within walking distance to commercial centre and city attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pullman Kuching reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Kuching Hotel Kuching
Pullman Kuching Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing