We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing”
Review of Pullman Kuching

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pullman Kuching
Ranked #6 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Reviewed June 19, 2011

My wife & I stayed at the Pullman, Kuching in late May - early June for six nights. I had been in Kuching in 1965 – 66 and wanted to do a spot of ‘remember when’ for me, and to show my wife ‘all my yesterdays’.
We stayed on the Club Floor so check-in was a breeze. Our room was large with great views across the town to the hills in the distance, and we had enough storage space to fully unpack.
We slept well and were not bothered by any noise.
The bathroom was one of the largest I have seen in any hotel with a full size bath, separate shower with rain-shower head and an additional flexible shower, which could be set to vibrate so as to massage ones shoulders / neck with hot water.
The restaurant on the ground floor (Puzzles) was the main place for breakfast. A wide choice of food cooked to order – and not just the eggs. I was surprised that they didn’t have any marmalade. I was told that they don’t keep marmalade – but they did have various jams, honey, peanut butter etc, but I like marmalade. :-o)

On another day we tried the breakfast on the Club Floor – not such a large choice as Puzzles, but they did have marmalade! The coffee on the Club Floor was very good, I kept one of the staff very busy as each cup was produced individually, rather than the percolated pot one normally sees in large hotels.

During Happy Hour (which is only an hour) in the evening, we were wished a Happy Meal. They didn’t have just the normal nibbles as per other Club floors, but full meals. The extra cost of the Club floor was well covered with not just the French wine, but with the abundance of food.

All the staff that we came in contact with were helpful and very pleasant.

After Happy Hour it was a short walk to James Brooke Bistro, on the river bank, to sit and watch the world go bye. We found Kuching to be a quiet relaxing town and it appeared to us to be more of a domestic i.e Malaysian tourist spot, than an int’l spot, which added to the charm of the place. Visit the Cat Museum for something different – don’t worry it is not full of stuffed cats or even live cats, just go an experience as to why the town is called Kuching.

Room Tip: Club Floor if you can afford it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,047)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,675 - 1,681 of 2,047 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2011

Stayed 3D2N with good rate from Internet booking.
Staff very friendly and helpful. They reply to out request with smile and offer extra informatiion where and how to go around in kuching.
Location of hotel is very conven ient for my wife and I to move around. Airport to hotel about 20 min @ RM 26 by taxi. New shopping center - Hill just below the hotel. We went for Boat River cruise of 1.5 hr and jetty only 5 min walk, across the river we bought variety of choices for sarawak famous Kek lapis (layered cake) at reasonable price. Two Main Kek lapis shop is Mira and Dayang Salha.
Excellent Seafood restaurant just 3 min from hotel (Top Spot).
I tried the gym with plenty of equipments, and pool is clean medium size attached with kid pool and small playground for children.
You should go to satok market on sat, sun and there are variety of choices of sarawak traditional food at very cheap prices. From hotel about 10-15min @RM 12 by taxi. We were lucky the taxi driver offer to wait for us until we finished shopping at the market for 1.5 hr.
Our check out was very fast, thanks for the efficient staff.
I recommend this hotel to those visiting kuching

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ichatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2011

The location of the hotel was very convenient. Walking distance to hawker centres, Top Spot seafood, waterfront.Room was spacious, comfortable, lovely and clean with nice view. Baby cots were provided at no cost for families with babies.Overall service at the hotel was good. Good spread of breakfast.Service at breakfast buffets could still be improved. Front desk staffs are great, wide smiles, courteous, and always willing to go the extra mile.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lina82Singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights. Hotel was new & clean. Rooms were excellent. We liked the pool, the jacuzzi, the children's playground & the very spacious lobby.

It was totally unacceptable for such a good classhotel where housekeeping was concerned.

1. We reminded reception & spoke personally to housekeeping that there were 3 of us in the room & requested for 3 towels. They failed to give us 3 sets of towels day after day! I had to run after the housekeeping staff & asked for another set.
2. Our used tea-cups were not replaced.
3. The staff failed to replenish our tissue paper & toilet paper !!

Breakfast was a good spread of Asian food. Hits & misses here & there. Over the weekend, some big conference groups checked in. It was appalling to note that the unoccupied tables were reserved ! Where were we supposed to sit then ???

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dreamchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

We had a great stay in Kuching made even better for staying at the Pullman. 4-5 star hotels are usually outside our budget but we found the Pullman to be very affordable.

Very centrally located on a small hill overlooking the town and river, and walking distance to Chinatown, india street, the riverfront and many fine local cafes and restaurants.

The pool is enormous and a great place to watch the spectacular monsoon storms roll in of an afternoon.

Large, modern, characterless hotel primarily servicing the businessman market, but the staff were very pleasant and professional and we would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank biffdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2011

We have just had 6 great nights at this beautiful hotel. The quality of the hotel and service was second to none. The hotel is only a short walk to the waterfront making it an ideal location for visitors to kuching. I could not fault anything about this hotel or the service we recieved from check in to check out.

Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Ludwig09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

Stayed 3 nights in a deluxe room. Room was exceptionally clean and big. The view was awesome..given the fact that we stayed at the 13th floor. The bathroom is huge...with a walk-in closet!! Breakfast selection was not too bad with a modest variety of asian and western cruisine.Loved the pastry selection.Great location..great staffs and great atmosphere.Would definately stay here again.

Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank ragd0ll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,687 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
0.2 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#7 of 55 in Kuching
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
0.5 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#5 of 55 in Kuching
209 reviews
0.4 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Kuching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Kuching

Address: No. 1A Jalan Mathies, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kuching
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
#3 Business Hotel in Kuching
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kuching
Price Range: $43 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Kuching 5*
Number of rooms: 389
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing tall in the heart of Kuching City on top of Mathies Hill, Pullman Kuching offers luxury 5-star comfort with contemporary features and a stunning panoramic view of the Sarawak River. An essential address for get-togethers with outstanding facilities right in the city's golden triangle, the cosmopolitan and stylish Pullman Kuching has been welcoming international guests with its astounding hospitality since its inception in 2010. The hotel is adjacent to a two storey city life-style shopping centre "Hills Shopping Mall" and within walking distance to commercial centre and city attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pullman Kuching reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Kuching Hotel Kuching
Pullman Kuching Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing