We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful homestay in the middle of the mountain” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nanga Damai Homestay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kuching
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nanga Damai Homestay
Ranked #6 of 82 Kuching B&B and Inns
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful homestay in the middle of the mountain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

My cousin and I stayed at Nanga Damai's Wallace Cottage for two nights. The room was lovely, with air conditioning and a fan, comfy beds and pillows, and a clean bathroom (with a great view). Polycarp was very hospitable, and we had a nice time chatting with him and other visitors at night and at breakfast. He gave us mosquito coils when we told him we were concerned about mosquitoes and also gave us a ride to the Sarawak Cultural Village. He offered to drive us to Kuching airport to get our flight back home, but we were leaving later. Breakfast was good, with delicious local fruit and strong coffee. There was also bread, butter and jam, tea, and orange juice. Nanga Damai is very close to almost anything you would want to do, and if you don't feel like walking, there are plenty of people who would be happy to drive you. The pool looked very inviting, but we didn't have time to make use of it. Nanga Damai is great for anyone who wants to be away from the hustle and bustle of the city, but still have the option of trying various activities if they feel like it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZehraZee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    19
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
68
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

I fell in love with this home stay in 2010 and as I love it so much I went back there last year and guess what I am thinking about going back for my third visit.

Nanga Damai is located about 40km away from Kuching. With the jugle behind the house it is surrounded by the beautiful green trees and there is also the sea view from the terrace, living room and some rooms. It is a beautiful house and is tastefully decorated. If you take a bit attention you can tell the owner Polycarp has picked some beautiful furniture for the house. Oh.. the bed is also very comfortable too...

It has 2 nights stay policy but I found it is very easy to stay here longer. It is a place for you just chill out and relax but it you want to do some activities the culture village is near by. You can also do a jungle trekking or you can organize a wetland or dolphin watching or simply just go for a walk to the beach near by. If you really want to go to town there are min bus service from the near by beach resort.

The owner Polycarp is friendly and interesting. In fact quite often the guess will end up having a drink with him after the dinner at the bar area in the terrace. It is always fun to talk to him and he certainly is one of the key point to make this place so wonderful.

I love this place and I am sure you will like it too...:-)

Room Tip: James Brook's room is spacious and has a fantastic view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hopeyang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

If you like a hostel, which is very quiet (only the sound of the jungle) and lonely, you will be at the right place. Nanga Damai Homestay is placed about 40 km from Kuching. It meens that there are only 3-4 hotels and restaurants between 15 an 30 min walking distance. If you would like to buy something or if you need money, you always have to go to Kuching by taxi or shuttlebus.
Unfortunately the owner Polycarp wasn't there. But his friend Lyonel was very helpful. If we asked him (because it was raining), he always drove us to the next restaurant by his car.
We stayed in the smallest room "Margret" with a nice balcony. Unfortunately there was only one very bright neon lamp in the room. The attached bathroom was very big an comfortable. The breakfast was very good with fresh fruits, yogurt, bread and juice.
Overall, we felt very well and would come back again. In particular, the friendly, welcoming and helpful Lyonell.
PS: You have to love dogs, because they have a friedly one - Bella :-)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Markus666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

For me Nanga Damai is the best place to stay for those who want to be out of Kuching and out of the rush, but near enough as it’s only 30 km from the city center. Not far from the main road, this beautifull homestay is surrounded by a wonderfull primary jungle and the only nuisances could be the songs of birds and the noises of monkeys in the forest. The rooms are very comfortable and tastefuly decorated. This little paradise is the ideal place for reading, meditating and dreaming, or even doing nothing and just relax in the garden after using the little swiming pool. That could be the reason why this is already my fourth time in Nanga Damai and I already regret that I had to return to Paris to work, however I am already planning to return. Lionel, writer.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lionel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

Being the rainy season, one really could not ask for a better place to hang out with a drink and a book. Although the owner was away on business, the hospitality did not disappoint. Lots of "tour options" to explore, but I settled into a nice groove of waking up to delicious breakfasts (best bread I had in Sarawak) with real coffee and lounging.

Loved my "James Brooks" room, although some unlimited wifi service would have been nice (not sure if it is even possible)........ but, glad to report I survived without.

Room Tip: Nothing wrong with the James Brooks room: from the bath one can gaze upon the peak of the nearby Mou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank djpinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

A wonderful place to stay. Polycarp (the owner) instantaneously made us feel welcome and at home. Where possible he went out of his way to make our stay easier - driving us to local restaurants and back to Kuching (although he is not always available to do this). The place itself is in a beautiful location built back into the jungle and the fact this place is a short walk away from the main touristy area adds to it's charms. Thoroughly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Minimum of two night stay but there's plenty to do to occupy your time
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melissa_williams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2011

This was my second time staying at Nanga Damai and it was just as incredible as I remembered it (7 years prior!). The owner Polycarp is a fantastic host and a very interesting man, and the place itself is spectacular -built back into the Borneo jungle yet with views of the sea! It was the perfect place to relax after 4 days filming in the jungle.

Highly recommended, really hope I get another chance to go myself.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
7.4 mi away
Damai Beach Resort
Damai Beach Resort
#16 of 55 in Kuching
3.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
6.4 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Village House
The Village House
#4 of 82 in Kuching
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
7.6 mi away
Permai Rainforest Resort
7.6 mi away
Damai Puri Resort & Spa
Damai Puri Resort & Spa
#46 of 55 in Kuching
3.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nanga Damai Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nanga Damai Homestay

Property: Nanga Damai Homestay
Address: Jalan Sultan Tengah, Kuching 93050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Kuching
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Nanga Damai Homestay Hotel Kuching
Nanga Damai Homestay Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing