We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most amazing experience”

Semenggoh Nature Reserve
Book In Advance
More Info
$49.00*
and up
Half-Day Semenggoh Orangutan Centre Tour from Kuching
Ranked #1 of 88 things to do in Kuching
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The most amazing experience”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Seeing the amazing orangutans at Semenggoh so close was the absolute highlight of my trip to Kuching. In fact, I loved it so much I went twice, once for the morning feeding and once in the afternoon. Both times there were several orangutans around, at the feeding stations and around the car park. The second time I was also lucky enough to see Ritchie, the very impressive alpha male - but the real stars were the cute babies and their mothers.

The park rangers are great; they know all the animals by name and will tell you lots about them if you ask, while making sure that everyone is safe. You must follow their instructions at all times.

Some people complain that the animals don't turn up - well, this is not a zoo, it's a place where the orangutans can live semi-wild. Surely it is up to each visitor to Semenggoh to do their research beforehand and know what to expect. Sometimes you're lucky, sometimes you're not. If you are really keen to see these amazing creatures, make sure you have some flexibility in your schedule to come again. It's easy to get to by bus and a lovely walk through the forest.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank anglabarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,263
    753
    244
    55
    20
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What about the crocs?”
Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

This should have been a five rating from us. We visited twice to see the beautiful animals- which we were amazed by! However, on our second visit we came across 3 crocodiles in tiny, dirty pens. Apparently they had been rescued 20 years ago- we were led to believe they have lived in these appalling conditions ever since. I would hardly call this a rescue mission! When we spoke to the wardens they were obviously very embarrassed by this revelation. Please do visit this good cause- but lets not forget about these beautiful creatures too. Hopefully by people questioning this, something may happen to improve their poor living conditions. The park is very reasonably priced, so I'm sure visitors would not mind paying a little extra to provide sufficient conditions for the crocs.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Conveyor belt Orangutan watching”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We went in the morning at feeding time. There were bus loads of people. We walked at short distance through the jungle trek and stood on viewing platforms with a lot of other tourists. The Orangutans were nice to watch and there were red and black squirrels there too. However, it kind of just felt like a zoo, what with all the other people there and didn't really feel like a natural experience. Probably best to go outside of feeding time to avoid the tourists.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank carly c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Waste of time”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Waste of time as there are only a few orangutans and far up or moved away. Nothing else to do there. Far and waste of time completely.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sharine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Wild orang utans free to come and go as they please”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We loved it! The orang utans are wild and they are not fenced in to the reserve, so sometime they're there and sometimes they're not. We were lucky and saw eight of them. I recommend it most highly, but before you think about getting close to the orang utans make sure you check the photos in the visitors centre.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank WestAussie_54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Semenggoh Nature Reserve also viewed

 

Been to Semenggoh Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing