We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Conveyor belt Orangutan watching” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Semenggoh Nature Reserve

Semenggoh Nature Reserve
Book In Advance
More Info
$49.00*
and up
Half-Day Semenggoh Orangutan Centre Tour from Kuching
Ranked #1 of 84 things to do in Kuching
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Conveyor belt Orangutan watching”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

We went in the morning at feeding time. There were bus loads of people. We walked at short distance through the jungle trek and stood on viewing platforms with a lot of other tourists. The Orangutans were nice to watch and there were red and black squirrels there too. However, it kind of just felt like a zoo, what with all the other people there and didn't really feel like a natural experience. Probably best to go outside of feeding time to avoid the tourists.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank carly c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,199
    722
    236
    54
    20
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Waste of time”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Waste of time as there are only a few orangutans and far up or moved away. Nothing else to do there. Far and waste of time completely.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sharine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Wild orang utans free to come and go as they please”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

We loved it! The orang utans are wild and they are not fenced in to the reserve, so sometime they're there and sometimes they're not. We were lucky and saw eight of them. I recommend it most highly, but before you think about getting close to the orang utans make sure you check the photos in the visitors centre.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank WestAussie_54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A fascinating experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

We visited at the morning feeding time (9am) as part of a package and were rewarded with views of several Orang Utans feeding with the help of a member of staff. These are native animals who live in the wild but are encouraged to feed at the feeding stations twice a day. From the car park, it is a short walk down the road to the path which leads to the main viewing area from where one can watch them feeding. The walk along the path is about 100 metres and is slightly uneven for those with any form of walking difficulties, but still manageable. There is a form of seating available from where one can watch the proceedings. I think I had imagined from various TV programmes that we would have the opportunity to get somewhat closer than we could, but it did not really detract from the experience and it was amazing to see these wonderful animals in their natural environment. During the walk back, we narrowly escaped being bombed by a coconut hrown by one of the apes, missing us by about three feet!. That just added to the experience. There is a rest area where information and light refreshments are available near the car park. A rewarding experience.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank timcyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipoh, Malaysia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Too bad for me”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

i went here hoping to see some orang utan. when i arrive in the morning they were lots of people. we went to the feeding platform. too bad for us, after 30 minutes of waiting, the orang utan doesnt come out. the guide can only say "im sorry, they're not hungry. theres no point of waiting." Im dissapointed. but well id rather see the orang utan live free rather than being kept in the zoo.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank sicha123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Semenggoh Nature Reserve also viewed

 

Been to Semenggoh Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing