We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One orangutan”

Semenggoh Nature Reserve
Book In Advance
More Info
$34.65*
and up
Semenggok Orangutan Rehabilitation Centre Tour from Kuching
More Info
$49.00*
and up
Half-Day Semenggoh Orangutan Centre Tour from Kuching
More Info
$262.50*
and up
Private Tour: Kuching Sightseeing Tour and Overnight Village Homestay
Ranked #1 of 90 things to do in Kuching
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“One orangutan”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Go in summer months ie May to August as in November there is lots of fruit and therefore no need for orangutans to come to feeding station. We saw one so were very lucky as the previous four trips the guide said they didn't see any.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank GoodwoodSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,490 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,351
    803
    256
    59
    21
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Great way to see the orangatangs”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

My daughter and I really enjoyed the reserve. We were able to see several orangatangs in their natural habitat for the first time. The reserve was well managed and easy to navigate. There was plenty of signage in English and the rangers were very helpful. A must-do in Kuching. If you do go, don't bring a stroller!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank harvlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“orang utan”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

best to vist in afternoon if it rains in morning.Viewing platform distance from animals so need camera with goos zoom.
Do not take tripods or walking sticks as animals may see them as guns so we were told

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank retiredcouple187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Best $3.33 you'll ever spend!”
Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

We caught the local bus to the sanctuary.
It cost 3 MYR each way.
The number 6 or 13 bus will get to there. It will drop you off at the front gate which is clearly marked so you won't miss it.
The bus leaves from the main bus terminal in Kuching which is marked on tourist maps provided at the hotels. He company is Sarawak Transport Company.
Thy are not far from the river.
We went to the afternoon feeding which is at 3pm - 3.30pm.
The number 6 bus leaves at 1pm and it leaves right on time so you can't be late. If you miss it get a number 13 bus.
We got there early and the orang utans were already in the feeding area. The staff let us in early nice was great.. There were only about 20 people there.
We saw 4 orang utans. We were told we were lucky as none were seen during feeding times the previous day.
We caught the last bus back to town which now leaves at 4pm from outside the sanctuary.
It's about a 25 minute walk from the sanctuary front gate to the feeding area.
Take a hat, umbrella and water and be early. If you're late you may miss seeing them.
A tour here would be a compete waste of money as its so easy and cheap to do it yourself via a local bus. At the bus terminal the staff speak English and are very helpful.
The sanctuary is quite primitive and not set up like the one near Sandakan.
However for $3.33 entrance it's an amazing experience and worth every cent.

Helpful?
5 Thank binvinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Chancey Viewing”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Its a 50/50 chance whether you see even 1 oran atang so don't go there with the high expectation of seeing them even at a distance

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Semenggoh Nature Reserve also viewed

 

Been to Semenggoh Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing