We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place and great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Basaga Holiday Residences
Ranked #1 of 80 Kuching B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful place and great staff”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Having stayed here as part of a "voluntour" I wasn't expecting much as I knew most of the money would be preserved to pay for the conservation of the orangutans. However I was pleasantly surprised. A nice guesthouse, nice staff, clean rooms. The rooms were air conditioned which was a god send in the humidity! The food was nice and there was lots of choice at the bar. I would definitely recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mhaldron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    159
    37
    9
    3
See reviews for
100
185
75
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Despite the fact that it's a bit far from the riverfront (20 mins walk and it was quite pleasant as Kuching is very clean and near city) and the cocktails are very expensive, it's absolutely fantastic. My husband and I got the room just above the reception. It was spacious, clean and well equipped. Wifi works well probably because of the location (the rooms at the back of the other building behind the swimming pool had very weak wifi signal) and the fact that we could open the window with a view on some houses, trees and flowers, it felt like we were actually on holiday. The courtyard restaurant and bar was quite nice and the swimming pool was not bad either. I would definiely recommend.

Room Tip: Check out all types before you decide.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monkeyaruba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedale
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I stayed here several times during my month in Borneo and found the rooms clean and comfortable as well as reasonably priced. The local dishes were well prepared and cheap, not so the drinks with Carlsberg at around £4.50 a pint. More than twice the price of some of the main meals. The wifi was intermittant and I had to move to the bar area to stand a chance of a connection. Staff were excellent, very helpful and friendly. The trees around the residences turn it into an oasis shutting out the bustle. The shuttle is a bonus though a Taxi into Kuching is only around £3. The pool was great and child friendly as it is waist deep. I enjoyed my stay there and will certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Veranda rooms are bigger, overlook the pool and you are on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cobbcrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This is an older place that has been well maintained. The rooms are a good size with good aircon and a comfy bed. The grounds and garden are nice and the pool is great to come back to after a hot day out.
The restaurant has good food and there is a good selection at breakfast.
Reception can arrange transport and tours.
The only negative is it is not close to the town but it is a cheap taxi fare away.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This was a great place to stay. We spent 1 week here and it was very relaxing. The rooms were comfortable and large. The AC worked great and the shower was always hot. The staff was super helpful and could arrange any tour you can imagine. Although we took advantage of their rental car and drove ourselves everywhere. The bar and staff were great. Their service was always fast and the drinks were reasonably priced. Unfortunately their food was never memorable. The appetizers were always good and the kebab was tasty. Do not under any circumstances get the steak. It was literally the toughest piece of meat ive ever eaten. My only complaint about the hotel was it's WIFI. When it worked it was very fast but I could never maintain a connection for more than 10 minutes. It was constantly disconnecting. I can't stress enough how friendly everyone was there. Be sure to take advantage of the shuttle to the waterfront as its about a 25 minute walk. Don't hesitate to stay here. It was the highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JASON B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

This place is fantastic and real value for money. The staff will bend over back wards for you, they always have smiles on there faces, they help you to learn the language ( many thanks to Mel). The airport transfers are great and they have a good choice of food at their restaurant. The atmosphere is quite and calming, the rooms are clean and tidy and are comfortable. They have a pool, WI-FI and a very good selection of food for breakfast. The city is not that far away, they provide free shuttles twice a day to the city or water front. Brandon is a great guy, he knows what there is to do in Kuching and is excellent at organising bookings, transfers. Will come back to Basaga if I am ever in Kuching again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank marmite59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

This hotel is far a way from city center. Although it is a green and peaceful place to stay. But the rooms above the reception are quite noisy. Choose rooms on the terrace. Services are quite good, and all of you will be met and taken care of. Accommodation and restaurants are in line with what to expect on a tropical Borneo, if you do not expect accommodation in a luxury hotel.

Room Tip: No take a room above of reception, but with the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dubsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 54 in Kuching
1,580 reviews
0.8 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 54 in Kuching
998 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#7 of 54 in Kuching
591 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ariva Gateway Kuching
Ariva Gateway Kuching
#27 of 54 in Kuching
254 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basaga Holiday Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basaga Holiday Residences

Property: Basaga Holiday Residences
Address: Lot 69-70 Jalan Tabuan, Kuching 93200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Basaga Holiday Residences 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Basaga! Basaga is located in Kuching, the capital city of Sarawak in Malaysia on the island of Borneo, an island long known for its rich history, culture and eco-tourism. Our property is a truly unique hotel and travel accommodation concept with a great environment and almost resort-like relaxing atmosphere, unlike any that is currently available in the urban Kuching area. Nestled in a secluded, well wooded private property just a mere 7-minute drive away from the City center, Basaga features an exclusive number of 33 well-appointed rooms with full in-room amenities, an annex which houses a private dormitory and leisure facilities contained on the property grounds for our guests' convenience. Basaga's innovative room products and range of services can accommodate the varying needs of tourists and travelers, offering good service, private seclusion with great value for money. It’s more than just a hotel - it’s your residence while in Sarawak. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Basaga Holiday Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basaga Holiday Residences Hotel Kuching
Basaga Holiday Residences Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing