We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Now it feels like we are on holidays”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Basaga Holiday Residences
Ranked #1 of 83 Kuching B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This place had good reviews and looked great on the internet and it did not disapoint. Service was great and staff were happy to help with anything including arranging tours to local attractions. Food and drinks reasonably priced and had a good/cheap airport pickup and drop off service. The place has a lot of character and is not just another hotel that you come and go from but part of the experience. All in all a great stay just a short distance from the city but you don't frrl you are in the city as there are a heaps of trees and it is off the road a bit.

Room Tip: The rooms downstairs open onto the pool area or have a small courtyard and are great but you can hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trudge0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (500)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

316 - 322 of 501 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2012

I checked into the Basaga for two nights with friends as we wanted to see Kuching by night, then retreat to an oasis of calm.

The rooms were bright and spacious & the shower room large. TV reception was poor and the swimming pool very small with room for only two sunbeds. Smoking is permitted on the decking outside the rooms.

On the first night we ate at the Basaga as we arrived quite late. The food was delicious and plentiful.

Breakfast the next day was a Buffet or American style, so suited all tastes.

After a spectacular night out at a restaurant on the nearby beautiful Kuching Water Front we retired to the Basaga's Restaurant/bar area for drinks with another friend who was staying there.
BEWARE: alcohoic drinks are very expensive at the Basaga! But it has a late licence and and service is good.

I would recommend it if you have an early flight from Kuching the next day. Or need to access Kuching to get to the larger shops or supermarkets to get the things that are harder to find in Borneo.

Room Tip: If you have mobility difficulties you need to ask for a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We mainly went to see the Orangutans Rehabilitation Park. Stayed at Basaga for 7 nights. The pool was very refreshing and cleaned every morning. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was adequat. The food is very good as a lot of the locals come at night to dine. It is a 20/25 minute walk to the city centre. The hotel has a shuttle twice a day. There was free internet in our room that only crashed once due to a big thunderstorm. The bed was very comfortable. The rooms were very clean. I think if you stayed downstairs for any legth of time it may be a bit noisy with people upstairs walking around as the floors crackled a bit. A good place to eat seafood is Top Spot in the city. it looks like a car park, but you go to the top floor and it has about 33 stalls. A local sent us to stall 6 and the food was fabulous. Everything is fresh and you select what you want to have cooked and they cook it for you. You can hire a motor cycle down the road next door to Ting and Tang supermarket. 30 ringet a day.

Room Tip: We had room 10 at the end of the Verandah and it was very quiet and good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheriiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed at Basaga for three nights and found our room to be clean and comfortable and the breakfast adequate. What really lets the place down is the walk into Kuching along a very busy main road, made worse by the number of lose, badly fitting or just missing stormwater drain covers on the pavement. The best thing about staying at Basaga was it's close proximity to the Dyak restaurant, probably the best place in the city to eat authentic Bornean food

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HarryS_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in August 2012, one night each side of a stay at the Kebun. We didn't spend a lot of time here but were happy with our stay nonetheless. The rooms were quite big with air conditioning and high ceilings. Beds were clean and comfortable. Breakfast was included and there were plenty of options to choose from. Wifi was also free but was not working in the rooms while we were there. The atmosphere around the bar area at night was great.
The city centre was a short cab ride away. You could walk it but it would take about 20-30 minutes.
Would happily recommend this hotel if you are looking to experience Kuching city.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BB1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

The hotel is nice, as the swimming pool and the restaurant.are The food is very good, great value for money, especially if you like local dishes!!!
The bathroom in our room was ridiculous though, we had the same "plug into the wall" water heater as the one in any basic backpacker accommodation... If you check the pictures of the place you'll notice that there is none of their bathrooms!
You must know that it is a 25 minutes walk/RM12 taxi drive from the city center.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't mind the shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Benjamin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We were in town for the annual Rainforest World Music Festival. My friends booked the accommodations and I was pleasantly surprised by the place once I arrived. The whole compound is peaceful as it's filled with lots of plants and flowers. The buildings and pool are charming with a great common area for sipping coffee.

Our room was huge and could have fit a few more people besides us 3. It was clean and well maintained with a bit of Malaysian charm. Though we didn't spend much time relaxing around the place, it is well suited for doing just that.

Like the other reviews stated, it is far from the city center. However, that was perfect for me.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelGirlKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,720 reviews
0.8 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
1,012 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Citadines Uplands Kuching
0.8 mi away
Ariva Gateway Kuching
Ariva Gateway Kuching
#27 of 55 in Kuching
265 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Marian Boutique Lodging House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basaga Holiday Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basaga Holiday Residences

Address: Lot 69-70 Jalan Tabuan, Kuching 93200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Kuching
Price Range: $20 - $37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Basaga Holiday Residences 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Basaga! Basaga is located in Kuching, the capital city of Sarawak in Malaysia on the island of Borneo, an island long known for its rich history, culture and eco-tourism. Our property is a truly unique hotel and travel accommodation concept with a great environment and almost resort-like relaxing atmosphere, unlike any that is currently available in the urban Kuching area. Nestled in a secluded, well wooded private property just a mere 7-minute drive away from the City center, Basaga features an exclusive number of 33 well-appointed rooms with full in-room amenities, an annex which houses a private dormitory and leisure facilities contained on the property grounds for our guests' convenience. Basaga's innovative room products and range of services can accommodate the varying needs of tourists and travelers, offering good service, private seclusion with great value for money. It’s more than just a hotel - it’s your residence while in Sarawak. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Basaga Holiday Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basaga Holiday Residences Hotel Kuching
Basaga Holiday Residences Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing