We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty little oasis on the outskirts of Kuching”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Basaga Holiday Residences
Ranked #1 of 81 Kuching B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Pretty little oasis on the outskirts of Kuching”
Reviewed February 12, 2012

I was booked into this hotel by the volunteer project I was going to be working at for our meet and greet, and I was very happy with my stay there....... so much so that each free weekend for the next 4 weeks I stayed there for some much needed relax and recuperation! The place has a home from home feel about it and the staff were always very polite and helpful. There is a great restaurant and bar which seems to be very popular with the locals and the menu is quite varied and very reasonably priced. I had a lovely big room on the verandah which overlooked the hotel pool. Air con and good shower too! It is around a 15-20 minute walk into Kuching centre or 5 minutes by taxi at MR150 or £3.00. All in all, a great stay...... was sad to leave :(

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Judypoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    159
    37
    9
    3
See reviews for
99
178
74
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gorgan, Iran
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

i was six nights there. very friendly staffs. small but good breakfast. very good restaurant and bar.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bahar81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

+ Big rooms, excellent friendly girl in the reception, excellent restaurant in the hotel area. WiFi is available.
- Hotel is far from centre (30 min walk). Room stinked by cigarette smoke, although smoking is not allowed in the hotel room.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harijs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2011

Planned a rest and relax trip to Kuching, Sarawak and got a good air/hotel package deal thru Air Asia. This was our first trip to this popular borneo state

Our package was a 4D/3N deal at Basaga Holiday Residence and we totally enjoyed every single day of our stay there

We checked in to a Pool Terrace room for the first 2 nights and then got an upgrade to the Courtyard Terrace on the 3rd night, courtesy of the property manager, who insisted we should try this unique room!

The swimming pool was small and nice and we really enjoyed swimming there in the mornings and in the evenings, did nothing but just laze around - totally relaxing!

The property has a restaurant and bar and the place is normally quite packed with hotel guests and also locals coming over to enjoy a good meal. We tried a few of the items on their menu and the Chef is a champion as he dished up the delicious meals consistently

The Pool view room is just right in front of the pool and the interior of the room is kept really simple and nice. The Courtyard Terrace has a outdoor shower facility within the room and we enjoyed late night showers under the stars!

The service from the Front Office and Restaurant staff was excellent - friendly and humble!

Overall, we truly enjoyed our stay at Basaga and looking forward for another relaxing trip to the hotel in 2012!

Room Tip: Pool view room and the Courtyard Terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank viveknapril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Our family (2 adults and 3 kids) stayed at the Basaga in Sept 2011. We had connecting rooms with one facing the pool, the other opened to the back walkway. They call this connecting set-up the family room and it works really well. The poolside room had 2 twin beds and back room has a queen size bed. The queen-bedded room has a really interesting set-up with the toilet area being separated by just a curtain and your shower area being outside the room in an open courtyard area. Its a bit odd feeling at first but was the favorite thing before it was all over.

The staff was super and took care of all our needs, arranging transport to town and helping with some tour stuff. Cabs to the river area and the nearby mall are RM12. They were great about arranging trips to see the orangutans and other attractions.

Computer was available to use in the lobby, restaurant was OK but way too pricy. Its great that there is plenty of local food in the shop houses just across the empty lot. After a two-minute walk you can get laksa Sarawak, all varieties of noodles, plus halal food and roti canai at the Muslim shop.

The pool is not huge but is quite nice. Given the number of rooms at the hotel, it is adequate.

We'd stay there again if traveling to Kucing. Good atmosphere, super staff, clean rooms.

Room Tip: Get one of the "outdoor" shower rooms, seems odd but its not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KYinSEAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

There is a lot of hotel around Kuching..but what attracts me most is that its a secluded area and it ambience is very romantic....not so far from Kuching town you can rent a car or just call taxi...At night people hang out a lot at the restaurant plus bar.....its the place to be..if yo happen to go to Serawak try and stay here.......

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bee Romperz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

hotel good food great pool good staff helpful a little bit out of town but not to far nice garden setting kuching town very quite not a lot to do but worth a visit

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dariandoreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.8 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 54 in Kuching
984 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
0.8 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 54 in Kuching
1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
0.8 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#6 of 54 in Kuching
1,964 reviews
0.6 mi away
Citadines Uplands Kuching
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basaga Holiday Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basaga Holiday Residences

Property: Basaga Holiday Residences
Address: Lot 69-70 Jalan Tabuan, Kuching 93200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Basaga Holiday Residences 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Basaga! Basaga is located in Kuching, the capital city of Sarawak in Malaysia on the island of Borneo, an island long known for its rich history, culture and eco-tourism. Our property is a truly unique hotel and travel accommodation concept with a great environment and almost resort-like relaxing atmosphere, unlike any that is currently available in the urban Kuching area. Nestled in a secluded, well wooded private property just a mere 7-minute drive away from the City center, Basaga features an exclusive number of 33 well-appointed rooms with full in-room amenities, an annex which houses a private dormitory and leisure facilities contained on the property grounds for our guests' convenience. Basaga's innovative room products and range of services can accommodate the varying needs of tourists and travelers, offering good service, private seclusion with great value for money. It’s more than just a hotel - it’s your residence while in Sarawak. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Basaga Holiday Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basaga Holiday Residences Hotel Kuching
Basaga Holiday Residences Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing