We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely n warm place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Basaga Holiday Residences
Ranked #1 of 80 Kuching B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely n warm place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

Outstanding staffs,very helpful n friendly.perfect place for food lovers at reasonabel price,super relaxing atmosphere, truly treasure in Kuching.20 mins walk to downtown is acceptable when weather is fine. Taking a cab can be alternative way after a long day walking , 12rm is required in general.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billyhou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    158
    37
    9
    2
See reviews for
97
175
73
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Duesseldorf
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

I stayed here two times, had two different rooms and loved each one very much! My first room was really on the backside! It was like a small house... you first enter the garden, have got a wonderful shower outside, and then you enter the house! It's so beautiful! The other room faced to the pool, and of course had the same high standard equipment like my small house on the other side. The restaurant and the whole hotel is decorated with lots of love and with many beautiful details.

I really recommend this place to anybody, who likes to einjoy a familiar, friendly and wonderful atmosphere in Kuching!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Himmelswesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
97 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

We booked 4 nights at Basaga because of all the enthousiastic reviews on tripadvisor: they were all correct.
We were picked up from Kuching Airport by a very friendly man, on our way to the hotel he pointed out special things, and told us about his country. Reception was friendly, welcoming and professional. The room (for 3 pp) was quite big, beautiful, very clean, overlooking the swimming pool.
We had a few dinners at the hotel, the food was really good, and not expensive. Locals also visit the hotel restaurant, this is always a good sign. Breakfast is relatively simple, but we found we had enough choice.
In about 20 minutes you can walk to the waterside in the centre of Kuching, but we usually took a cab because the traffic was quite busy, and there weren't always sidewalks.
Sylvia an the other hotel staff were forever friendly and helpful, they booked our trips, arranged our cabs, and always asked if there was anything they could do for us. There was a computer with free internet in the lobby, also very nice for those of us who don't carry a laptop around. I regret not buying one of the beautfiul handicrafted boxes on sale, as I never saw them as pretty afterwards.

It is a nice hotel to stay with kids, they have a few poolside rooms, you can walk straight from your room into the pool. We didn't check out the dorms, but I would definitely pay a tiny bit more to sleep in a dorm room at Basaga than at a, probably seedier, joint downtown.
Hope Basaga always stay just as they are now, because they are perfect.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AldeCoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
80 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

Staff are friendly & work hard to provide a real home away from home. Rooms are spacious n clean.. Bar courtyard is absolute bliss4r icy cold beers after a day exploring the nearby jungles.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChonyBails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

I stayed at Basaga from the 8th to the 15th of June. I was at the end of 6 weeks traveling in India - Nepal & Malaysia.and i was looking forward to a nice quiet Resort. I was collected at the Airport by Basaga Staff. Arriving at Basaga was a breath of fresh air. Greeted by friendly Staff - told all about the property, shown around & escourted to my Wonderful Room. The property is in a quite area and handy to everything. Restaurant is Excellent as is everything at Basaga. I met many World Wide travellers during my time there and all were more than satisfied. My only desire would have been a Refrigerator in my room.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

We enjoyed our 6 nights here, ate in most nights as the atmophere is lovely.
The pool is great for cooling off after the 20 minute walk into the city and generally a taxi back. Used Basaga is a base for exploring the area and found the staff to be very helpful and friendly. Our accommodation was comfortable, and roomy, nicely set up.

Room Tip: No fridge in room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldseagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2011

A 20 minute walk to town or $3 taxi ride but a lovely place to stay and relax. The rooms are basic but clean and comfortable. The nice thing we found was after a day of sightseeing we could have meal and drink in a very relaxing garden area. The staff are helpful and always have a smile. We would recommend it to those who are on a budget but want to feel spoilt.

Room Tip: Bottom rooms can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldies099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
1.3 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
0.8 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 54 in Kuching
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 54 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Citadines Uplands Kuching
1.0 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
0.8 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#7 of 54 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basaga Holiday Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basaga Holiday Residences

Property: Basaga Holiday Residences
Address: lot 69-70, Jalan Tabuan, Kuching 93200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Basaga Holiday Residences 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Basaga! Basaga is located in Kuching, the capital city of Sarawak in Malaysia on the island of Borneo, an island long known for its rich history, culture and eco-tourism. Our property is a truly unique hotel and travel accommodation concept with a great environment and almost resort-like relaxing atmosphere, unlike any that is currently available in the urban Kuching area. Nestled in a secluded, well wooded private property just a mere 7-minute drive away from the City center, Basaga features an exclusive number of 33 well-appointed rooms with full in-room amenities, an annex which houses a private dormitory and leisure facilities contained on the property grounds for our guests' convenience. Basaga's innovative room products and range of services can accommodate the varying needs of tourists and travelers, offering good service, private seclusion with great value for money. It’s more than just a hotel - it’s your residence while in Sarawak. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Basaga Holiday Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basaga Holiday Residences Hotel Kuching
Basaga Holiday Residences Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing