We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Bar in a Town”
Review of Jambu Restaurant and Lounge - CLOSED

Jambu Restaurant and Lounge
Price range: $0 - $8
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: JAMBU is a unique boutique restaurant housed in a "Rajah Brooke" era bungalow (1930's)surrounded by lush green gardens, ambient lighting, water features and our own private car parking area.Our menu focuses on "Modern Borneo Cuisine" - the flavours of Sarawak with a European twist and feel. We also offer an enticing selection of Tapas - both Spanish and Local Borneo.
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

A great find - this fantastic "pub" is in a historic bungalow house and comes complete with a Kuching cat, who sleeps on the comfortable chair next to the pool table. We called in for a drink and found this place open at 11;55 pm and totally pumping. A very friendly ex-pat/local crowd, who all seemed to know each other however, made a big effort to make a new-comer to town feel welcome. Chris and his lovely wife Ash , are the most hospitable bar owners and make you feel so welcome. People were buying Drover Hats at the time (some ex pat guy walked in with a tall tower of Akubras) and it was the most hilarious evening. I will be back !!! Ps got some good tips on where to go for local jungle treking, and the best river jump-in point - only 45 mins out if town!!

Thank stephtravelwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borneosarawak, Owner at Jambu Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Hi Steph,
Nice to have met you and thanks for taking the time to write your review. It really helps and provides reassurance to new guests who are looking to dine and wine etc etc.
Our cat "gigi" is the house cat - around 6 years now, so she is well settled in and loves her home.
I think the "Hat Man" sold a few in the space of 15mins - lovely Kangaroo skin.... i bought a "Drover" - one with mesh sides - good for the beach and jungle here.
Most weekends, we take a trip to the beach or jungle trek. To all new guests - come over midweek or a Friday evening and ask where the bbc (borneo beach club) is heading - usually a bbq with drinks.....
Dinner at Jambu starts at 6pm and usually finishes around 9.30/10pm - then the fun starts.....
Thank you once again... take care now....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 56 of 105 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2013

Jambu is the cool little bar cum restaurant with a great clientele that you wished was right in your neighbourhood. My friend and I went just to have a cocktail, but found ourselves compelled to offer from the intriguing tapas menu. Meanwhile we were chatting to a bunch of interesting people, including the very warm and welcoming owners. A highlight was having the best tuak (the traditional dyak rice beer) in town. The brewer, Amy, was right there hanging out in the bar--her family has brewed the stuff for generations! Awesome. This was our best night in town.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Heidi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borneosarawak, Owner at Jambu Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Hi Heidi,
Thank you so much for the warm review - we really appreciate it. We have already showed your review to Amy - she was so excited to hear that her name was mentioned.
Did you manage to get the "Tuak" back home for your friends to try......
All the best from Jambu, thank you so much and all the "beach club team" say hi to you.
Hope you had a safe trip home, keep in touch.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Really love this place! Great food, super service, well stocked bar, and most intriguing clientele - an eclectic blend of local regulars and far flung visitors. No visit to Kuching is complete without enjoying an evening at Jambu. Be there or be square ;-)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 420Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borneosarawak, Owner at Jambu Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Hi and happy traveling to you - hpoe you have a great last stop on your trip and a safe journey home.
Yes, Jambu is all about the people who come and enjoy it. There is nothing better than good company, good chatting, good food and a great choice of drinks to choose from.
See you back here next year - we will have the guest rooms and terrace complete by then.
All the best, and thks so much for the review. Cheers now.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Jambu has everything to offer. The place itself is warm and inviting, the staff are friendly and attentive, the food was amazing, and the drinks cold and cocktails delicious. Everyone in there were happy and chatting giving it a real "local" feeling. Amazing night was had by all.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bon17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borneosarawak, Owner at Jambu Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Sama Sama (same same to you) and it was a lovely surprise and an honour to have you as guests at Jambu.
Jambu is not only about great food, drinks, service and style....it is also about the guests and regulars that make Jambu, Jambu.
Thank you so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Walking into Jambu was like entering your favourite home town restaurant or bar. Immediately restauranteurs Chris and Ash's welcome makes you feel like a local and before you know it you're chatting to really interesting people who are regulars and visitors and all are there because the food is really good - tapas menu startlingly delicious - and the service exemplary. We wanted to bottle it all and take it home.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank EJLenahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borneosarawak, Owner at Jambu Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

What a lovely review - so happy that you enjoyed Jambu. Reviews like yours makes us try even harder to provide fantastic service, quality food and an environment that people will love.
We have just installed a new Electronic POS system that will make our service and team that little bit faster and more efficient.
......And a much awaited pool table for customers to enjoy.....

Happy days from Jambu....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jambu Restaurant and Lounge also viewed

 
Kuching, Sarawak
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing