We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best restaurants in Kuching”

Jambu Restaurant and Lounge
Ranked #74 of 610 Restaurants in Kuching
Price range: $0 - $7
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: JAMBU is a unique boutique restaurant housed in a "Rajah Brooke" era bungalow (1930's)surrounded by lush green gardens, ambient lighting, water features and our own private car parking area.Our menu focuses on "Modern Borneo Cuisine" - the flavours of Sarawak with a European twist and feel. We also offer an enticing selection of Tapas - both Spanish and Local Borneo.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

This wonderful restaurant is located in a beautiful historic house and combines delicious food with impeccable service. The owners are extremely friendly and went out of their way to make our evening really special. We will definitely return and highly recommend Jambu as a great place for food, drinks and fun.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank chimpunity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borneosarawak, Owner at Jambu Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2012

Thanks for your kind words and very happy that you enjoyed your evening at Jambu.
Much appreciated and kind regards from Jambu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 67 of 105 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2012

Had a rather disapointing evening in Jambu. I wont go into too much detail as we have read the excuses from the owner on previous reviews. After a long wait (40 mins) for tapas we were served raw chicken. There is no excuse for that. We were offered calamari on the house, and ironically it was very overcooked and rubbery. The rest of the food was below par. A great shame as the building and decor are very nice.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank DomJo-OnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borneosarawak, Owner at Jambu Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Dear Guests,
Agreed and i have no excuses that the Chicken Boxing u ordered was undercooked and raw on the bone - correct. I actually served you throughout your meal on Tuesday, 20th November and did speak to our chef in charge of the frying section - he must have pulled them out a little too soon. I did offer you complimentary Calamares which you fully finished. You also chatted with me and said "everything was fine" ,thanked me for the complimentary Calamares and you were happy with the rest of the tapas dishes you ordered. U ate all of the dishes - Olive Pate, Spicy Eggplant, Mushroom with Garlic, Gambas (Prawn) Mojo and Saute Vegetables and finished your 2 glasses of white wine.
Sorry for the kitchen mistakes, my apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Took my mum out expecting a good dinner experience. We were the only two people in the restaurant at that time. We ordered soup (mushroom and seafood chowder ) which took ages to arrive and when they did come it was terribly disappointing. Diluted and tasteless. The main meal than took another half an hour to come after the soup and it was at best average western food which you could probably find at a hawker stall. Definitely not worth the money ! T

The only 2 things that are worth mentioning are the polite staffs and the atosphere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank jameskwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borneosarawak, Owner at Jambu Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Dear Guests,
Having spoken to my waiter, he mentioned that your mother finished off both of the soups. To note that our soups are made from the real ingredients - for mushroom soup we use 4 types of mushrooms and for the seafood chowder a fish stock base.
We try to leave 20mins between each course, so including the starters it would be around 40mins for the main course to be served from ordering.
My waiter also mentioned that you were in a rush to go to the airport and that you were happy with the meal.....
My sincere apologies if the meal was not to your liking, we want to serve the best meal possible to our guests.
Please note that your comments have been reviewed by my whole team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

picturesque. lovely setting in refurbished bungalow. the food is alright, decent dishes but nothing particularly memorable. great place to hang out and catch up with friends over a few drinks. weekends can be quite happening. good music. good venue for private parties.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tydus_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borneosarawak, Owner at Jambu Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Thank you for your kind review. We are trying so hard to maintain our quality standards. We are in the process of changing some of the dishes to make them more exciting. Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

we set off expectantly for dinner to Jambu having read all the good reviews. however we were absolutely shocked at the poor service and quality of food. Food took ages to arrive and when it finally arrived it was terribly disappointing. The prawns in the gambas were small and not deveined. The chicken fajitas were disappointing especially given that they took almost an hour to arrive! And when we ordered profiteroles which have gotten such rave reviews here, we were told it would take at least 45 minutes given they had run out and would have to make a fresh batch. pretty unacceptable as that's what we had gone for. So we ended up ordering the crepes which took around half an hour to arrive and were nothing great. All in all one of our worst dining experiences ever. the.Dyak for lunch was completely the opposite. Definitely deserves top ranking on Tripadvisor. 4th ranking for Jambu is Definitely not deserved.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank travelbug_July1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borneosarawak, Owner at Jambu Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2012

Sincere apologies, i was not informed at the time by my staff of any complaints from your table.
We have fully reviewed your comments with our whole team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jambu Restaurant and Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Jambu Restaurant and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing