We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option if location isn't an issue”
Review of M Hotels

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
M Hotels
Ranked #33 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
sydney, australia
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Good option if location isn't an issue”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

I stayed here for two nights towards the end of February, 2013. The booking was made directly with the hotel online for a Deluxe King room in Tower A.


Arrival

I had made a booking with the hotel for transport from the airport but upon arrival at the correct time and after looking thoroughly in the airport, I could not find the hotel transport anywhere so that was not a promising start to the stay.

I managed to catch a taxi to the hotel, although perhaps I could have called the hotel to ask them why there was no van in sight.

Upon arriving at the hotel reception, I asked about the missing van but the reception staff member didn’t seem to have anything to say about it. I didn’t receive an explanation or any offer of a refund. The reception just seemed to want to gloss over the whole issue and I wonder if they even bothered to book the van for airport transfer. The manner of the check-in was otherwise OK and reasonably friendly but obviously not excellent.


The Room

I was impressed with the hotel quality after getting into the lift, as everything appeared in good condition and to be of good quality for the hotel range. The room immediately appeared comfortable and welcoming. It looked like a good 4-star hotel room. I was staying in Tower A and the rooms in this tower were all new.

There was a nice 32-inch LCD TV with a reasonable range of channels. Importantly, the bed was comfortable but the air-con produced an airflow which was too strong and wasn’t finely adjustable so I did sometimes just switch it off to prevent the room from becoming too cold. The internet wi-fi and also the wired internet access were complimentary and speeds were fine, it’s not possible to get the fastest speeds in Malaysia.

The bathroom appeared to be simple and clean with a standard range of toiletries.

The view out the room was quite decent, including a view of the river nearby. The buildings in the vicinity didn’t look exceptionally easy on the eye but it was still alright once the general natural feel of the place was appreciated.

Minor complaints related to the door being quite hard to open and close. There was no morning paper provided, although perhaps that wouldn’t be expected at this price range.

Please note that I have videos of the hotel room, which can be accessed through the link in my profile section.


Location and Public Facilities

The hotel is not located in the city centre but it’s not too far from it either and there is a free shuttle service to the centre, which I found out about later but didn’t manage to try. Otherwise, a taxi might cost around RM 12 to the city centre. If not heading to the city centre, there is a shopping centre connected to the hotel as part of the same complex. There are some eateries in the centre and a supermarket in the basement level, so provisions should be easy to source. Another shopping and dining option nearby is the Crown Square shopping centre, where I went to try what appeared to be very average Japanese food. However, it’s difficult to walk to this shopping centre from the 360, as there’s no clear path and there were wide ditches along the way.

Later, I found out that there is a coffee shop serving reasonable char siu with rice nearby, which probably is only open during the day, as I didn’t notice it at night. There is also a pub in the shopping centre, which would serve food and drinks till late at night.

I had dinner in the hotel’s Horizon Café the first night, service was distinctly underwhelming with a slightly disinterested feel to it and the food was just alright. The next morning, I also had breakfast there and found that again, the breakfast buffet offering was quite bland and average with a limited selection on offer.

The hotel has a swimming pool, shaped like a quadrant of a circle so it wouldn’t be really possible to swim a great distance uninterrupted. I don’t believe it opens early as it was under cleaning and maintenance when I visited after breakfast.


The Staff

Staff service levels could be improved. There was just a sense of disinterest. The attitude was reflected in the response or lack thereof to my query about the missing airport transport. Also, service in the café was also similarly disinterested, which just flowed through the attitude of the staff without necessarily being reflected in any single incident. Nevertheless, the check-out process was friendly enough.


Conclusion

The hotel provides excellent value and the main attraction would have to be the good quality of the rooms. Location could be an issue but then again, Kuching is not a very large place so the city centre is still quite nearby. If service standards could be improved, it would be an even better option for a Kuching stay.


NOTE: I have videos of the hotel room and public areas, which can be accessed through the link in my profile section.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank perryw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    79
    28
    7
    12
See reviews for
40
28
16
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Stayed in the hotel for 2 nights at Tower A.

Pro:-
Friendly and approachable staff.
Clean room and toilet.
Spacious room
Rooms have Wifi.

Con:-
Key card faulty on the 2nd day.
Water draining in the toilet basin is slow.
No convenient shops around the hotel area.
The only place that you can find food around the hotel area is at the alfresco pub (located at Tower B) after the room service kitchen close at 10pm.

Recommended for travelers looking for good hotel service but doesn't mind the location.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HB_PenCiL-00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

The worst experience ever on our last day staying here!! We wanted to park our car at the basement last night but the basement entrance pole was not working & so we complaint to the front desk about this. Unfortunately nothing has been done by the management when we tried again to go down to the basement to park our car after 2 hrs. Thus we parked our car at the corner of the hotel (still within the hotel area) together with 3 other cars!! This morning i found that my car window got smashed together with 3 other cars!! According to the security there's no cctv at the corner & the same thing happened so many times yet the management didnt do anything about it!!!!!!! Shame on u 360 hotel!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarena SV V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuching hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

We reached the hotel about 6pm Saturday and straight away went out looking for a place to eat. After walking for about 30 minutes even to the point of walking to nearby shopping centre it was still in vain. finally we called a cab. The cost is RM12 per trip to Kuching city centre. The room might sound cheaper but need to add RM24 to find food at Kuching city. Having said that the room is really nice and I would say belongs to five star hotel. The distance might kill its future. I remember Palace of Golden Horses in Sri Kembangan. It was a gorgeous 6 star hotel which is now dilapidated due to location.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank drfauzims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

In November of this year (2013) my wife and I spent five nights at the 360 Hotel in Kuching, Sarawak. We deliberately booked into Tower A because this, we were assured, is entirely non-smoking (Tower B permits smoking).

Our experience in Tower A was a nightmare. Every night – quite often in the early hours of the morning – an overpowering stink of cigarettes streamed out of the air-conditioning vent, so bad that our only recourse was to turn the air-con off. This, of course, had its own costs: very soon the room temperature was quite uncomfortable.

We tackled the hotel’s management about our discomfort, and I have had substantial dialogue with them by email since our departure. It’s fairly clear that they will do nothing to reign in errant smokers, and we therefore issue this warning to anybody who can’t cope with SIGNIFICANT cigarette smoke pollution: do NOT check in to the 360 Hotel in Kuching!

G. Woods, Melbourne Australia

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam, Selangor, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 5, 2013

I stayed at Tower A recently on 30 nov 2013. Although the building looks old but the room is very clean and comfortable. Check in was smooth and the service is very good as well. As for the breakfast, it was worth it with the price.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChangJosephine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

I am staying in the Tower A which is the newer block.

I got this room from internet booking for the price of RM155.00 nett. I find this hotel worth every cents.

Although it does not look impressive from the building outside,but i must comment that the room is very comfortable.

Checking in was smooth, i have Deluxe King room without breakfast.

Once i entered the room, i was really pleased and impress of the setting. A nice glass top working table and chair, a very comfortable king size bed and the pillows are soft too. Clean bathroom and a 32 '' LCD TV too.

Lighting and WIFI is good too. I notice they have a few router on each floor which is a double plus point for business traveler.

Air-con is new and easy to adjust. Bathroom is clean and bright too..

I really like the room and make me wanted to stay in the room and enjoy it to the max before i check out.

Besides, there are some retail outlets at the ground floor. It is quite convenience for customer to grab some food and drinks as well.

Unfortunately, i have no time to use their facilities.

Highly recommend this hotel for business traveler as it is a comfortable and value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kcie2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
1.0 mi away
Ariva Gateway Kuching
Ariva Gateway Kuching
#27 of 55 in Kuching
251 reviews
1.2 mi away
Abell Hotel
Abell Hotel
#13 of 55 in Kuching
140 reviews
0.8 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Harbour View Hotel
Harbour View Hotel
#20 of 55 in Kuching
185 reviews
1.4 mi away
Citadines Uplands Kuching
1.1 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#9 of 55 in Kuching
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to M Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about M Hotels

Property: M Hotels
Address: Jalan Datuk Abang Abdul Rahim | Hock Lee Centre Hotel Tower, Kuching 93450, Malaysia (Formerly 360 Hotel Urban Resort)
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — M Hotels 3*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
M Hotels Hock Lee Center located within 5 minutes distance from Kuching's Central Business District and offer the choice Two Towers namely Tower A and Tower B. The Tower A comprises 178 hotel rooms and suites while the Tower B offers 95 rooms and apartments and both tower offering the business and leisure traveler's sheer comfort while visiting the Capital city of Sarawak. Hotel facilities in the hotel include an expanded coffeehouse ( Horizon Cafe), 3 Mid size seminar rooms with seating capacity of 50 to 100 persons and a business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your M Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
M Hotels Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing