We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A safe choice”
Review of The LimeTree Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The LimeTree Hotel
Ranked #2 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2010

The limetree was a very good all round hotel. Very comfy beds, nice rooms with good air conditioning and well finished. The breakfast was also good and it is in a really good location. The rooftop bar is really cool but we never actually saw another person up there other than staff. The room was a little noisy but that is to be expected in the city. After a few days out of Kuching we returned to this hotel which shows that we were more than happy with it.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samuel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (999)
There are newer reviews for The LimeTree Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

800 - 806 of 999 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2010

Really liked this hotel. Although not located on the waterfront, it is only an 8 minute walk away. Rooms are not particularly large, but immaculately clean and had a superb shower. The lime theme throughout the hotel is lovely - delicious lime juice at breakfast and lime shower gel. Breakfast was excellent and changed on a daily basis, which was great as we stayed there 6 nights. The shuttle service to and from the airport was really handy and actually slightly cheaper than taking a taxi. The only problem we experienced was on night one of our stay, when we were kept awake by our neighbours and then awoke at 6am by the TV in our neighbouring room - the walls in the hotel are quite thin. However, the owners of the hotel were happy to move us to a quieter room and we really enjoyed the remainder of our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HelenCY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2010

We stayed two nights here. As a hotel I suppose it is kind of like a smart city inn, although smaller and friendlier with more character. The staff were lovely (although over two weeks I don't think we met an unfriendly person in the whole of Borneo!). Location is absolutely fine - an easy walk into the Chinese area or the quayside, didn't feel unsafe when we walked at night although take usual care etc..
Rooms are clean and fine, breakfast was good. We booked before we left UK and I would be quite happy to do so again. Airport pick up was as arranged, cost perhaps a little more than a taxi but quite welcome after a long flight.
Kuching is worth a couple of nights - mainly for the food - try the topspot food court in the evening and of course the quayside. Don't miss Bako and try to stay over there if you can.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charliemoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2010

Pros - Its a good looking hotel, very modern inside and the rooftop bar is stunning. Also the rooms were clean and they offered free internet access when we visited.

Cons - Though the staff were very polite the service was a bit inconsistent they did a good job of organising a tour for us to visit the wildlife reserve, however we were then given bad info about a shuttle bus causing us a fair amount of inconvenience.

The biggest problem when we visited was building work, kinda ruined our stay a bit, I appreciate some of these things are unavoidable, however I really didn’t think the hotel did enough to compensate their guests which again I would consider to be a service issue.

In conclusion I would say it’s a good hotel but there’s definitely room improvement as far as service is concerned.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flying_Scotzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JTayKuching, Resident Manager at The LimeTree Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2010

Dear flyingscotsmen,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay our hotel. We are disappointed to learn that the service rendered by our front desk on the shuttle service was not of our usual standards during your stay and we apologise for the inconvenience caused. As consistent, quality service remains our top priority, your comments were reviewed in detail and we have since guided our team to ensure there is no recurrence in future.

With regard to the building work, it was a critical 2-day task for one of our lifts which had only commenced during the day. If you had stayed indoors in the hotel for long, we would fully understand the noise disturbances you had experienced and we wish you had sought further assistance from management to give us the opportunity to make your stay more comfortable. Although we had given all our guests a discounted stay during this period, your feedback is very important to us and will be shared with management for their improvement on better handling of such matters in future. Please accept our sincere apologies for this matter as we at The LimeTree Hotel remain committed to correct our shortcomings.

We thank you again for your invaluable feedback; please do not hesitate to contact me directly if your travel plans ever take you back to Kuching and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Best regards,

Julie Tay - Resident Manager
The LimeTree Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2010

The hotel is located at the junction of Jalan Abel and Jalan Petanak and the Chinatown is just right behind it. It has 5 floors and on the top floor is a cozy bar, Limelight, that overlooks the Kuching River and has quite a nice view. Breakfast is served at Sublime Cafe on the same floor as the lobby; good spread and the Sarawak Laksa is a must try. Most of the Kuching town attractions are just walking distance from the hotel.

Check-In was quick and the receptionists were helpful and friendly. There are 2 lifts but one is under renovation; starts around 9 in the morning until late evening. They gave me a 20% discount because of the inconvenience caused by the renovation and it's a very thoughtful gesture which was much appreciated.

I was given a double room on the forth floor. First impression, cozy and clean but the sliding door to the bathroom is a little flimsy. Basic amenities include kettle, cups, flat screen TV, shower cap, all in one lime gel wash, iron (upon request) and hair dryer. It would be great if they could include tooth brush, mini fridge bar & safe box (Note: Good fluffy pillows. Had a very good sleep on it). The bathroom is on the small side but everything is well placed. Good water pressure and water heated up quickly.

Restaurants, cafes & pubs are just stone throw away from the hotel. Be sure to check-out Travillion which is quite near to the hotel as well. Given the reasonable price and service offered, i wouldn't mind coming back to this cozy budget hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lewky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2010

My family (2 adults and a 4 and 6 year old) stayed in a family suite at the LimeTree Hotel in March 2010.

The corner suite was large, bright and airy with huge windows and modern décor. We stayed for 4 nights and had heaps of room because our suite was huge! It had 2 bedrooms with queen beds and flat screen TVs, a kitchenette, sitting area and 2 bathrooms (one with a bath). Free soft drinks and juice in the fridge and a fruit bowl were a nice touch.

The buffet breakfasts were devine!! Cereal, pastries, fruit, bacon, eggs were all good for the kids but my husband and I particularly loved the Sarawak Laksa or sweet and sour fish and the other interesting local dishes that were on offer. There was heaps of variety and it was all delicious.

We went up to the rooftop bar for dinner on the first night and it was so good we went back a few more times. The rooftop area is big and has a retractable roof that they open at night. The kids really enjoyed playing in the space and colouring in at the large tables while we relaxed with a beer. The views of Kuching from the roof top were amazing! We didn’t know that food wasn’t served from the bar and went to order some on the first night. The friendly wait staff said “No worries” and gave us a menu from the restaurant downstairs. We ordered dinner and they brought it up for us to eat on the rooftop. It was never crowded and a great place to relax at the end of the day with good food, cold beer and no worries.

The whole hotel was spotlessly clean and everything (the room, food, drinks etc) cost less than I would expect for the quality. The staff were all very friendly and attentive. I would highly recommend the LimeTree Hotel to anyone travelling to Kuching.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sugarbooger77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2010

The hotel is really nice and equipped with all comforts, including Wi-Fi connection in every room.
Well located, also walk to all major attractions of Kuching.
Very nice is also the bar of the upper terrace with views of Kuching.
The rooms are clean, the staff is very friendly and helpful in assisting the client in its requests.
The only comment I have to do is on breakfast: there is little choice for us Europeans.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pearl_of_Labuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JTayKuching, Resident Manager at The LimeTree Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2010

Dear Pearl_of_Labuan,

Greetings from The LimeTree Hotel, Kuching! Thank you for your kind comments which we have shared with our staff. It is a pleasure to learn that you had overall enjoyed your stay and we appreciate your highlight on our breakfast, which we will strive to improve with a wider selection of healthy, international choices. We look forward to welcoming you back to The LimeTree Hotel!

Best regards,
Julie Tay - Resident Manager
The LimeTree Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,611 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
0.3 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#9 of 55 in Kuching
606 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#6 of 55 in Kuching
2,008 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#4 of 55 in Kuching
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The LimeTree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The LimeTree Hotel

Address: Lot 317 Jalan Abell, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kuching
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kuching
#2 Business Hotel in Kuching
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kuching
Price Range: $32 - $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The LimeTree Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in city centre of Kuching and adjacent to the charming new Chinatown Padungan area, this mid-range boutique hotel offers 42 rooms and 8 suites equipped with free wi-fi internet access throughout the hotel, complimentary hearty breakfast buffet, built-in universal sockets, LCD TVs, plush bedding and rain-showers - all for the comfort of sophisticated travellers today. The property has only non-smoking rooms and provides designated smoking areas. As an independent, family-owned establishment, this is a unique, eco-conscious hotel with a passion for limes. It offers an exciting dining experience at its Cafe Sublime with local, international and vegetarian delights. Its LimeLight Rooftop Lounge serves signature lime cocktails and refreshing drinks over stunning views of the Kuching city and river. Their dynamic and highly motivated staff and management are eager to welcome all guests to enjoy a LimeTree experience, and to "have the lime of their lives" in Kuching! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The LimeTree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Limetree Hotel Kuching
The LimeTree Hotel Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing