We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would recommend without hesitation.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The LimeTree Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The LimeTree Hotel
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Kuching
Certificate of Excellence
birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Would recommend without hesitation.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2010

We stayed two nights here. As a hotel I suppose it is kind of like a smart city inn, although smaller and friendlier with more character. The staff were lovely (although over two weeks I don't think we met an unfriendly person in the whole of Borneo!). Location is absolutely fine - an easy walk into the Chinese area or the quayside, didn't feel unsafe when we walked at night although take usual care etc..
Rooms are clean and fine, breakfast was good. We booked before we left UK and I would be quite happy to do so again. Airport pick up was as arranged, cost perhaps a little more than a taxi but quite welcome after a long flight.
Kuching is worth a couple of nights - mainly for the food - try the topspot food court in the evening and of course the quayside. Don't miss Bako and try to stay over there if you can.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charliemoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    442
    95
    11
    2
See reviews for
143
450
95
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
56 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2010

Pros - Its a good looking hotel, very modern inside and the rooftop bar is stunning. Also the rooms were clean and they offered free internet access when we visited.

Cons - Though the staff were very polite the service was a bit inconsistent they did a good job of organising a tour for us to visit the wildlife reserve, however we were then given bad info about a shuttle bus causing us a fair amount of inconvenience.

The biggest problem when we visited was building work, kinda ruined our stay a bit, I appreciate some of these things are unavoidable, however I really didn’t think the hotel did enough to compensate their guests which again I would consider to be a service issue.

In conclusion I would say it’s a good hotel but there’s definitely room improvement as far as service is concerned.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flying_Scotzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JTayKuching, Resident Manager at The LimeTree Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2010
Dear flyingscotsmen,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay our hotel. We are disappointed to learn that the service rendered by our front desk on the shuttle service was not of our usual standards during your stay and we apologise for the inconvenience caused. As consistent, quality service remains our top priority, your comments were reviewed in detail and we have since guided our team to ensure there is no recurrence in future.

With regard to the building work, it was a critical 2-day task for one of our lifts which had only commenced during the day. If you had stayed indoors in the hotel for long, we would fully understand the noise disturbances you had experienced and we wish you had sought further assistance from management to give us the opportunity to make your stay more comfortable. Although we had given all our guests a discounted stay during this period, your feedback is very important to us and will be shared with management for their improvement on better handling of such matters in future. Please accept our sincere apologies for this matter as we at The LimeTree Hotel remain committed to correct our shortcomings.

We thank you again for your invaluable feedback; please do not hesitate to contact me directly if your travel plans ever take you back to Kuching and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Best regards,

Julie Tay - Resident Manager
The LimeTree Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2010

The hotel is located at the junction of Jalan Abel and Jalan Petanak and the Chinatown is just right behind it. It has 5 floors and on the top floor is a cozy bar, Limelight, that overlooks the Kuching River and has quite a nice view. Breakfast is served at Sublime Cafe on the same floor as the lobby; good spread and the Sarawak Laksa is a must try. Most of the Kuching town attractions are just walking distance from the hotel.

Check-In was quick and the receptionists were helpful and friendly. There are 2 lifts but one is under renovation; starts around 9 in the morning until late evening. They gave me a 20% discount because of the inconvenience caused by the renovation and it's a very thoughtful gesture which was much appreciated.

I was given a double room on the forth floor. First impression, cozy and clean but the sliding door to the bathroom is a little flimsy. Basic amenities include kettle, cups, flat screen TV, shower cap, all in one lime gel wash, iron (upon request) and hair dryer. It would be great if they could include tooth brush, mini fridge bar & safe box (Note: Good fluffy pillows. Had a very good sleep on it). The bathroom is on the small side but everything is well placed. Good water pressure and water heated up quickly.

Restaurants, cafes & pubs are just stone throw away from the hotel. Be sure to check-out Travillion which is quite near to the hotel as well. Given the reasonable price and service offered, i wouldn't mind coming back to this cozy budget hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lewky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2010

My family (2 adults and a 4 and 6 year old) stayed in a family suite at the LimeTree Hotel in March 2010.

The corner suite was large, bright and airy with huge windows and modern décor. We stayed for 4 nights and had heaps of room because our suite was huge! It had 2 bedrooms with queen beds and flat screen TVs, a kitchenette, sitting area and 2 bathrooms (one with a bath). Free soft drinks and juice in the fridge and a fruit bowl were a nice touch.

The buffet breakfasts were devine!! Cereal, pastries, fruit, bacon, eggs were all good for the kids but my husband and I particularly loved the Sarawak Laksa or sweet and sour fish and the other interesting local dishes that were on offer. There was heaps of variety and it was all delicious.

We went up to the rooftop bar for dinner on the first night and it was so good we went back a few more times. The rooftop area is big and has a retractable roof that they open at night. The kids really enjoyed playing in the space and colouring in at the large tables while we relaxed with a beer. The views of Kuching from the roof top were amazing! We didn’t know that food wasn’t served from the bar and went to order some on the first night. The friendly wait staff said “No worries” and gave us a menu from the restaurant downstairs. We ordered dinner and they brought it up for us to eat on the rooftop. It was never crowded and a great place to relax at the end of the day with good food, cold beer and no worries.

The whole hotel was spotlessly clean and everything (the room, food, drinks etc) cost less than I would expect for the quality. The staff were all very friendly and attentive. I would highly recommend the LimeTree Hotel to anyone travelling to Kuching.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sugarbooger77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2010

The hotel is really nice and equipped with all comforts, including Wi-Fi connection in every room.
Well located, also walk to all major attractions of Kuching.
Very nice is also the bar of the upper terrace with views of Kuching.
The rooms are clean, the staff is very friendly and helpful in assisting the client in its requests.
The only comment I have to do is on breakfast: there is little choice for us Europeans.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pearl_of_Labuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JTayKuching, Resident Manager at The LimeTree Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2010
Dear Pearl_of_Labuan,

Greetings from The LimeTree Hotel, Kuching! Thank you for your kind comments which we have shared with our staff. It is a pleasure to learn that you had overall enjoyed your stay and we appreciate your highlight on our breakfast, which we will strive to improve with a wider selection of healthy, international choices. We look forward to welcoming you back to The LimeTree Hotel!

Best regards,
Julie Tay - Resident Manager
The LimeTree Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2010

Although positioned 250m off the main tourist road near the Waterfront, this small simple hotel has everything you might need except for a pool to cool off in at the end of a hot day. Comfortable adequate room, simple breakfast in a section of the foyer, the possibility of food at other times and a pleasant roof-top area for a drink. The whole place is impeccably clean, the staff friendly and helpful, there are computers in the foyer for free internet use by patrons. It is not for those seeking high-end luxury,but it has no pretensions to be anything more sophisticated than a clean comfortable place to stay for a few days. Only oddities were (a) no hot water supply to the wash basin, but the kettle solved that shaving problem; and (b) removing the key from the lights as you leave turns off the fridge too, so if you keep anything needing refrigeration you have to leave your key in place which is OK if you are a party of two people. Oh, and an extra towel rail in the bathroom would be helpful. Best feature was a multinational electrical multisocket in the room - I not seen one before in any hotel, and essential if you have forgotten to pack your adaptors.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seadoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JTayKuching, Resident Manager at The LimeTree Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2010
Dear seadoc,

Thank you for staying with us at The LimeTree Hotel, Kuching recently. We are pleased that you appreciated our facilities and amenities; to us, a clean, secure, functional yet comfortable room, internet (free wi-fi) bundled with great service are essential for today's sophisticated travelers! We recognize the issue with the mini-fridge which had been a result of a complex wiring fault and we apologise if you had been inconvenienced. Please be assured that we will commence our scheduled rectification work for this, as we continue to provide two keys upon check-ins for such Executive rooms. We thank you for your constructive feedback which no doubt attributes to the improvement of our amenities in future upgrades.

We look forward to welcoming you again, as my team and I strive for continuous improvement and excellence!

Best regards,

Julie Tay - Resident Manager
The LimeTree Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level Contributor
311 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2010

Clearly a converted office block and just a short, sweaty walk to the main part of town.

Staff very friendly and helpful. I would say that the deluxe rooms were nt worth it and the better value in the cheaper superior room (if I have remembered that right). The room was small for two lads with a ton of kit for 2 weeks of trekking but when we stayed in the cheaper room after a few days away, there was more space.

Nice roof top bar, although not many people use it and it does give a good view of the city. The breakfast buffet was plentiful and good. free wifi access and all in all, well worth staying there

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoftusroadW12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.8 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
0.2 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 54 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,456 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#5 of 54 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#7 of 54 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,931 reviews
1.4 mi away
Citadines Uplands Kuching
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The LimeTree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The LimeTree Hotel

Property: The LimeTree Hotel
Address: Lot 317 Jalan Abell, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kuching
#2 Business Hotel in Kuching
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kuching
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The LimeTree Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the Kuching city centre and adjacent to the charming Chinatown Padungan area, this non-smoking boutique hotel offers 50 rooms and suites equipped with free wi-fi internet access throughout the hotel, complimentary breakfast, built-in universal sockets, LCD TVs, plush bedding and rain-showers - all for the comfort of sophisticated travellers today. As a unique, eco-conscious and trendy hotel with a passion for limes, The LimeTree Hotel offers an exciting dining experience at its Cafe Sublime with local, international and vegetarian delights. LimeLight Rooftop Lounge serves signature lime cocktails over breathtaking views of the city and river. Our highly motivated team are eager to welcome all guests to enjoy a LimeTree experience in Kuching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The LimeTree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Limetree Hotel Kuching
The LimeTree Hotel Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing