We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The LimeTree Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$62
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
$40
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$111
$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$40
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$81
$65
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$41
$34
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
M Hotels(Kuching)
$35
$33
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Abell Hotel(Kuching)
$34
$27
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kuching Waterfront Lodge(Kuching)(Great Value!)
$27
$25
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$55
$29
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,025)
Filter reviews
1,025 results
Traveler rating
450
462
99
12
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
450
462
99
12
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslime treerooftop barlime juicelaksabanana frittersmarmaladewelcome drinkwestern optionsthe riverfamily suitechinatown areaairport transferchong choontop floorhotel is locateddeluxe roomstayed nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
835 - 840 of 1,025 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2010

This hotel lived up to its excellent reputation. The staff are very friendly and obligingly organised a trip to the Sarawak Cultural Village for us. We were always greeted with a smile, which makes all the difference. The rooms are very clean, spacious and comfortable. The hotel is a comfortable walking distance from Kuching's main attractions including the Waterfront and Museum.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SMDWesternAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JTayKuching, Resident Manager at The LimeTree Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2010

Dear SMDWesternAustralia,

Greetings from The LimeTree Hotel, Kuching! Thank you for staying with us during recent trip to Kuching. Our team was very happy to know they have made your stay a pleasant one and your satisfaction is indeed our most valuable reward.

We will continue to improve our facilities and services and we thank you for your support and kind comments on our hotel.

Many best wishes to you from all of us at The LimeTree Hotel and we hope to see you again!

Best regards,

Julie Tay - Resident Manager
The LimeTree Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2010

We stayed at the LimeTree Hotel for 3 nights and really liked the hotel. We didn’t want to stay at one of the chain hotels and had read excellent reviews on Trip Advisor.

We booked an executive double. There are some cheaper rooms without windows for RM100 (£20) which is an excellent option for a backpacker on a budget who doesn’t want a dorm room. This price includes breakfast. Our room was a good size with a very comfy bed. The hotel only opened in May 2009 so all the rooms are spotless clean and modern. The bathroom was a good size equipped with lots of toiletries. We had a TV, fridge (with some drinks provided FOC – this applies to executive doubles and above I think), a safe and good air conditioning.

The hotel has a travel desk and the staff are very helpful, making suggestions on restaurants and trips from the hotel. The hotel also has a minibus and a car which will take you around town or wherever you want to go for the same price as a taxi. This is really helpful if you’re worried about local taxis or being over-charged as a tourist and although there were plenty of other people in the hotel we never had a problem getting hold of the hotel transport. The hotel does airport pickup and drop off.

The restaurant is good. Breakfast has a good selection. We had cereal, fresh fruit, toast and then eggs cooked to order. There was also a selection of Malaysian foods for breakfast. I note some trip advisor reviews have criticised breakfast, but for us there was plenty. We also ate dinner in the hotel one night. It’s a small-ish menu but there is international and Malaysian food. I had a delicious crab sandwich with chips and coleslaw, and my boyfriend had chicken with Sarawak pepper sauce which was also lovely.

One of the best features of the hotel is the rooftop bar. It only opened in January 2010 but is a hidden gem. The bar has an indoor seated area with a projector screen; my boyfriend was pleased as he could watch the football. There is also a lovely outside area with views over the city. There are a selection of drinks, Tiger draught, wine at a reasonable price and good cocktails, also a good selection of premium brand spirits.

Rather than having a list of 25 cocktails which are all average they have a list of 8 or so cocktails which are made well. I have found that cocktails in Asia are very weak, but these were nice – especially the LimeTree Mojito. Only RM12. The opening prices finish in February though. We sat in the bar most evenings and watched the sunset. I took my laptop onto the roof and made the most of the free hotel wide WiFi which is fast and reliable.

There is also a darts board and sound-proofed karaoke room which is quite popular with the locals!

Overall this hotel is an excellent 3* family run hotel in a good location with good facilities, brilliant staff (better than you find in some 4 and 5* hotels in Asia) and you will not want for anything if you stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SamAndCrakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JTayKuching, Resident Manager at The LimeTree Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2010

Dear Sandh_uk,

Thank you so much for such a great review of The LimeTree Hotel! We were overjoyed to know that our team was able to make your stay an enjoyable and memorable one.

You may wish to know that the rooms without windows are our Superior rooms and as you mentioned, the rooms in February were under a festive offer of RM100 per room/night with complimentary breakfast. The Superior room is also larger than the Deluxe rooms which have windows and a view.

We are also really glad that you enjoyed our LimeLight Rooftop Lounge; we too love the breeze and view in the evenings there! In any case, we will continually strive for excellence to make our lounge one of the best things our hotel has to offer.

It was great having you and your boyfriend with us during your stay and we thank you again for sharing your experience. We wish you safe travels and look forward to welcoming you back when you are in Kuching!

Best regards,

Julie Tay - Resident Manager
The LimeTree Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2010

Booked via internet and how pleased we were. From being picked up at the airport to leaving the staff were so helpful, polite and friendly.
Only had breakfast there but this was great with an excellent choice of dishes to cater for most nationalities.
The hotel is clean, smart and comfortable and if you want a reasonably priced hotel in Kuching then look no further.
As we were leaving late and the hotel wasn't full they let us stay in our room FOC till it was time to leave.
I can't praise them enough.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flashpacker60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2010

Modern 3 star hotel, fairly well located - 5/10 mins from waterfront. A newish hotel, so everything is pristine. Probably the most comfortable bed I've ever had The staff were extremely helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The customer services manager always seemed to be duty (from 8am until midnight!), and she spoke good English.
Hard to make any criticisms; there were no pastries at breakfast on one day, however there were very few Western guests, and it was pretty quiet anyway in the lull before Chinese New Year. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alexander1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2010

This is a new boutique hotel in Kuching, which I would definitely recommend to others. The owners also have a lime plantation in the country, so limes (and lime-coloured decor) are a theme throughout. It is good value (about US$40 a night B&B), centrally located (about 5-10 minutes walk from the centre of town, close to restaurants and shops), good facilities, impeccably clean, and a very friendly staff. We had a few unusual requests (such as keeping cheese in the fridge) which were happily accepted with no bother whatsoever. The rooms are not large, and are certainly rather minimalist - sood floors, straight-line furniture and lots of white. But they have very comfortable beds, great bathroom with rain shower, flat screen TV, and in-room tea & coffee facilities. The hotel also has free wireless internet, plus computers in the lobby for use by guests. There's a great bar on the roof (try the lime mojito - delicious), and a decent (if rather boring) restaurant. Although can't think why anyone would need to eat in, as Kuching is full of wonderful street food and little local restaurants. A word of warning to the nictoine-addicted: the hotel is non-smoking. But a small table, chairs, plants and square of fake grass is provided outside the door for smokers to indulge.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frequenttraveller63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews