We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, wonderful wonderful hotel and staff”
Review of The LimeTree Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The LimeTree Hotel
Ranked #2 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Spent the last 5 nights at the Lime Tree. Everything about it was excellent but the best thing they have is their staff. from the moment you walk through the front door the staff greet you with a lovely smile and a pleasant manner. The spacious enough room was great on the 4 th floor. Lovely light timber floors white spreads and a small lime green cushion. The ensuite was spacious and both the room and ensuite spotless. The breakfast,is A plus with a wide variety of continental and cooked items plus fruit bead and buns and cake AND the Lime Jam is to die for. There was also pleanty of Asia food and good coffee. The area is pleasantly presently with lots of white and some lime green but not over done. The lunch food is excellent and their curry was yummy. We ate at the rooftop restaurant on two occasions and ordered the 3 course meal with tea or coffee for 38 ringets $13.00 aussie. Cocktails are $18.00r $6.00 Aussie. The rooftop is a pleasant place to eat. Did 2 tours from there and they were ordinary but then we had the best tour with Kuching Off-road who gave us the best tour we have ever had so I guess we were spoilt. It,was,off the beaten track and not touristy. Found it on the web. And booked before we arrived and can only say to go go on that one. The staff of the hotel are a credit to the management...Well done. The gift shop has the best gifts and are cheap compared and better quality than else where. Would stay again and would recommend it. Cannot fault it go have The Lime of your life

Room Tip: bring ear plugs formSaturday night in Kuching
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,015)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

375 - 381 of 1,015 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2014

The Lime Tree is a modern hotel with wonderfully attentive staff. Rooms are clean and well proportioned and we had adjoining rooms which were ideal for a family. Kids loved the breakfast especially banana fritters! We walked out from the hotel but couldn't find much around very locally although looking from the balcony of the bar later that evening - it may all have been in the opposite direction. Love the quirky Lime theme everywhere!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

The Limetree hotel is very much a mid-range hotel. The rooms are well-sized, the bathroom is modern and the service is good. The breakfast was also pleasant, but nothing out of the ordinary for a Malaysian hotel. We found the location a bit further out than suggested by other reviews and as two females, did feel a little intimidated walking back from the main part of the town in the dark. Having said this, we found some restaurants closer to the hotel on our second evening, so do explore nearby if you would prefer not to walk back in the dark.

Our favourite part of the hotel and also the part which we were bemused by the most was the constant lime theme which is found throughout the hotel. My sister and I started trying to spot the limes everywhere - the lime welcome drink, Sarawak laksa with a hint of lime, lime marmalade, lime chairs, lime no-smoking signs and even a lime themed catchphrase "I had the lime of my life!". I'm not sure if I had the lime of my life at this hotel, but it certainly is a decent, clean and comfortable place to stay in Kuching.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anniebellie_ukau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Good location, good breakfast, clean and friendly, hardworking staff. We booked a Deluxe room, but from the pictures on the website it looks like we were upgraded to an Executive Suite. Our friends stayed in a Superior room and we can confirm the Suite was MUCH nicer. The room was very spacious and modern (in theirs the bed was almost touching the wall).Their room faced the busy street and they said it was very noisy. Our room faced the restaurant across the road and was very quiet. Our room had a separate shower and large bath tub. Also, the lime juice is fantastic!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the main street--very noisy. Depending on the price difference, the Execut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

First of all the positives - good value and good location to some decent local eateries / coffee shop houses. A slight walk to the town centre and river front but nice to stroll around as the town is not big. Breakfast is ok... the Sarawak Laksa is pretty decent there. The hotel also has quite a nice roof top bar to catch the sun setting over the city.


Paid a little extra to get the deluxe room city view! The room was huge, but other than that - it's not worth it. We were in room 109, the corner room racing the street. Without double glazing, the traffic noise is unbearable. It literally feels like the window is open and added to the fact the locals like to puncture holes in their exhaust pipes to make their cars / motorbikes sound like over exaggerated fart machines then you will not get a good night sleep. The Air con is also industrial in nature and makes a very loud noise but this actually turned out to be a godsend as it drowned out the noise of traffic.

The staff were friendly enough and we tried to change rooms but first night they were fully booked out and second night they offered us the same room but just a floor up so it wasn't worth the change.

Highly recommend getting a room that is at the back of the hotel. Beware, some of the rooms have no windows but if you like that sort of thing then i'd imagine they are very cheap.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iYapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JTayKuching, Resident Manager at The LimeTree Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2014

Dear iYapple,

Thank you for taking the time to review us and for choosing to stay with us recently. I am pleased to know that you found your stay to be of good value and our hotel location in Chinatown Padungan favourable; it takes an 8 to 10 minutes' walk to reach the Waterfront from our hotel and we are located within the vicinity of local eateries, a seafood center and shopping malls.

We are sorry to learn that you had experienced noise disturbances in the Executive Suite room. I am glad you had sought assistance from our Front Office team regarding this matter. We have since further enforced sound dampening for the windows and we will constantly observe this matter. Although it may happen infrequently, we take this matter seriously and my team has been prompted to inform the local authorities regarding this noise pollution issue - a recurring issue in the city where motorbike owners with noisy exhaust pipes should be cited for a traffic violation.

The room without a view and with decorative windows are the Superior rooms, located in the inner areas of the guest floors. There are only 8 Superior rooms out of the 50 rooms we have in the hotel, and with the size of 22 sqm, it is more spacious than a Deluxe room (18 sqm). It is interesting to know that the Superior room is a popular room type due its price and space despite the lack of views. As everyone has varying requirements, I strongly encourage all travelers to always feel free to approach the Front Desk to enquire about their rooms; our team would be more than happy to advise and assist our guests to select the rooms best suited for their needs in order to ensure guest satisfaction.

Your comments are much appreciated as constructive feedback for our team to always render consistent and quality of service, and to ensure comfort for all our guests. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and your partner again. In the meantime, wishing you safe travels!

Best regards,

Julie Tay - Resident Manager
The LimeTree Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

I'm not very sure on why The Lime Tree Hotel Kuching place at top spot in Kuching's hotels in TripAdvisor. I have stay for twice in this property but still unsure to myself. In general, I agreed that Lime Tree was a modern boutique hotel, environmental friendly and of course in a very central position in Kuching city. Now let me shqring on my personal feeling about the things on why I feel this hotel should improves;
1. The location of the hotel was very nice. Its just a bit outside Kuching golden triangle like Grand Margherita and Hilton. So here, you will miss the view of Kuching must see spot; Sarawak River or precisely, Kuching Waterfront. For those who not prefer of this view, the hotel has remedy for this, they have rooftop bar and guess could enjoy Kuching city view from there.
2. The building itself was very fine, modern and you will feel safe. Once you enter the building, the fresh aroma of lime welcoming you from lobby to corridor and your bathroom. The light green color of hotel's theme was very synchronised with the hotels name and concepts. I like it vefy much.
3. The facility inside the room however very minimal and personally I feel very little. The toileteries was almost none, there is shower cream of lime but missed a lot of other like dental kit and lotions. They provide two towels only and missed of face and hand towel. A bit scratcy and not really smooth.
4.The tv channel was very limited. Coffee, mineral water and tea are provided with water boiler and two mugs.the bed was quite comfortable but the pillow was not. The lighting in the room was good and all functioning well. There hairdryer was a bit old fashion but its functiong well too. Just a bit noisy.
5. The restaurant was very small and max I fell only can seat for 20 person at most. Its feel a bit crammed sometimes. The breakfast variety was limited and average taste. Just okay.
6. The receptionist was quite efficient and friendly. The staff quite attentive but not really warmth. Should be more warms and it will add more comfortable to guess. Anyway, they looking very pleasant and looks professsional.

So overall, this hotels was just average. I still cant see anything that make it special so far. There is Abell Hotel next door and 360 Hotel not far away. The same concept hotel
but with more facilities and superb location. I am not sure to return back to this hotel again. Its just average andlacks of personality. Perhaps all of you can check and reads reviews about other hotels in Kuching city before decide to check in yourself here.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
2  Thank KvnBorneo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JTayKuching, Resident Manager at The LimeTree Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Dear KvnBorneo,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your stay at our hotel. Our team had the pleasure of serving you and we are glad to learn that you appreciated and managed to capture the very essence of our lime-themed concept. We are however disappointed to learn we did not exceed your expectations, especially since we pride ourselves in providing quality, friendly service to our guests at all times. Your feedback is much appreciated and has prompted our management to look into this matter.

You will be pleased to know that we have also recently upgraded our TV channels with additional listings. In addition, our guests will be able to watch the upcoming 2014 World Cup matches in their rooms.

Please be informed that in-line with our conservation efforts for the environment in reducing wastage, we provide a standard set of basic vanity kits and amenities in the bathroom and will provide any other additional amenities including dental kits, combs, razors and lotions at any time upon the guests' request; we ensure that a signage in the bathroom states this clearly. Regarding the pillows, our team would be able to provide other types including firm and semi-firm pillows if made known of your discomfort or preferences.

Our breakfast area located at the ground floor, namely the Cafe Sublime, has a seating capacity of 45 persons, and we strive to ensure that the breakfast items consist of an almost equal spread of local and continental dishes. Nevertheless, I have shared your comments with our Head Chef and F&B team, and we will always make an effort to improve the quality of our complimentary breakfast.

Your comments are important to us and we remain committed to exceed our guests' expectations with our services and to provide quality accommodation at great value. We thank you for your review and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future. In the meantime, wishing you safe travels!

Kind regards,

Julie Tay - Resident Manager
The LimeTree Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Fast check in and out. Hotel staff is very thoughtful, polite and friendly. Room is spacey with all needed amenities and good WIFI connection. The entire hotel is of theme 'lime' and is tastefully decorated. There is also complementary lime juice voucher provided upon check-in that we could redeemed in the rooftop lounge. Another good points that this is a non-smoking hotel, and that reduced the displeasure of having a room/area with leftover cigarette smoke.

Besides being of walking distance to city centre and waterfront (10-15mins journey), the hotel also provides shuttle service and tour package for most main attractions with reasonable price. Response time to any enquires or problem faced is also very fast and attentive.

A good hotel choice for staying in Kuching. Will definitely recommend to friends and family as well as be my choice of stay if we ever visit Kuching again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yean88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,735 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
0.3 mi away
Imperial Riverbank Hotel
Imperial Riverbank Hotel
#7 of 55 in Kuching
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#6 of 55 in Kuching
2,086 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
Riverside Majestic Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kuching
554 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#8 of 55 in Kuching
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The LimeTree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The LimeTree Hotel

Address: Lot 317 Jalan Abell, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kuching
#2 Business Hotel in Kuching
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kuching
Price Range: $34 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The LimeTree Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in city centre of Kuching and adjacent to the charming new Chinatown Padungan area, this mid-range boutique hotel offers 42 rooms and 8 suites equipped with free wi-fi internet access throughout the hotel, complimentary hearty breakfast buffet, built-in universal sockets, LCD TVs, plush bedding and rain-showers - all for the comfort of sophisticated travellers today. The property has only non-smoking rooms and provides designated smoking areas. As an independent, family-owned establishment, this is a unique, eco-conscious hotel with a passion for limes. It offers an exciting dining experience at its Cafe Sublime with local, international and vegetarian delights. Its LimeLight Rooftop Lounge serves signature lime cocktails and refreshing drinks over stunning views of the Kuching city and river. Their dynamic and highly motivated staff and management are eager to welcome all guests to enjoy a LimeTree experience, and to "have the lime of their lives" in Kuching! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your The LimeTree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Limetree Hotel Kuching
The LimeTree Hotel Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing