We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lime lime lime”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The LimeTree Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The LimeTree Hotel
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Kuching
Certificate of Excellence
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“lime lime lime”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

i love lime, so i like lime tree hotel as they use lime for everything!
hotel location is convenient to eatery places and some local attractions by walking.
hotel is clean and staff are all friendly and helpful.
simple daily buffet breakfast is great! i like their fried beehoo and potatoes so much!
i enjoyed seeing stars at the hotel 5th floor rooftop lounge. it is cold and windy even though it is just at 5th floor height!
hotel shuttle charges is the same as taxi

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank toosf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    442
    95
    11
    2
See reviews for
143
450
95
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

Based on the reviews, I expected good things from this hotel, but it exceeded my expectations. When I went to check in they upgraded me to an executive room at no cost, and gave us a coupon for a welcome drink on the rooftop patio. Room was great and the shower was lovely. A welcome change from some of the hotels in Borneo. The breakfast in the morning was great. Good variety and interesting presentation. Staff were polite and helpful.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jacquieb23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
270 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

The minimalist design of the Lime Tree hotel can be observed in the rooms, instead of a wardrobe a rack is fixed to the wall to hang trousers and shirts, behind a tall mirror so it is not too obvious. The bed was comfortable except the pillows smelled like they had been used for some time. Even though I had a room facing the busy road there was no noise from the outside, however, the walls seem to be thin because I could hear TV and voices from the adjacent rooms. There is a small writing desk but the stool too low to sit comfortable. The staff immediately brought a chair to solve the problem. The shower is spacious. There is good wireless internet access throughout the hotel. Breakfast is served adjacent to the lobby in the small café, there is ample choice of Asian and Western dishes. All rooms are non-smoking, with designated smoking areas such as the rooftop which is worthwhile to frequent especially in the evening, nice view, good service, reasonable prices for drinks, and selected snacks. There is one desktop computer in the lobby for free use of internet, and from where one can print out documents against a charge. The location of the Lime Tree hotel is within reasonable walking distance of the waterfront and old China town area; many small restaurants, shops and the Sarawak shopping center are located in the neighbourhood. The service was great, pick up at the airport by the Lime Tree Hotel bus was perfect, early morning by a private taxi to the airport without any hassle because I had paid the fare in advance to the hotel. The staff is very helpful and so friendly.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kilovolt500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
214 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

Staff are cordial and very helpful; they anticipated our needs and were ready to help. Rooms are comfortable. AC nice and quiet. Upper floor gives a better view of the neighborhood, which is 10 minutes' easy walk to downtown/riverfront walk. There are shops and many small restaurants in the parallel street a block behind. The rooftop bar has a nice view but prices were high and not much food on offer. Breakfast is in the lobby area, and is good (not great, but good, and with ample choices).

Room Tip: Upper floor (4th, I think) gives a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeirutMoores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Two nights here were excellent. The room itself is fine, nothing amazing, but clean and comfortable. Wifi works properly. Breakfast is in a neat little cafe area and was good, small range of nice stuff. Decent coffee, fruit, some Asian dishes (noodles, fish etc) and they also had nice western options. Good location, within reasonable walking distance of the waterfront and old China town area, and about 30 mins lazy stroll to the bus station where you can get the bus to Semenngoh for 3 ringgit (instead of 75 rm for the tour options!)

The thing I really liked was the great service - help with transport, and really persistent and successful effort to get us dinner reservations at theDyak. Genuinely helpful, obliging staff.

thanks for a great stay - if we ever return to Kuching we will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

The Limetree is a mid range modern hotel not far from the Kuching waterfront. The staff are pleasant but nothing quite works as you expect - internet intermittent, restaurant not open on time, morning papers not there.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

I am currently staying here for 4D3N business trip. I just had my breakfast which was ok but the selection and was almost the same as yesterday's. The room is nice n cozy, though I have to change to another room on my first night due to bad condition of the aircond. However, they reacted fast enough to rectify my problem. What I love most about this hotel is the rooftop lounge. You can just chill there, connect to wifi, sip your drink and just CHILL. Not to forget the comfy pillow. Stay here and I promise you won't get ripped off.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank nurullizasaleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.8 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
0.2 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 54 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#5 of 54 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#7 of 54 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,932 reviews
1.4 mi away
Citadines Uplands Kuching
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The LimeTree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The LimeTree Hotel

Property: The LimeTree Hotel
Address: Lot 317 Jalan Abell, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kuching
#2 Business Hotel in Kuching
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kuching
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The LimeTree Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the Kuching city centre and adjacent to the charming Chinatown Padungan area, this non-smoking boutique hotel offers 50 rooms and suites equipped with free wi-fi internet access throughout the hotel, complimentary breakfast, built-in universal sockets, LCD TVs, plush bedding and rain-showers - all for the comfort of sophisticated travellers today. As a unique, eco-conscious and trendy hotel with a passion for limes, The LimeTree Hotel offers an exciting dining experience at its Cafe Sublime with local, international and vegetarian delights. LimeLight Rooftop Lounge serves signature lime cocktails over breathtaking views of the city and river. Our highly motivated team are eager to welcome all guests to enjoy a LimeTree experience in Kuching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The LimeTree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Limetree Hotel Kuching
The LimeTree Hotel Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing