We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Absolutely great to refer to trip advisor for your plan trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The LimeTree Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The LimeTree Hotel
Ranked #2 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely great to refer to trip advisor for your plan trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

1.came out from arrival hall,hotel driver already waiting for us,send us to hotel in very friendly mode
2.check in very fast with courteous and helpful staff.Luggage delivered by driver to our room.Requested for additional room card,no problem.Book semenggoh visit for the next day,did it for us immediately.
3.Only snag for this hotel.My deluxe room's aircond got problem,so reported to front office and they quickly send technician to rectify the problem but without success.Informed me they will upgrade us to a suite.Good way of resolving a guest unresolved problem.
4.The suite is big and clean,with very clean bathroom.Large bed,sofa seat,led tv,fridge.Overall very good
5.Their f&b is very good also,breakfast no complaints.Beverages at the top floor also no complaints especially when they have a friendly bartender who came and chat with me since I was drinking alone.
6.summary: All the excellent review and comments that i obtained from trip advisor is absolutely true.No intention to try another hotel with my next trip

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sonnyng58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    424
    91
    11
    2
See reviews for
138
437
92
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cold Spring, New York
Level Contributor
221 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

The Lime Tree is a modern budget hotel near but not in the touristy waterfront section of town. it is about a 10 minute walk to all the tourist hot spots, but being a bit outside enables you to walk through Chinatown and get a feel for Kuching, yet it is close enough so that you can take advantage of all that Kuching has to offer. The rooms are tiny by American standards, yet they include every amenity: free wifi, lovely TV, little slippers, hair dryer, etc. and the room is immaculately clean. But what really makes the Lime Tree stand out are the wonderful people. All of the staff are helpful and friendly and the desk staff especially are patient, knowledgeable and thorough. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ellynvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here a couple of times but this time I tried a different method to book the room, but it's come to my surprise by the time I stepped in when 1 male staff spotted me and recognized me straight away even greet me with my name! The check in process was super fast and it took me less than 5 minutes.
After a very long day and exhausted, there only 1 thing that I have in mind -a good rest, but before that an ice cool drink! So I went to their rooftop bar on the 5th floor, and over there I was greeted by this guy (couldn't remember his name-my bad) very helpful, cheerful guy and definitely yes, he also recognized me. Really great! After having their home made ice lemon drink and a small chat, I head to the room for a 'short' nap before dinner.
This time my room is facing the sarawak river or should I say the road side, (my favourite room was the in the middle, with no windows) but still the is very comfortable.
The only challenge that I'm facing during this trip is when I overslept and woke up at 2 am, starving!
I went down and asked the midnight staff of places to eat in that hour. He gave me some suggestion of where to eat. The nearest place is about 5-7 minutes walking distance and the nearest 7/11 is about 10-15 minutes walking distance from the hotel. So I decided to try Khatulistiwa restaurant in Kuching waterfront which is the food is a total disappointment! (Don't go the unless if you a white)
The breakfast next day was great, and I took my niece to join me for breakfast.
In this trip, I stayed here for 2night and decided to try another hotel which I regretted of making such decision. This hotel absolutely the best choice for an 'easy travellers' just like me.
Keep it up Limetree, you will always be my 1st choice!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jenikins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bombay
Level Contributor
65 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

This is a late review as I stayed at the Lime Tree in July of 2013. It was a wonderful experience. The rooms are clean and basic and reasonably priced. The service is excellent and the location is also very nice. I loved the rooftop bar, which is a great and unpretentious place for a sundowner.

The hotel also organises excursions to national parks and I went on one such tour. I will definitely stay here again when I visit Kuching next

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajay78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

Good location - Within 15min you can get to 3 malls, waterfront, main bazaar. Its also close to restaurants and Chinatown is behind the hotel.

I booked the Deluxe room. it was really small.
What I didn't like is the bathroom as it was tiny and there wasn't good ventilation.
slippers, hair dryer, 2 in 1 shampoo and shower gel combines and other accessories were provided. No fridge.

room was cleaned daily. staff are really nice and helpful.
Try to use cabs to get to tourist attractions as the hotels tour packages are really expensive.

Room Tip: cabs can easily be found 5min walk away from the hotel, go to the malls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nitika M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JTayKuching, Resident Manager at The LimeTree Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear Nitika04,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. My team and I are very pleased to know that you found our hotel to be well located and our team to be nice and helpful during your stay.

Regarding in-room fridges, mini-coolers are available for loan from our Front Desk. Advised with a sign in the room, this measure is in line with one of our efforts to be green and we are glad many of our guests are supportive of it.

The Deluxe room you had booked was 18 sqm in size, designed with a minimalist feel and equipped with amenities essential for a short stay. Please do not hesitate to enquire about our other room types of larger sizes, different layouts and amenities.

With regard to visiting places of interests, one can consider a few options of travel. Those who require guided tours, especially tours conducted in a foreign language, can consider the tour packages offered by our appointed trusted tour agencies. They offer a variety of all-inclusive packages which consist of transfers, tickets, scheduled guided tours and meals if stated so. Those who do not require guides for their visits, are able to purchase tickets upon arrival at the places of interest and wish to explore at their own time should consider taking our shuttle services which are competitively priced (if available) or hiring local taxis whom we can assist to call for.

Once again, thank you for your review and feedback. Wishing you a great year ahead and we look forward to welcoming you again to The LimeTree!

Best regards,

Julie Tay - Resident Manager
The LimeTree Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed four nights with our two children and had a family suite room (adjoining rooms -- king bed in one, and double in the other), to which we added an extra bed for our second child. The breakfasts were quite good, and the location was great, adjacent to Chinatown and a block from the river. They were helpful with arranging day trips around Kuching. The only downside was the extremely slow wifi.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Biogeog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JTayKuching, Resident Manager at The LimeTree Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear Biogeog,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent holiday to Kuching and for taking the time to review your stay. We are thrilled to learn that your stay was overall a positive one!

We are regretful to learn that the internet service was poor during your stay. Our internet service provider is constantly upgrading their lines and servers which can cause intermittent connection issues without prior notice while the works are being carried out. As much as we would like to provide this complimentary internet access consistently at good bandwidth, the service level by the provider cannot be guaranteed and is only at best effort; on our part, we shall always work with the provider to expedite their tasks in order to ensure our guests stay connected.

We are grateful for your comments and our team had the pleasure of serving you and your family. Many best wishes from all at The LimeTree!

Best regards,

Julie Tay - Resident Manager
The LimeTree Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

I read the reviews before booking. All the positive reviews are true. The staff very friendly and helpful. The complimentary breakfast was exceptional. The room was great. The location is close to everything within walking distance to the waterfront. We had a early morning flight to leave Kuching and we had lunches made up for us at no charge. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We are seasoned travelers and have stayed in many hotels, this is by far the best bang for your buck...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna and Ron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JTayKuching, Resident Manager at The LimeTree Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear Anna and Ron K,

A really big thank you for giving us two thumbs up! We appreciate the time you have taken to review your stay at The LimeTree Hotel. Nothing makes us happier than knowing you had found your stay to be of great value and that you liked what we offer.

I have shared your kind comments with our brilliant team, which will further motivate our team to strive for excellence at all times. Your satisfaction has been regarded our most valuable reward! We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back with us the next time you are in Kuching.

Warm wishes from all, at The LimeTree.

Kind regards,

Julie Tay - Resident Manager
The LimeTree Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.8 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
0.2 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,363 reviews
1.4 mi away
Citadines Uplands Kuching
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#5 of 55 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#9 of 55 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The LimeTree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The LimeTree Hotel

Property: The LimeTree Hotel
Address: Lot 317 Jalan Abell, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kuching
#2 Business Hotel in Kuching
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kuching
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The LimeTree Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the Kuching city centre and adjacent to the charming Chinatown Padungan area, this non-smoking boutique hotel offers 50 rooms and suites equipped with free wi-fi internet access throughout the hotel, complimentary breakfast, built-in universal sockets, LCD TVs, plush bedding and rain-showers - all for the comfort of sophisticated travellers today. As a unique, eco-conscious and trendy hotel with a passion for limes, The LimeTree Hotel offers an exciting dining experience at its Cafe Sublime with local, international and vegetarian delights. LimeLight Rooftop Lounge serves signature lime cocktails over breathtaking views of the city and river. Our highly motivated team are eager to welcome all guests to enjoy a LimeTree experience in Kuching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The LimeTree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Limetree Hotel Kuching
The LimeTree Hotel Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing