We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wonderful place to stay in Kuching” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The LimeTree Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The LimeTree Hotel
Ranked #2 of 53 Hotels in Kuching
Certificate of Excellence
Bombay
Level Contributor
65 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay in Kuching”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

This is a late review as I stayed at the Lime Tree in July of 2013. It was a wonderful experience. The rooms are clean and basic and reasonably priced. The service is excellent and the location is also very nice. I loved the rooftop bar, which is a great and unpretentious place for a sundowner.

The hotel also organises excursions to national parks and I went on one such tour. I will definitely stay here again when I visit Kuching next

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajay78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    413
    89
    11
    2
See reviews for
136
429
91
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Good location - Within 15min you can get to 3 malls, waterfront, main bazaar. Its also close to restaurants and Chinatown is behind the hotel.

I booked the Deluxe room. it was really small.
What I didn't like is the bathroom as it was tiny and there wasn't good ventilation.
slippers, hair dryer, 2 in 1 shampoo and shower gel combines and other accessories were provided. No fridge.

room was cleaned daily. staff are really nice and helpful.
Try to use cabs to get to tourist attractions as the hotels tour packages are really expensive.

Room Tip: cabs can easily be found 5min walk away from the hotel, go to the malls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nitika04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JTayKuching, Resident Manager at The LimeTree Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear Nitika04,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. My team and I are very pleased to know that you found our hotel to be well located and our team to be nice and helpful during your stay.

Regarding in-room fridges, mini-coolers are available for loan from our Front Desk. Advised with a sign in the room, this measure is in line with one of our efforts to be green and we are glad many of our guests are supportive of it.

The Deluxe room you had booked was 18 sqm in size, designed with a minimalist feel and equipped with amenities essential for a short stay. Please do not hesitate to enquire about our other room types of larger sizes, different layouts and amenities.

With regard to visiting places of interests, one can consider a few options of travel. Those who require guided tours, especially tours conducted in a foreign language, can consider the tour packages offered by our appointed trusted tour agencies. They offer a variety of all-inclusive packages which consist of transfers, tickets, scheduled guided tours and meals if stated so. Those who do not require guides for their visits, are able to purchase tickets upon arrival at the places of interest and wish to explore at their own time should consider taking our shuttle services which are competitively priced (if available) or hiring local taxis whom we can assist to call for.

Once again, thank you for your review and feedback. Wishing you a great year ahead and we look forward to welcoming you again to The LimeTree!

Best regards,

Julie Tay - Resident Manager
The LimeTree Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed four nights with our two children and had a family suite room (adjoining rooms -- king bed in one, and double in the other), to which we added an extra bed for our second child. The breakfasts were quite good, and the location was great, adjacent to Chinatown and a block from the river. They were helpful with arranging day trips around Kuching. The only downside was the extremely slow wifi.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Biogeog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JTayKuching, Resident Manager at The LimeTree Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear Biogeog,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent holiday to Kuching and for taking the time to review your stay. We are thrilled to learn that your stay was overall a positive one!

We are regretful to learn that the internet service was poor during your stay. Our internet service provider is constantly upgrading their lines and servers which can cause intermittent connection issues without prior notice while the works are being carried out. As much as we would like to provide this complimentary internet access consistently at good bandwidth, the service level by the provider cannot be guaranteed and is only at best effort; on our part, we shall always work with the provider to expedite their tasks in order to ensure our guests stay connected.

We are grateful for your comments and our team had the pleasure of serving you and your family. Many best wishes from all at The LimeTree!

Best regards,

Julie Tay - Resident Manager
The LimeTree Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

I read the reviews before booking. All the positive reviews are true. The staff very friendly and helpful. The complimentary breakfast was exceptional. The room was great. The location is close to everything within walking distance to the waterfront. We had a early morning flight to leave Kuching and we had lunches made up for us at no charge. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We are seasoned travelers and have stayed in many hotels, this is by far the best bang for your buck...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna and Ron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JTayKuching, Resident Manager at The LimeTree Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear Anna and Ron K,

A really big thank you for giving us two thumbs up! We appreciate the time you have taken to review your stay at The LimeTree Hotel. Nothing makes us happier than knowing you had found your stay to be of great value and that you liked what we offer.

I have shared your kind comments with our brilliant team, which will further motivate our team to strive for excellence at all times. Your satisfaction has been regarded our most valuable reward! We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back with us the next time you are in Kuching.

Warm wishes from all, at The LimeTree.

Kind regards,

Julie Tay - Resident Manager
The LimeTree Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Travelled solo for the first time to Kuching from 12-16 Dec. Booked Lime Tree hotel for my 4 nights stay due to the glowing review. One week before my arrival, the hotel contacted me to say they can only accommodate me for 2 nights due to some faulty aircon which requires servicing. They offered to book for me another hotel nearby at no additional charge and threw in a complimentary pick up at the airport and complimentary transfer to the new hotel. Accepted the offer since it was pretty decent. But upon reaching Lime Tree did not see any signs of aircon servicing and the hotel seemed to be functioning as normal. Figured they probably over-booked and needed to kick someone out and who better to kick out then a solo traveller. The alternative hotel (Hotel Abell) which they booked for me was really nice and located between two malls and a 5 mins walk to the waterfront. But I realised I was shortchanged as the hotel booking did not come with breakfast (I booked and paid for 4 nights with b'fast!) and the hotel has no wifi! Not a wise idea for a solo traveller to be w/out wifi to get in touch with home.

On my first day there, asked the cafe (there's a little cafe that sells cakes and pastries at the lobby) lady directions to the waterfront but she told me to ask the receptionist. So asked the receptionist and she said walk straight for 10 minutes. Really what type of directions is that?! The directions I would give was walk straight until you see a Macdonald's then cross the road towards the cat statues in the direction of Hotel Margherita. After crossing the road turn left and walk straight until you see a 7-11 store. Turn in after the 7-11 to the waterfront.

Overall, pretty disappointed with the hotel for diminishing my solo trip a little.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Murshida M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JTayKuching, Resident Manager at The LimeTree Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Murshida M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at our hotel. Firstly, we appreciate your kind understanding for accepting the prearrangement to be relocated to another hotel during your stay in Kuching due to unforeseen circumstances on our part. We wish to also extend our apologies for the inconvenience as we read your feedback with concern regarding your overall experience. We take your comments very seriously and I would like to take this opportunity clarify and address the issues outlined accordingly.

A week prior to your arrival, we discovered our digital air-conditioning system had encountered an error which needed an urgent repair requiring imported replacement parts. Our team and vendors planned with care and scheduled for this critical repair work, not servicing work, to commence as soon as the parts arrived in mid-December. Under these circumstances coupled with our desire to accommodate our guests as much as we can and to handle this matter as seamlessly as possible, we immediately halted new bookings and contacted our guests with confirmed bookings for the affected room types in order to discuss alternative arrangements for their stay. I had then contacted you personally by e-mail regarding this situation.

The repair work could only commence once our guests vacate the affected rooms, hence the chosen date of your relocation to another hotel. You may wish to know that some guests had chosen other accommodations altogether with a full refund from us - an option I had offered to you as well, and you had chosen to accept our proposed alternative arrangement of a two-night stay at our hotel, complimentary transfer followed by a stay at Abell Hotel, a hotel not inferior to ours, in a room with breakfast of a category higher than the one you had booked at our hotel.

The room and breakfast details were stated in our e-mail to you as confirmation; if the stay details at Abell Hotel had not been honoured and did not meet your expectations, it should have been our team's obligation to resolve the matter where we would not hesitate to promptly assist, advise their staff of the discrepancy and demand a corrective action, if we had been contacted and made known of the issue.

We are disappointed that our compensation effort, which we believed at the time was our best judgement call to alleviate the situation for the inevitable issue we had to face, has indeed been grossly misconstrued. Nevertheless, your feedback will allow us to identify gaps and refine our processes to ensure issues are handled more seamlessly with our guests.

Please be assured that I have also shared your comments regarding the travel directions given with our front office team for their attention, where the importance of details have been emphasized. We thank you for bringing this matter to our attention for our improvement.

Once again, we are sorry to learn that your stay was not a positive one; we hope you will allow us another opportunity to welcome you back to stay with us in the future and regain your confidence in us. In the meantime, wishing you safe travels and a Happy New Year.

Best regards,

Julie Tay - Resident Manager
The LimeTree Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Great location for this hotel, very modern inside. Lovely bar on the roof terrace. The cleanest and most modern hotel we stayed in Sarawak.

Recommend you stay here for Bako or the Orangutang santuary.

Initially forgot to give us back our deposit for the safety deposit box but refunded it afterwards.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EarthExplorer000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JTayKuching, Resident Manager at The LimeTree Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear EarthExplorer000,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The LimeTree Hotel on TripAdvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback on our rooms and LimeLight Rooftop Lounge; you will be pleased to know that we will be redesigning some sections of our property in the near future as part of our continuous effort to upgrade and to maintain its contemporary look!

We thank you for your kind comments and we are grateful for your commendation of us to others. We look forward to having you with us again. Many best wishes from all at The LimeTree!

Warm regards,

Julie Tay - Resident Manager
The LimeTree Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipoh, Malaysia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Started with a pleasant check-in at the counter by the friendly and helpful staff. My room was without window but very spacious. The dummy windows does helped in making the room feels more comfortable. The room is clean and comfortable. Although I find the room's 2 partitions design a little awkward. The breakfast was good and much better than what I had in other hotels of similar price range. It was within walking distance to the Waterfront and no shortage of food nearby. Overall, it was a pleasant stay. Every staff I interacted with were friendly and welcoming. Recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank choymp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JTayKuching, Resident Manager at The LimeTree Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear choymp,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The LimeTree Hotel in Kuching recently and I am glad that you had a positive stay with us during your business trip. Your feedback on the room design for the Superior room is much appreciated and has been noted; you may wish to know that the partition design mentioned was done with the intention to separate the bathroom area from the bed area distinctively for this room type. Please do not hesitate to enquire about our other room types with different layouts and views which you may want to consider for any future stays.

We are grateful for your comments and kind commendation of us to others. We remain committed to exceed our guests' expectations with our services and to provide quality accommodation at great value with our complimentary breakfast and free internet usage for our guests.

We hope to see you again when you next travel to Kuching. Many best wishes from all at The LimeTree Hotel!

Best regards,

Julie Tay - Resident Manager
The LimeTree Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.8 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
0.2 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 53 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 stars 1,295 reviews
1.4 mi away
Citadines Uplands Kuching
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
0.4 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#7 of 53 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 stars 1,784 reviews
3.6 mi away
Imperial Hotel Kuching
Imperial Hotel Kuching
#4 of 53 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 stars 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The LimeTree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The LimeTree Hotel

Property: The LimeTree Hotel
Address: Lot 317 Jalan Abell, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kuching
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kuching
#2 Business Hotel in Kuching
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The LimeTree Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the Kuching city centre and adjacent to the charming Chinatown Padungan area, this non-smoking boutique hotel offers 50 rooms and suites equipped with free wi-fi internet access throughout the hotel, complimentary breakfast, built-in universal sockets, LCD TVs, plush bedding and rain-showers - all for the comfort of sophisticated travellers today. As a unique, eco-conscious and trendy hotel with a passion for limes, The LimeTree Hotel offers an exciting dining experience at its Cafe Sublime with local, international and vegetarian delights. LimeLight Rooftop Lounge serves signature lime cocktails over breathtaking views of the city and river. Our highly motivated team are eager to welcome all guests to enjoy a LimeTree experience in Kuching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your The LimeTree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Limetree Hotel Kuching
The LimeTree Hotel Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing