We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed here during Gawai”
Review of The LimeTree Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The LimeTree Hotel
Ranked #2 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Certificate of Excellence
Petaling Jjaya
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Stayed here during Gawai”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

This Hotel is perfect, clean, well managed, staff are friendly, theres a nice rooftop bar. What else can I say?

If it ain't broke, don't fix it I suppose.

It was my first time in Kuching and it made a pleasant city even better. I suppose the highlight for me was watching a lightning storm while having a beer on the rooftop bar.

Everything you need in Kuching City centre is within 15 minutes walking distance.

I did'nt see a fitness centre or require room service. There might be one, I don't know why its in the questionnaire though.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crazygweilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    453
    95
    11
    2
See reviews for
147
461
101
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights with a friend. Staff friendly and attentive. Room was clean. Walking distance to the waterfront area. Cosy rooftop bar. Breakfast buffet was delicious. Many economical eateries nearby. Free WiFi. Gift shop selling Sarawak and The LimeTree hotel merchandise. Informative staff on the operating hours and the cost of taking tambang across Sarawak River.

However there were some qualms. There was no email reply on the booking enquiry via The LimeTree hotel website which was sent out 6 days in advance before we reached Kuching. Internet connection was pretty slow and sometimes did not work at all. Only 1 room card was given. It was ok as we went out and returned together. Perhaps the management could exercise flexibility for guests staying at a room to have more than 1 card.

Nevertheless, it was an enjoyable stay in this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ong123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

As a small boutique and budget hotel this one ticks a lot of boxes. Very attentive and responsive staff who actually care. From the free welcome drink on the roof to the more than adequate breakfast and small but neat rooms we felt very comfortable here. They are also genuinely trying to do something for the environment in an understated sort of way. Manager very visible and great local knowledge.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We went to Kuching for 3 days and had a great time! The hotel was clean, neat, comfortable and most importantly, was very close to the city side - waterfront area. It was walking distance and it is great to walk around the city side. The staff are reasonably friendly but don't seem to know much about the place, They used to direct us to the internet for any information we wanted about the place so please do your research before you go!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mumbai9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Location is good, but does require a short walk to get to the waterfront.

Staff very friendly and helpful. Free wifi. Excellent breakfast included.

Rooms fine for price.

Only negative: don't eat at the rooftop bar! we had an utterly terrible meal, although to be fair, we both ordered the same thing, so maybe we were unlucky. The rooftop bar is nice for a quiet drink, but go out somewhere else afterwards for dinner.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank gmpow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Great little hotel, excellent value.

We stayed in a standard double. Our room was small, but well planned out so it didn't feel small, and we had lovely big windows. The hotel is non smoking, which was a plus for us.

Lovely lobby area and rooftop bar. Breakfast is included.

It's located in the city's new Chinatown (note there is also an old Chinatown). It's not in walking distance to the old Chinatown, but you can get cheap taxis really easily and there's lots to see in the local area.

For the price, don't think you can beat this Kuching hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eleanorlondon86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights. The room was a good size and clean. Had room service which came up for from the cafewhich was good. The cafe across the road is also very good and cheap ate there several times with no ill effects. The locationis great and the staff are helpful and very efficient. The bar on the 5th floor is good and has great views.Would recommend that you stay here.
The Margherita fort is closed for renovation so save the walk up.The kampung near the fort is worth a walk around.

Room Tip: Pay 5 a night more for the city view or you do not get window
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,545 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
0.3 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#6 of 55 in Kuching
1,981 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#8 of 55 in Kuching
577 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#4 of 55 in Kuching
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The LimeTree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The LimeTree Hotel

Property: The LimeTree Hotel
Address: Lot 317 Jalan Abell, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kuching
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kuching
#2 Business Hotel in Kuching
#5 Best Value Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The LimeTree Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the Kuching city centre and adjacent to the charming Chinatown Padungan area, this non-smoking boutique hotel offers 50 rooms and suites equipped with free wi-fi internet access throughout the hotel, complimentary breakfast, built-in universal sockets, LCD TVs, plush bedding and rain-showers - all for the comfort of sophisticated travellers today. As a unique, eco-conscious and trendy hotel with a passion for limes, The LimeTree Hotel offers an exciting dining experience at its Cafe Sublime with local, international and vegetarian delights. LimeLight Rooftop Lounge serves signature lime cocktails over breathtaking views of the city and river. Our highly motivated team are eager to welcome all guests to enjoy a LimeTree experience in Kuching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The LimeTree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Limetree Hotel Kuching
The LimeTree Hotel Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing