We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The LimeTree Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The LimeTree Hotel
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Kuching
Certificate of Excellence
Bandar Seri Begawan, null, Brunei
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Staffs are friendly. Airport transfer is provided. It is located in China Town and within a walking distance to Kuching Waterfront, famous eafood eatery (Topspot), malls. So many restaurants to choose from nearby. Wi-Fi is fast. They provide transport to certain places such as The Spring (Mall) in which you can take the brochure at the front desk.

Check-in is fast. Wi-Fi password will be given upon check-in and complimentary drink is given upon arrival in which you can claim any day during your stay. The rooftop has a nice view and is very calming.

The place where you eat breakfast is kinda small and does not really have a lot variety of food but, they are nice! All in all, it's such a nice hotel to stay in!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nurul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    442
    95
    11
    2
See reviews for
143
450
95
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
817 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 379 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in double room no 111 on the first floor. And I must admit it was a very good decision. The previous opinions are well deserved and mine will only confirm that.

From the start - great welcome, reception staff smiling and communicative, eager to show you the rooms. When we decided to take a room and chcked in we were given vouchers for a welcome lime drink in their rooftop lounge. There are 2 computers for guests' use in the lobby and wi-fi in the rooms. Hotel is located 10-15 minutes by feet from the old part of the town but I think it's not a big problem for walkers.

There are two elevators, activated by the room card. Corridors are nothing to remember but it really doesn't matter as the room was superb. Big, smartly designed with lot of furniture for your clothes and other stuff. Bed was comfortable. Flawless air-conditioning. English-spoken channels on TV. Daily cleaning of the room.

Bathroom is spacious and clean. Big shower is separated from the rest of the bathroom by a small wall and glass. Big mirror and lot of place for your cosmetic stuff. There's also a lime shower gel provided by the hotel as well as bathroom slippers.

Now breakfasts - that's another chapter :-) They were great and diverse. Local rice and noodles dishes. Sausages, beans, scrambled eggs, fish and chicken nuggets, toasts, sandwiches, lime jam, coconut spread, fruits, cookies, tea/coffee station. And here I praise Mama's Tay laksa - to be honest it was one of the best laksa (if not the best one) during my stay in Malaysia. Your breakfast will not be complete without it!

All the above we got for MYR 149 per night for a double room. Although not cheap it was money well spent and the hotel is highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KrisD_pl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
58 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Conveniently located within walking distance of central Kuching, this is an excellent choice.

Rooms basic but comfortable - my only criticism is that they're perhaps TOO minimalist as while there's plenty of space there's hardly anywhere to keep your stuff. A hanging rail which holds no more than five items, and that's it.

Reception staff friendly and helpful. Free wifi. Excellent breakfast buffet also included - this was varied and plentiful, with mostly Asian choices (and very nice they were too), plus fruit, pastries, etc.

Was given a voucher for a welcome drink - regret not using this until the last night as the view of the sunset from the bar was lovely and I wish I'd seen it more than once.

Booked a number of tours through reception at the hotel - all excellent.

Clean, comfortable, friendly hotel, and great value. Would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AuntieMabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

The LimeTree lives up to it's Trip Advisor rating, not for the luxury facilities but its staff, location and value for money. We had booked airport transfers direct with the hotel as it is slightly cheaper than a taxi, so from start to finish the service was there. I had booked an executive suite and on arrival we were checked in quickly and efficiently and given room 408, with river views. We had some trouble with the door key and the lovely Serinah assisted. Then we discovered that the air-con wasn't working so back down to reception where Serinah quickly found us another HUGE room - suite 309, again with river-views. Great service LimeTree! This suite had everything for a comfortable stay, including an in-room safe which I much prefer to the reception safes. The bed was comfy and the bathroom spotless, but could do with larger basin surrounds to take guests belongings.
Breakfast was good, in particular the banana fritters and the lovely mixed fruit in the shot glasses while my partner enjoyed the laksa almost every morning. We also had dinner the first evening at the Roof Top bar which was fine, and had lunch in the cafe a couple of times, both Asian and western, and all meals were tasty and good value. Again - top marks LimeTree!
We also had great service from Serinah and the front desk staff in organising taxis, tours etc, so I can't speak highly enough of the staff.
For those guests looking for a good cheap laundry, turn left out of the hotel, then right into Jalan Padungan, and you will find Spotfree Laundry.
We loved the location of the hotel, and enjoyed the walk down J Padungan, with its shophouses and trees down the centre of the road. We can fully recommend this hotel without hesitation.

Room Tip: It is worth paying the (little) extra for a suite, as some of the standard rooms don't have a wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
270 reviews
211 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

This is a great hotel. Service is great from the time you inquire to the time you leave. Manager Serinah is just fabulous. She knows how to answer questions in an accurate, courteous, and timely manner. And her service mantra extends to her staff too.

The room is basic but good. Clean. There is some wear and tear seen but generally still good.
Aircon is cold enough. It goes down to real 18 degrees. Only complaint is sound insulation. The hotel did make some effort in the carpeted hallways. But I think the guests might have brought back some orangutans with them with all the stumping around!!!

The staff is just amazing. I did some last minute change and decide to joins tour last minute. The staff presented alternatives when the agency wasn't picking up.

Limetree proves that fantastic service doesn't necessarily come from a five-star hotel. Actually, they can easily beat them!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bankergirl1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltburn-by-the-Sea
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Good basic city centre hotel. Very clean and comfortable. Rooms were small with very little storage space. We were there for four nights and lived out of our suit cases which is not ideal. although there is a good hairdryer in the room there is not another electric point within reach of a mirror. Breakfast was adequate mostly oriental but with enough western food to get by. The hotel is situated just off China town but the best restaurant we found was a Phillpinno. We enjoyed it sufficiently to return for a second evening meal. Turn left out of the hotel, up a short street and left again at the top and walk for about 100 yards down the road. Worth a visit. Would overall only class this hotel as a 2 star.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JTayKuching, Resident Manager at The LimeTree Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Sandra A,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay at our hotel. I wish my team and I could have met your expectations during your stay. Although rated three-stars by facilities, we remain committed to exceed our guests' expectations with our services and to provide quality accomodation at great value with our complimentary breakfast and free internet usage for our guests - amenities which we recognize as important and necessary for most travelers today.

The Deluxe room you had occupied was of 185 sq ft in size, designed with a minimalist feel and equipped with necessities essential for a short stay, including a luggage rack and a specially-designed compact wardrobe to suit the room layout. Our Front Desk team members are able to advise on our various room types and perhaps would have recommended for your stay, the Executive rooms as a room choice if made known of your preference for a bigger room and a larger wardrobe space. I have shared your comments with our Front Office and Sales team for their attention to endeavour to recommend options suitable for our guests' travel needs in order to facilitate their decisions. We thank you for this feedback and are also pleased to learn that you found the room clean and comfortable; our team will always prioritise cleanliness, value and comfort for our guests!

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and your partner again. In the meantime, wishing you safe travels!

Best regards,

Julie Tay - Resident Manager
The LimeTree Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Limetree hotel is very well located, just a few blocks from Chinatown and also from the river (where the high end hotels are located) and a 15-20 minute walk from the museums. It's very good value for money; a large and excellent hot breakfast is included in the room tariff (with fruit, cereal, breads and pastries, Kuching laksa, stir fries and noodles, eggs etc.) The staff is dedicated and service is excellent.

The rooms are medium sized, the beds are comfortable. Bathrooms tend to be small but very clean and functional. While you cannot get any sounds from adjacent rooms, sounds from the corridors are easily heard. This is normally not a problem (except one night when we had a set of particularly noisy kids running up and down, screaming- but this can be remedied by requesting the staff/people involved to reduce their sound output!)

In the heat and humidity of Kuching, this hotel always looks refreshingly cool (and they also hand out one free welcome lime drink per person, which is indeed very welcome). There are very convenient restaurants close by, in Chinatown, for pleasant and not very expensive meals (apart form the hotel restaurant).

The hotel gift shop has an eclectic collection and is surprisingly priced the same as shops outside (for pepper and some other Borneo specialties). For a mid range hotel, Limetree offers a comfortable stay at a very reasonable price.

Room Tip: Rooms without windows are a little larger in size if you don't mind sleeping in a box-like room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank svar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.8 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
0.2 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 54 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,455 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#5 of 54 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#6 of 54 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,931 reviews
1.4 mi away
Citadines Uplands Kuching
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The LimeTree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The LimeTree Hotel

Property: The LimeTree Hotel
Address: Lot 317 Jalan Abell, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kuching
#2 Business Hotel in Kuching
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kuching
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The LimeTree Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the Kuching city centre and adjacent to the charming Chinatown Padungan area, this non-smoking boutique hotel offers 50 rooms and suites equipped with free wi-fi internet access throughout the hotel, complimentary breakfast, built-in universal sockets, LCD TVs, plush bedding and rain-showers - all for the comfort of sophisticated travellers today. As a unique, eco-conscious and trendy hotel with a passion for limes, The LimeTree Hotel offers an exciting dining experience at its Cafe Sublime with local, international and vegetarian delights. LimeLight Rooftop Lounge serves signature lime cocktails over breathtaking views of the city and river. Our highly motivated team are eager to welcome all guests to enjoy a LimeTree experience in Kuching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The LimeTree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Limetree Hotel Kuching
The LimeTree Hotel Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing