We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel”
Review of The LimeTree Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The LimeTree Hotel
Ranked #2 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Very good hotel”
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Well located, friendly staff, great rooms, good breakfast.

Very good hotel. Stayed 4 nights. Arranged airport pickup for 23MR. Despite flight delay, our pickup waited which we were very grateful for.

Really good check in. Helpful staff, can arrange tours through front desk. We did a Bako Nat Park tour which was £20 pp cheaper than had we arranged through Viator back home. Hotel also offers transfer service to other tourist location.

Room was big, good shower, good tv- huge window. Bit of an iffy drain smell in the room and corridor on occasion was only complaint.

Good limelight bar on 5th floor. Well priced beer and milkshakes. Good food- but a little more expensive than local food.

Breakfast was good and was nice to have minor variations each morning.

Would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Kuching.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victron23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    453
    95
    11
    2
See reviews for
147
461
101
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sydney, australia
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights towards the end of May, 2012. The booking was done directly on the hotel website and I requested an Executive Deluxe room, as it was much larger than the standard rooms and the rates were competitive at the time.


Reservation

At first, the booking could not be confirmed and Serinah from the reservations department replied to my request indicating that the requested room category was unavailable and enquiring whether I’d like to stay in the next room category above but I asked her to check again and to see whether any Executive Deluxe rooms could be found. In the end, an Executive Deluxe room with twin beds instead of a King-sized bed was offered.


Arrival

I arrived via the hotel’s shuttle service from the airport. The driver was very friendly and polite from the beginning with an easy-going manner and I’d fully recommend the service, as the minivan was more than comfortable enough.

The reception and check-in experience were friendly and efficient and the minivan driver assisted with the luggage so there wasn’t much more that could have been expected. The lobby impressed with its cleanliness and upmarket quality.

I was presented with a voucher providing a complimentary drink of lime juice at the Limelight lounge on the rooftop so took advantage of that. I was also able to order some snacks there. The drink was refreshing in the relatively warm and humid evening and the snacks were good too. However, it was quite hot in the lounge when outdoors and the fans were not enough to cool the climate down sufficiently. Views of the centre of the city were quite nice from the lounge.


The Room

I was impressed with the cleanliness of the room upon entry and its clean and simple character. It seemed to be designed in a minimalist manner without too many complicating additions in the room but there were still enough features to make the stay comfortable. Similar styles of rooms I’ve encountered in Kuching include the rooms at the Pullman and the Four Points by Sheraton, although it must be said that those hotels are definitely in a higher category than was the case here and the rooms accordingly were better appointed. A safe and mini-fridge were included in the room here, which I understand is not the case in the lower categories of rooms. Although there were twin beds, they were still large enough and comfortable but probably not the most comfortable beds I’ve tried, being a little on the harder side.

Complimentary wi-fi internet access was provided, which also worked in the public areas.

The bathroom was also modern and all the items there incorporated the lime theme as far as possible, with the soap also in a lime scent. There was a rainshower in the bathroom as well.


Hotel Facilities and Location

I tried the breakfast buffet here twice as it was included in the room rate. The offerings were quite simple and just ok so any premium coffees or teas would be out of the question. However, there was a manager on hand to oversee the buffet and ensure everything was in order. Generally, the staff here gave a feeling of competence right from the beginning, including the reservations experience and then the hotel pick-up service from the airport. In complete contrast, I recently stayed at the 360 Urban Resort in Kuching where the driver at the airport couldn’t be found at all.

The hotel is definitely not as centrally located as most of the well-known hotel brands in Kuching, such as the Pullman and Hilton. It’s a bit further from the waterfront area and it took longer to walk into the centre of the town. Nevertheless, the location was still reasonable, it wasn’t after all too far from the centre of town and also it was near Jalan Padungan, which has a fair number of eateries and shopping areas, even though the section it was located within wasn’t the most central part of this street either.


Conclusion

The hotel certainly provided everything that I expected. A clean room with a modern design, which also extended into the public areas and friendly and competent staff service. It’s not a 5-star hotel but delivered everything that could be expected, given the hotel’s positioning and marketing.


NOTE: I have videos of the hotel room available through the link in my profile section.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank perryw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage Alaska
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

While the rooms in this hotel could use a freshening, the staff is top-notch. My many and sometimes annoying questions were always answered with a smile. They helped with everything from arranging a rental car to directions to Top Spot for food. From the front desk staff to the breakfast supervisor, they were always eager to engage in conversation and show genuine interest in our stay in Kuching. The lime soap was unforgettably fragrant and the lime juice was tangy. When you visit a new place you need time to get your bearings and figure things out. Rest assured that the staff here at the Lime Tree will ease your every concern. The hotel arranged for us to rent a car one day and I got stressed out so the next day we used the same car and for a little extra hired a driver, Josin who worked for the car rental place. He was such a delightful young man and a joy to have along with us as the third member of our group. The Top Spot food court is about a 10 minute walk as is the center of town. We would definitely recommend this place to anyone who visits Kuching.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fastawake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed in the hotel from 13 - 15 April 2013 and I would say, it's one of the best hotel I have stayed. And been the first time in Kuching,the staffs are very helpful. Breakfast was very good, rooms...abit small but acceptable. Walking distance to Waterfront & food...
The rooftop lounge was fantastic...view was beautiful and service great..but i would like to thanks the hotel for a wonderful service. I have left a bag in their hotel van, only realize after i wanted to check in the airport. managed to call the hotel, and they managed to get the driver to make a return back to the airport & returns back the bag to me...."Thumps Up"... will surely stay in this hotel again when in Kuching...."Keep it up the service standard"

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victory600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed at the Lime Tree Hotel for 4 nights during our stay in Kuching City. Good location as only a short walk to the Waterfront Promenade which is a lovely area for stroll during the day or evening. Has little stalls selling local crafts and paintings. You can get little boats to take you across to the other side. The James Brook restaurant is along here as well- a must to try.

Kuching has many places to eat but we would also recommend Bla Bla Bla (Asian) and The Junk (European food). Great places and different décor - unique from your typical restaurant found normally.

Hotel breakfasts were lovely - good choice of both western and Asian. The staff were also very friendly and helpful. You can book trips via the hotel as well, however we already had those sorted before we arrived.

There are many shops across from the waterfront to choose from to pick up local crafts etc to take back home. Most of them selling the same type of things - however one of the best we liked was Unika Borneo (5 Wayang Street - www.unikaborneo.com). Had lovely crafts, cravings and jewellery. With most helpful staff telling you about the local people that had made them.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Here is our experience of our three nights, four day stay at The Lime Tree Hotel. We stayed there 7th April through to 11th April 2013, Room 108 Deluxe room, city view, breakfast included; booked through agoda.

Email exchanges with the hotel were dealt with promptly and concisely being very customer focused throughout.

On arrival at the airport (we‘d requested they meet and collect us; very straight forward to arrange) we were met by one of the hotel’s smiling drivers who welcomed us to Kuching and soon had us safely loaded into the very clean, modern minibus. A short journey later we reached the Lime Tree Hotel. Check in was a seamless and pleasant experience during which various bits of essential information were communicated to us in a helpful and concise manner. We made our way to our room and our luggage arrived a few minutes later.

Our room was as exactly described on the internet and we were very pleased; very clean and spacious. Plenty of hot water on demand and we appreciated the very large shower head and the drenching effect given. Room 108 had a comfy bed and was, during our stay, a quiet room.

Wi-Fi is free. During our stay the Wi-Fi was a little erratic in function but there were notices up explaining some local external difficulties which was currently impacting on the internet. That said we managed to connect as much as we personally needed to, overall.

Air-con in our room perfect, could not have been better – quiet and effective.

Breakfasts consistently good and for ourselves provided ample choice all being very tasty and filling. Every morning Mr Soh (the hotel manager) was on hand checking all was well and was seen repeatedly helping to clear tables whilst chatting with guests in an interested (but not intrusive) way about guests plans for the day ahead.

Mr Soh really does care very deeply about his hotel and the guest experience therein – an outstanding guy who sets the standard and seems to be on duty 24/7. Took very good care of us personally and his staff unfailingly followed his lead: thank you Mr Soh!

We made good use of the various shuttle services at the hotel and highly recommend others to check this out themselves; we found the rates and destinations most cost effective and well thought out. Each driver (we experienced three different drivers) were professional and always punctual, a really great team!

In conclusion: The Lime Tree Hotel, its manager, its staff can be extremely proud of the work they are doing for they provided, in our experience, truly excellent all round hospitality and this, vitally, at very competitive rates. Well done Lime Tree!

We absolutely recommend and will not hesitate enjoying a return visit very soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank insightphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Hubby and I recently spent 3 nights at the Lime Tree. We chose a normal room which was fine for our purposes (booked via booking.com - circa £35 pn incl breakfast). Check in was smooth and we also booked a trip to see the Orangutans via reception for the following morning which was very good. The room was smallish but cosy and the bathroom was fine. All very clean, good TV with a few English channels (including movies). Shower was good and overall the room was clean. The bed was very comfy which was good. Lots of choice at breakfast including local foods, Asian foods and European foods. Nice fruit and juice and breads too. Hubby liked the banana fritters! The hotel is well located and is a 10 minute walk to the main promenade. It's just by china town so lots of restaurants to eat in. Roof top bar was nice to sit and have a bucket of Tiger beers and sit and unwind of an evening. Beers are circa 10 rm per bottle which is about standard for Malaysian hotels. There's a good laundry about 100 meters round the corner on the main china town street which was cheap and quick. Aircon worked fine. Overall, this was a nice, inexpensive, good value hotel which we liked. It also felt very safe too with the lift being key-fob operated. No mini fridge in the room but they can deliver one to you if you wish.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisawScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,541 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
0.3 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#6 of 55 in Kuching
1,979 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#8 of 55 in Kuching
576 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#4 of 55 in Kuching
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The LimeTree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The LimeTree Hotel

Property: The LimeTree Hotel
Address: Lot 317 Jalan Abell, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kuching
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kuching
#2 Business Hotel in Kuching
#5 Best Value Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The LimeTree Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the Kuching city centre and adjacent to the charming Chinatown Padungan area, this non-smoking boutique hotel offers 50 rooms and suites equipped with free wi-fi internet access throughout the hotel, complimentary breakfast, built-in universal sockets, LCD TVs, plush bedding and rain-showers - all for the comfort of sophisticated travellers today. As a unique, eco-conscious and trendy hotel with a passion for limes, The LimeTree Hotel offers an exciting dining experience at its Cafe Sublime with local, international and vegetarian delights. LimeLight Rooftop Lounge serves signature lime cocktails over breathtaking views of the city and river. Our highly motivated team are eager to welcome all guests to enjoy a LimeTree experience in Kuching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The LimeTree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Limetree Hotel Kuching
The LimeTree Hotel Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing