We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice experience...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The LimeTree Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The LimeTree Hotel
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Kuching
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A very nice experience...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Recently spent 3 nights at the Limetree hotel and had an amazing time !... We had originally booked an executive deluxe room, but got upgraded to a suite on arrival.
The room was clean, with large window overlooking the city and the river. Although right on the street, the room was quiet, with a little sitting area and a nice bathroom. Nothing fancy but practical and clean.
The staff was really nice. Would it be for check-in, at the rooftop lounge, or at the restaurant for breakfast, they are always ready to help, in a perfect English.
The breakfast buffet offered a good selection of food (try the banana fritters !) and the dishes were re-filled regularly with fresh food. The Laksa was very nice.
We had one lunch at the rooftop lounge. I had the island burger (with pineapple) and hubby had the fish and chips: nice portions and tasty food.
We had booked an arrival transfer through the hotel and decided to book the ldeparture transfer through the hotel as well. Everything was organised smoothly and the price (RM 23) was reasonable.
We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: I would definitely recommend a room with a "real" window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarinandJacob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    442
    95
    11
    2
See reviews for
143
450
95
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

First of all, I really love the lime/green concept of the Hotel and they really are true to their word.
The hotel is clean,service is good,despite the slight interruption of our TV channel, all was good.

The hotel was not far from the main attraction and other local shops.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShidahShah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

The only negative about the Limetree is that the rooms are clean but not quite as clean as they appear in photos & they're showing some wear. This is negated by the incredibly friendly staff, great breakfast buffet, wifi, & spectacular help. They offer tours but we did our own, with their help renting a car & answering my husband's many questions. We stayed 3 nights instead of 1 & will stay an additional night before we head back to the mainland. The have safes accessed through the front desk & offer other amenities if needed. It's very close to Chinatown & several pubs, outdoor cafes, restaurants, & shops. 10-15 minute walk to the esplanade that leads to Central.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shannon k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We spent 2 nights at Lime Tree and I have to agree with positive reviews on TA (BTW this is why we chose to stay at Lime Tree) - the hotel is well located - close to the main attractions and some nice food stalls and restaurants. The room we stayed at was clean, comfortable and big. The only inconvenience was the fact that we didn't have place to store our clothes as there was no closet apart from small hanger. Breakfast was tasty and the staff really helpful. We had no problem with airport pick-up - the driver was waiting for us at the airport. The rooftop bar and restaurant are also ok - nice view from there and really good food (although you have to wait a while to be served).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kasia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Yes. This is an excellent hotel and excellent value. It is within easy walking distance from the centre or there is a hotel shuttle which is always available. The staff are exceptional and the roof top bar is a taste of the high life as we sipped cocktails and watched the sunsets. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarlenaDixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Just confirming TA reviewers: great hotel, great staff providing lots of info on activities around Kuching and also advising us to eat at the best seafood food court in town which was awesome (can't remember the name of it though!), great buffet breakfast. Rooms were big and comfortable. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie7338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Close to the river and the Chinatown this Hotel is really nice.
The staff is nice and helpful, they helped us to arrange last minute Tours and especially Julie went out of her way to make sure we could join another small group who were doing the same tour which saved us a lot of Money! Thanks again!
The Roms are nice and clean and the rooftop Lounge is great to have a Sundowner cocktail. Especially after coming back from Batu National Park it was nice to stay in a clean place and have a proper hot shower with clean water again!
If you are in Kuching definitely go to Batu National Park but make sure to stay two Nights to experience the park once the day Tourists go back to Kuching! Also the Orang-Utan Sanctuary (semengho) is worth a visit!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luxyoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.8 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
0.2 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 54 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,459 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#5 of 54 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#7 of 54 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,932 reviews
1.4 mi away
Citadines Uplands Kuching
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The LimeTree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The LimeTree Hotel

Property: The LimeTree Hotel
Address: Lot 317 Jalan Abell, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kuching
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kuching
#2 Business Hotel in Kuching
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The LimeTree Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the Kuching city centre and adjacent to the charming Chinatown Padungan area, this non-smoking boutique hotel offers 50 rooms and suites equipped with free wi-fi internet access throughout the hotel, complimentary breakfast, built-in universal sockets, LCD TVs, plush bedding and rain-showers - all for the comfort of sophisticated travellers today. As a unique, eco-conscious and trendy hotel with a passion for limes, The LimeTree Hotel offers an exciting dining experience at its Cafe Sublime with local, international and vegetarian delights. LimeLight Rooftop Lounge serves signature lime cocktails over breathtaking views of the city and river. Our highly motivated team are eager to welcome all guests to enjoy a LimeTree experience in Kuching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The LimeTree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Limetree Hotel Kuching
The LimeTree Hotel Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing