We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is great”
Review of The LimeTree Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The LimeTree Hotel
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Kuching
Certificate of Excellence
Benalla, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Location is great”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights. Booking was done directly with the hotel through Serinah who was very good attending to my email requests re rooms and prices. Initially I booked a Deluxe King but on further research on room sizes opted for a Executive room which I upgraded to for an additional30 ringitt a night. Worth doing as we had more room than the deluxe king.
Room was comfortable and spacious. Cleaning each day was rather rushed and perhaps need a little more attention.
Breakfast was good and adequate with servings of both Asian and Western type food. We had to mention on our second moring to the owner that the food neaded to be warmer in the bain maries. This was taken on board and duly corrected for the rest of our stay.
Staff are friendly and helpful. In fact we found that in general all people in Kuching were keen to say hello and have a general chat to you.
The hotel is within walking distance of the central part of the city and the river esplanade. You can do cruises down the river and travel over the river in a sampan for 1 ringitt to visit the orchid village which has free admission. Good closeups of the Legislative Council building can be gained here also.This is a striking piece of architecture for Kuching.
The hotel is a 5 minute walk from China Town, Other writers had mentioned the laundry which is found by turning left out of your hotel and then right into China Town a couple of doors down The owner was great. Laundry was ready when she stated and she even delivered ours to the hotel when we were going to arrive back from a tour after he closing time.
China town is very interesting with many eating places. A great coffee place called "Bing" sandwiches and drinks and a Indian restaurant "Maharajahs" wonderful freshly cooked food. Roti was great.
Overall a great place to stay and don't forget to check out the view from the 5th floor of the hotel.
Thank you to the Lime Tree Hotel for a great stay

Room Tip: Would suggest an executive type room, More room. Overlooks the city. Avoid the rooms that have no wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    455
    95
    11
    2
See reviews for
148
463
101
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I can understand why the Lime Tree Hotel won the Traveller's Choice award for 2012. Large rooms, spotlessly clean, great location, decent breakfast and overall great value. Would highly recommend this hotel and would stay here again if in Kuching. it's a boutique hotel so no pool and fancy amenities and the restaurant Cafe Sublime did not have great food options. but then there are such great places to eat in Kuching that it did not matter. Lovely service and staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbug_July1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
427 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We relied on previous reviews and the Trip Advisor rating for this hotel. We booked 3 nights on line and opted for a Superior King size city view room. It was around 170RM per night and excellent value. We took a taxi from the airport but took the hotel van when we left as it was 3RM cheaper than the going rate and a really nice driver. The welcome drink is taken in the roof top bar which affords great views and a very friendly bar staff. We would say that the hotel staff were exceptional, especially the very competent Serenah at the front desk who dispensed helpful and reliable advice [see photo]. The breakfast was good and we would recommend the set lunch special [ref. photo of one offering] as better than anything that we found outside the hotel for the price. The walk to the riverside promenade is about 15 minutes but sidewalks are not especially user friendly and watch out for drivers who ignore lights and signs. Really the only thing budget about this hotel is the price - a great find!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Connoisseur-of-Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Lme Tree and realy enjoyed our stay. We arranged airport transfers via the hotel (slightly cheaper than a taxi) and our driver was awiting for us at the airport as promised. The hotel itself is modern, clean and in a good location (although a wee walk from the waterfront). Loved the lime theme, nioce rooftop bar but unfortunately very quiet so we opted to go to bars nearby instead. Fabulus buffet breakfast provided with plenty of options. They also have a tour desk available too (same prices as anywhere else in town). Room was a little on the small side but thats ok :-) Rooms were really nice.

If you need any laundry doing there is a good laundry around the corner from the hotel (take a left as you walk out of the hotel, first right and its just down the road) who provided a very quick and cheap service.

Both nights we also dined on the best seafood at Top Hat or Top Spot? on the roof of the carpark nearby - sounds grim but it is amazing amazing if you love seafood - unpretenous, great service and reasonbly priced. Look for the neon Lobster ... :-) And cold beer too of course!

very friendly staff at the Lime Tree, woudl definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Location is a little bit further out than some of the other options but it was still walking distance to the beautiful city of Kuching.
I really wanted the Boutique Batik again but they were booked out so I settled for the Lime Tree but still enjoyed my time here.
The top bar was fantastic with a view down to the river and the staff were amazingly friendly. The rooms were a little on the small size but nicely decorated and the bed was really comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashreign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I just arrived at limetree.. Stayed on superior room without window.. Room was clean.. Its a budget hotel,so i dont expect much and already have my expectation for this room. I paid rm155 per night.. Previously i stayed at pullman but this trip i brought few people along with me, so cutting budget. Reason i chose this because after much calculation n survey.. Found this the best as if provide free breakfast n wifi included. Overall im happy with the room.. Was trying to book at 360xpresd but finding that the shower /toilet was open/ transparent type.. I cancelled. U wouldnt like your son even your husband looking at you while u scrub n brush n bath.. Uhhh total turn off.. Need a privacy at toilet n shower..my blissful time routine must not be spoilt.. If u staying alone maybe can try 360.. Cheaper.. If u need more lavish settings environment.. Just book pullman .. Back to limetree.. Worth my penny :))

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rocoberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Stayed at the Lime Tree for 3 nights and we were very happy with our decision. Airport pickup was arranged and the staff member and van were there with big smiles.

Our room was clean with a very comfortable bed, lovely linen and the best shower. Breakfast was good with a range of selections from Asian to toast and jam.

The conciege saw us in the upstairs lounge when it wasn't open and very kindly called staff to make us a drink. Very considerate and way beyond what most people would do. Staff always very friendly and helpful. Very caring.

Why I didn't rate 5 stars is the room was needing a paint and the hallway looked that way also Just needed a good painting. Also no bar fridge in the room.

Overall very happy with our choice and would stay again. The shampoo/body wash is absolutely terrific. Bought 3 bottles to take home.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grahunts2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JTayKuching, Resident Manager at The LimeTree Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear grahunts,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The LimeTree Hotel on your recent trip to Kuching and for taking the time to share your experience. I am glad to learn that your stay was overall a positive one and that we were able to meet your expectations! We are also delighted that you have brought a piece of LimeTree home, and we hope you will enjoy using the all-in-one citrus body wash - one of our products to spread the goodness of lime!

Your feedback on the maintenance of our rooms and public areas is duly noted and have been shared with our team. We thank you for your constructive feedback which will enable us to continually improve our facilities and services.

Regarding in-room fridges, mini-coolers are available for loan which guests can request from our Front Desk to have one placed in the room. This measure is in line with one of our efforts to be green and we are glad many of our guests are supportive of it. With your feedback, we have since ensured the availability of the mini-cooler to be conveyed to our guests clearly with in-room signs.

Once again, my team and I thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to having you and your friends with us again!

Best regards,

Julie Tay - Resident Manager
The LimeTree Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 54 in Kuching
1,571 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
0.3 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#7 of 54 in Kuching
588 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#6 of 54 in Kuching
1,994 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#4 of 54 in Kuching
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The LimeTree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The LimeTree Hotel

Property: The LimeTree Hotel
Address: Lot 317 Jalan Abell, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kuching
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kuching
#2 Business Hotel in Kuching
#5 Best Value Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The LimeTree Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the Kuching city centre and adjacent to the charming Chinatown Padungan area, this non-smoking boutique hotel offers 50 rooms and suites equipped with free wi-fi internet access throughout the hotel, complimentary breakfast, built-in universal sockets, LCD TVs, plush bedding and rain-showers - all for the comfort of sophisticated travellers today. As a unique, eco-conscious and trendy hotel with a passion for limes, The LimeTree Hotel offers an exciting dining experience at its Cafe Sublime with local, international and vegetarian delights. LimeLight Rooftop Lounge serves signature lime cocktails over breathtaking views of the city and river. Our highly motivated team are eager to welcome all guests to enjoy a LimeTree experience in Kuching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The LimeTree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Limetree Hotel Kuching
The LimeTree Hotel Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing