We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lemon”
Review of The LimeTree Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The LimeTree Hotel
Ranked #2 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Certificate of Excellence
Hanoi
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Lemon”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Picked off the internet, but only stayed one night of the 3 nights paid, shifted to the Merdeka Palace which was not much more per night, but 100% on service and class and situation than the Lime.
Arrived at the lime around 8pm, no one at Receception, no one to help with lugguge, had to wait then drag our cases upstairs ourselves, asked for somewhere to get a meal, they did'nt have anything, no cafe open, no room service. basically just a backpackpers, the breakfast was reasonable but not much choice and cold. for the price can do much better, sleasy neighbourhood and a long way from Markets, close to big department stores but you can see them anywhere. Merdeka Palace was like going to a Mansion against the Lime but not rated as highly soooooo....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BaileyHanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JTayKuching, Resident Manager at The LimeTree Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear BaileyHanoi,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your stay at our hotel. I assure you that your comments are taken seriously and I will take time and care to address the issues outlined accordingly. I wish to inform you that although rated three-stars by facilities, we remain committed to exceed our guests' expectations with our services and to provide quality accomodation at great value with our complimentary breakfast and free internet usage for our guests - amenities which we recognize as important and necessary for most travelers today.

Our front office personnel and chauffer are tasked to readily assist all guests with their luggage up to the rooms. We read with concern regarding the lack of assistance for your luggage, but I must emphasize that if requested, we would never hesitate to render assistance for luggage to be brought up to your room and via our lift services, in order to provide comfort and convenience to you. Nevetheless, please accept our sincere apologies on this matter and we will better our staff availability and quality of service.

Regarding the request for dining, I wish to clarify that our lobby coffee house namely Cafe Sublime closes by 9.30pm, and our LimeLight Rooftop Lounge which closes at midnight offers light snacks at all times. We are regretful to learn that you did not find our location in Chinatown Padungan, with plenty of eateries, malls and seafood restaurants within the vicinity, to be favourable. We are also regretful to know that our Deluxe room designed with a simple, modern, minimalist and lime-themed concept was found to be unsatisfatory for your stay.

We wish we could have had the opportunity to make your stay more comfortable and to try to meet your expectations, had your concerns be made known to us prior to your early check-out. We were further disappointed when you turned down our offer then for an upgrade to a room which we were confident would have met your requirements. In addition, your comments have also been shared with our F&B team, who will continue to enhance the food choices and wuality for the complimentary breakfast served.

It is through feedback like yours that we can monitor our standards of service, areas to improve and to understand our guests better. We thank you again for your review and we hope to have another opportunity to serve you in the future. In the meantime, wishing you safe travels!

Kind regards,

Julie Tay - Resident Manager
The LimeTree Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    447
    95
    11
    2
See reviews for
145
457
99
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Teddington
Level Contributor
105 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

A six-night stay at the LimeTree… and it’s impossible to fault the hotel. From the moment we arrived to the day of our departure, the staff were always helpful and courteous. The room was comfortable and clean, and I particularly liked the hotel’s ‘green’ credentials – the powerful and spacious rainwater shower, for example, and its non-tolerance of smoking (a sign tells you that if you smoke in the room, “you will be charged a cleaning fee of RM150 [£30, $50] and a two-night room charge for extensive work to remove odours”).

A plentiful breakfast in the morning and a rooftop bar in the evening added to the pleasure of our stay. Oh, and did I mention the hotel’s home-made lime marmalade? Try it… and bring a jar home with you.

In a sentence… if you’re going to Kuching, stay at the LimeTree.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JTayKuching, Resident Manager at The LimeTree Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear peterdenton,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The LimeTree Hotel on your recent trip to Kuching! We are truly delighted to learn that we were able to meet your expectations. Our guests' comfort remains our top priority, and your satisfaction is our most valuable reward!

We are grateful for your kind comments where you have truly captured the essence of our lime-themed concept and mission to ensure our guests' comfort throughout their stay; one of the ways to do this is to keep our rooms smoke-free and hence the need to uphold our non-smoking policy for our rooms. Nevertheless, we respect our guests' wishes to smoke and they may do so at designated areas of the hotel, which includes the LimeLight Rooftop Lounge. We are glad you enjoyed the breakfast we offered and our homemade lime marmalade, made purely from the limes harvested from our plantation!

A big thank you for your kind commendation of us to others. Our staff are glad to have been of service to you and we look forward to welcoming you again. Many best wishes from all at The LimeTree!

Best regards,

Julie Tay - Resident Manager
The LimeTree Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester, England
Level Contributor
123 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed here one night on our way back to KL and couldn't fault it. The room was clean, spacious and very comfortable. Breakfast was good and plentiful and the staff all friendly and efficient. We've stayed at the Hilton on our previous visits to Kuching and while the Limetree isn't quite up to that standard, at less than half the price of a room at the Hilton represents outstanding value - thoroughly recommended!

Room Tip: Upgrade to an executive room for more space and comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarryS_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2012

The LimeTree Hotel stay was an excellent experience.

However, we were disappointed with a trip co-ordinated by the hotel with their appointed tour agency. We arranged for a Fairy and Wind Caves visit and were informed that this is a customised trip costing RM120 each. On outing day, the tour guide told us that the Fairy Cave was partially closed and we only explored the front portion of the cave. As for the Wind Cave, the guide then informed that previous flooding had obliterated the mud tracks and the cave was closed.

Back at hotel, we asked the staff why we were not informed on the Wind Cave closure prior to the booking. The staff checked and replied that the tour agency had explained that it was a miscommunication between the guide and staff at the cave entrance. The tour agency then refunded us RM20 for each person.

A later check with other tour agencies around the Main Bazaar district found that such trips were common and cost RM90 per person.

Advise all to compare rates from other tour agencies as well.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trips_outside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
96 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We had a HUGE room 309 as we were lucky enough to be upgraded. Staff is very helpful and there is a super roof top bar to enjoy the sunset from. Slightly out of town, so a 10 minute walk to main attractions and the beautiful riverside promenade. Breakfast good. 5 min walk to Top Spot for cheap seafood in a Malaysian style food court on a roof top. No pool.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor and I wouldn't recommend the cheapest category as they seem to be enclosed wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LanaSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for three nights in an executive suite over the long weekend celebrating Hari Raya Puasa.

It's a boutique Hotel with plenty of lime drenched goodness. Easy on the budget and just like the people of Kuching itself the staff are friendly, helpful and honest.

The rooms are well provisioned, spacious and welcoming. Go up to level 5 and enjoy a mojito at the rooftop lime bar.

I won't bother looking anywhere else for my future trips to Kuching.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D_DAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JTayKuching, Resident Manager at The LimeTree Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear D_DAV,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during the holiday weekend and for taking the time to share your feedback. My team and I are thrilled to know that you enjoyed our amenities and its lime theme as we hope to spread the goodness of lime throughout the hotel (and beyond!). It is with lime, our favourite fruit, that we explore and share the concept of healthy and positive living with our guests. Your kind comments have been shared with our team, who are happy to have been of service to you.

A big thank you for your review and and we look forward to welcoming you back for another city getaway with us in the not too distant future. Many best wishes from all, at The LimeTree Hotel!

Warm regards,

Julie Tay - Resident Manager
The LimeTree Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

My 3rd visit to this hotel. Working in 1 of the leading hotel in Singapore make me to choose a very relaxing place for holiday and yes I would simply intend to compare any hotels that I've stayed and I can say that this hotel never let me down.
I have requested the same room category as I was stayed previously and I got it. I was greeted BY NAME on I stepped into the lobby by a very friendly Chinese reception. The check in process is very fast ( about 5 minutes). Once I stepped into the room, it is just like I axpected, clean and refreshing, with a very comfortable bed and pillows, so I end up sleeping the entire day.
In the evening I went to the bar (open concept) which is on the 5 th floor. The gut who used to work the has left the hotel but the level of service is still there. Some hotel staff would have this attitude of delivering double standard to local guests and an international guests but it doesn't happen here.
Overall, after my 3rd visit I would say that I can compare this hotel to the other 5 star hotels in Kuching (even thou they are not), maybe better and it will be my permanent stopover when I'm in Kuching. There are so many things that impress me and it is may take an hour to list it down. GREAT JOB Limetree!
PS: the entire hotel rooms is a non smoking room which is a better place for family. Those who smoke. Don't worry, you may smoke at the open bar on the 5th floor, anytime of the day.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenikins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JTayKuching, Resident Manager at The LimeTree Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Jenikins,

Thank you for taking the time to share your LimeTree experience on TripAdvisor! It was delightful to have you as our guest again and we are pleased to learn you had an enjoyable and restful holiday with us. We are grateful for your comments where you have truly captured the essence of our concept and validated our team's efforts to always provide excellent service and to always ensure our guests are our top priority.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back for another city getaway in the not too distant future. Many best wishes from all at The LimeTree Hotel!

Warm regards,

Julie Tay - Resident Manager
The LimeTree Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.8 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
0.2 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,485 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#5 of 55 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#6 of 55 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,954 reviews
1.4 mi away
Citadines Uplands Kuching
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The LimeTree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The LimeTree Hotel

Property: The LimeTree Hotel
Address: Lot 317 Jalan Abell, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kuching
#2 Business Hotel in Kuching
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kuching
#4 Best Value Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The LimeTree Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the Kuching city centre and adjacent to the charming Chinatown Padungan area, this non-smoking boutique hotel offers 50 rooms and suites equipped with free wi-fi internet access throughout the hotel, complimentary breakfast, built-in universal sockets, LCD TVs, plush bedding and rain-showers - all for the comfort of sophisticated travellers today. As a unique, eco-conscious and trendy hotel with a passion for limes, The LimeTree Hotel offers an exciting dining experience at its Cafe Sublime with local, international and vegetarian delights. LimeLight Rooftop Lounge serves signature lime cocktails over breathtaking views of the city and river. Our highly motivated team are eager to welcome all guests to enjoy a LimeTree experience in Kuching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The LimeTree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Limetree Hotel Kuching
The LimeTree Hotel Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing